We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“No words could ever do this justice.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Eagle Bay Cottages

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Will B
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No words could ever do this justice.”
Reviewed 19 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
4
people found this review helpful

We endured a six hour road journey, followed by a further three hours and then a pot luck stormy or not stormy two and a half hour ferry crossing to arrive at our destination, Eagle Bay Cottages. We were content the whole way as we knew it would be good but we did doubt whether we'd do it again right from the onset. Six days late, and having not know how good this would be. We are coming again! wow! Kathleen and David have got this spot on. Stunning cottages, very well presented and designed. Kept brand new and feels yours throughout your entire stay. Kitchen perfect (everything you'll ever need), bathroom (with gorgeous bath, shower and sauna) perfect, bedroom perfect (effort less sleep well bed) and living space/lounge absolutely perfect (gorgeous lighting, fantastic views, log fire, high quality TV and DVD technology systems). Even the Wifi was fab (important to us as email demons of our businesses!). What would I say to anyone thinking about booking this.... simple.... don't think, just book. I guarantee you you'll want to return. How? Because you won't want to leave! We 100% didnt! We will be back. Will.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mt33
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It really is that good”
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
4
people found this review helpful

We've just returned from a wonderful week week at Eagle Bay.

I wondered if there was anything I could usefully add to all the existing reviews?
Re-reading them, and the answer is no.
Apart from it not being any special event for us, any one of the reviews painted a picture just like our own experience.

It really was that good.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindaxste...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Thank you to David and Kathleen for making our stay so very good. The welcoming treats were much appreciated. The cottage was well designed and equipped and furnished to a very high standard. We loved it

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann T
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Divine”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 8 nights on our honeymoon and cannot rate this place highly enough. David was there to greet us on our arrival to welcome us and explain everything. There was champagne and flowers on arrival including all kinds of local goodies. The place was just like the website claimed with all the mod cons and spotlessly clean. Plenty of hot water for baths and showers and a great sauna. Excellent views and a stunning building. It was blissfully quiet and private! We will return! Thanks David and Kathleen for a magical stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSand...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Set in a stunning location south of Stornoway. David was very friendly and explained cottage well on our arrival. The cottage is incredibly well equipped, very clean and modern.

The bed was very comfortable, the kitchen has a great selection of modern appliances and with an excellent welcome basket , there is a large and varied collection of DVDs and books as well as board games, bikes, fishing rods and excellent wifi.

Helpfully there was detailed guides of how to use everything in the house and some suggested sites and walks to visit on the island.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alistairg...
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“PERFECT, PERFECT, PERFECT”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
6
people found this review helpful

Just utter beauty and bliss. I live on the Islands so am aware of the natural beauty here, I was lucky enough to stay in the lower cottage for my 10th Wedding Anniversary. I have 4 kids so constant noise and interruptions are the norm. The first things that struck me and my wife was the utter peace and quiet offered by the cottage, close the doors and there is nothing but quiet. First impressions are astounding and they didn't change throughout the stay! all clean, tidy, from the second you walk in the door. Everything is in place and there is obvious effort to ensure the place is reset for each new guest (even the cutlery is perfectly arranged in the drawers), the attention to detail is eye-popping! Then you get to the architecture of the building itself, perfect views from every part of the cottage, I just cannot praise this place and the hosts enough. If you want to stay somewhere different from the normal square box hotel room, with perfect views, perfect hosts, perfect everything, then Eagle Bay cottages has to be top of the list. Thank you for the experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollychew
Edzell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magical..”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
6
people found this review helpful

It was an absolute pleasure to have spent our time in Lewis staying at eagles Bay cottages. The attention to detail I felt was similar to the comfort and luxury as Gleneagles hotel. Lewis, Harris and Uig in the west - are simply jewels in the crown of Scotland's stunning breathtaking scenery - the geology of the Island stretches one's imagination. Hosts, David and Kathleen add that little bit extra sparkle of magic from booking the cottages and when meeting you with your keys. To greet you - a bottle of Vintage champagne fresh salmon - home baked cakes and fresh fruit - with lots of other goodies ...sauna was wonderful..
Absolutely Loved staying here - we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing