We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do yourself a favour and stay for a few nights”
Review of Broad Bay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Broad Bay House
Ranked #4 of 58 Isle of Lewis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favour and stay for a few nights”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The only complaint I have about this outstanding establishment overlooking lovely Broad Bay, north of Stornoway, is the fact that most guests do not stop over long enough to savour fully the peace, hospitality and magic of this place. The two hosts, Ian and Marion, are the most considerate one may wish for. Accommodation is very good, and they have looked at the tiniest details in order to provide a memorable stay. We had wonderful room 4, and loved the spacious shower. The room is high spec, and is kept immaculate by Jasmine. The bed was excellent. The view from the windows is really peaceful and very relaxing. Could sit in the comfy chair and look for ever at the ripless sea and the plunging birds. We had three dinners at Broad Bay House, and particularly enjoyed a lovely pea, lettuce and mint soup and the best salmon and crunchy apple salad ever. All the bread they serve is home made and lovely. The wine selection is excellent. Honesty bar very well stocked. The complimentary selection of snacks in the rooms include wine, nuts, different kind of teas and coffees, shortbreads, chocolate fingers, you name it and it is there. Breakfast is on a par with the rest. Marion and Ian really put themselves out to accommodate us in all possible ways and we can only thank them once again for everything they did. When you look for accommodation on Lewis and Harris do not look any farther than Broad Bay House if you like understaded luxury, peace and the finer things in life. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Any room is lovely. We had room 4 with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
207
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed only for a night but wished it had been a week. This very special guesthouse has everything you could want for relaxing and chilling out both inside and in. Ian was so helpful and accommodated our cyclist needs/bikes/bike bags etc. we had a lovely walk on what felt like a private beach and sat marvelling at the views with a glass of wine in our hands from the guest house lounge! We stayed in room 2 with the wonderful bath and will definitely be back. We have stayed at some wonderful guesthouses in Scotland and france this summer-but this is our favourite!

Room Tip: Room 2 with the wonderful bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Imagine you're sitting surrounded by candles looking out to sea - you've just had an amazing meal, good wine, and first class meal. You move across to your leather armchair, put your feet up and glass in hand pick up a great travel magazine. This place is all wood floors leather sofas white cotton sheets large fluffy towels and luxury. Nice touches include free bottle of wine (you can choose the colour) and crisps, tea, coffee and a box of biscuits in your room. Fab honesty bar with wine spirits beers liqueurs soft drinks and ice machine. We had a huge free standing bath and all the rooms have wooden decks where you can sit out. You are literally right on the beach and breakfast is amazing. A personal fresh fruit platter with berries, every marmalade and spread you can think of and fab range of cooked choices and upmarket cereals. Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: There is only one room with a sea view, but the main sitting area has outstanding views and decking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithlondon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had a wonderful one night stay at Broad Bay last month and would love to return soon for a longer break. We were most impressed by the quality of the accommodation, attention to detail, delicious food and kind hospitality. The panoramic views from the dining room/lounge - with sightings of seabirds and seals - will stay long in the memory.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our three night in late June was a delight. Ian and Marion set a very high standard of hospitality. We especially enjoyed the delightful guest room with enticing sea views over to the mainland. We would love to return as the standard of amenities offered made for a great break. The evening meal was delicious, lots of fresh local produce and a good selection of wines. We spent the rest of the evening pouring over the maps provided..even suggested routes were marked out and drinking in the views. Wonderful.

Room Tip: I feel any room would be very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

...they would do it like Broad Bay! I was a bit surprised to see that the house was between other properties as that is not obvious from the photos but inside does not disappoint.

Ian welcomed us at the door and showed us the well stocked library (with many guide books and maps to borrow) as well as the dining room/lounge where meals are served and where you are able to relax in the evening with a drink from the similarly well stocked honesty bar.

Our room was furnished and equipped to a high standard with chairs inside and out to enjoy the sea view, a very comfortable bed and a huge shower. The 'mini bar' cupboard contained not only the usual tea and coffee but also crisps and wine at no extra exhorbitant cost. Everything was spotless and well thought out.

There are bikes you can borrow as well as a camera or even an i-pad or you could just enjoy the walk on the beautiful beach accessed from the garden of the property.

The breakfasts were delicious as was the evening meal we had and Esther was the perfect 'waitress'.

We would not hesitate to return - loved it!

Room Tip: Room 4 has the sea view and access to the terrace - not completely private but away from the main ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This Guesthouse is located right by the sea north of Stornoway, on the Isle of Lewis, easily reached by car. The house consists of 4 guestrooms with en suite bathrooms and a lounge for guest use.
Our room was reasonably spacious and perfectly equipped. The beds were most comfortable and there was no amenity missing. The bathroom was modern yet a little impractical as the shower was open and neither had shower curtains nor another way of limiting water flowing everywhere (we had the accessible guest room). It was also a little disappointing that we had a room that was not facing the sea - instead we had a view of the car park. The room however was technically on a very high level and provided excellent features for storage (might be too little space for long stays). I personally enjoyed the Molton Brown toiletries a lot.
The lounge is beautifully furnished as well and designed with a lot of love to detail. The sitting area and Honesty Bar allow relaxed evenings in a peaceful surrounding with stunning views of the sea (also through the telescope). Complimentary tea and coffee are available around the clock.
Breakfast was very nice and definitely different to the "average" B&B breakfast. There is a large variety of dishes to choose from (incl. vegetarian options and smoked fish specialties). We enjoyed the Smoked Haddock and Smoked Salmon varieties most. Delicious fresh fruit is provided with every breakfast.
The optional three-course dinner was excellent. Meat, fish and vegetable dishes were prepared exactly to our liking. We don't agree to the complaint by one user that the dinner was nothing special because it certainly was. From preparation to decoration and service, everything was so enjoyable.
The natural surrounding of the guest house, the Outer Hebrides (Isle of Lewis and Harris) is absolutely beautiful and provides ideal spots for outdoor activities and relaxation. There is a direct beach access through the backyard.
We absolutely love this guest house with its personal touch. The two hosts and their staff do a fabulous job in making their guests happy!
We certainly were very happy and hope to come back some time.

Room Tip: There is one accessible room that may have drawbacks compared to other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kritiker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isle of Lewis hotels
5.2 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
306 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
210 reviews
18.1 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
269 reviews
5.7 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
106 reviews
11.3 mi away
Borve Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broad Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broad Bay House

Property: Broad Bay House
Address: Back, HS2 0LQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Lewis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Broad Bay House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding beach side luxury contemporary guesthouse, rated 5 Star Gold and Eat Scotland Silver by Visit Scotland. Spacious luxury bedrooms, amazing views, fine food and a great selections of wines and whiskys. Free wi-fi, fully equipped guest library with PC and printer, and a completely relaxing environment. Just 10 minutes from Stornoway, and ideally situated for exploring the Isle of Lewis and Harris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Broad Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broad Bay House Hotel Isle Of Lewis
Broad Bay House Isle Of Lewis, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing