We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to leave”
Review of Garenin Hostel

Garenin Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Lewis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garenin Hostel
Reviewed 14 June 2010

This was one of my two favorite hostels in four weeks of Scotland (the other being the Iona Hostel). I think for the most part the conditions of the place self-select for guests who have a sense of adventure and participation. Cleaning the place is NOT the warden's responsibility, so every morning some of us got together and swept, took out the trash, tidied the kitchen before going out into the day. It was an honor to care for this special place. The reviewer who complained about cleanliness has only himself to blame. Amazing base for hiking in the area and visiting Callanish and the Carloway broch. I stayed 3 nights, and time permitting I would have stayed another week at Garenin.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ArizonaSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2009

Brilliant location, cosy hostel. Rooms and showers spotless. Can't fault the place and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottravel32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2007

The website tells you that you can't book this place which is bothersome, but we turned up anyway. Having got off the Ullapool-Stornoway ferry which was a new experience in rolling, pitching buoyancy, we made our way across to Garenin which took about 40 minutes. We arrived at the blackhouse village at about 9.30pm at night having not boooked and there are no signs to tell you that you are in the right place. We wondered if this was on purpose given that there are only 14 beds and you can't book ahead. When we walked in, wondering if we were in the right place, nobody spoke to us that night except two Americans who took pity on us and explained the 'set up' such as it is - 2 mixed dorms with bunk beds of dubious vintage - and we got the last two beds in the place! There was nobody around to pay although there is an honesty box for you to put your £9 in per night.

We slept OK despite snores of other inhabitants. The solitary shower and two loos left a lot to be desired and were not very clean at all - although when you think you're about to be homeless it all seems fine. It did make me wonder how hard and with how much expense would it really take to clean the sheets, put some soap and a towel in each loo and put up a non-mouldy shower curtain?

We did enjoy breakfast and got chatting to several other couples of varying nationalities who seemed more sociable in the morning. That is the fun part of staying in these hostels - meeting people who are inevitably a bit wacky/green/outdoorsy/tightwads like us! And probably the best part of this particular hostel is that we can now say that we've stayed in a blackhouse on Lewis, which is rather pleasing.

Overall, you gets what you pays for!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank amost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
1  Thank johny_154_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isle of Lewis hotels
15.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
293 reviews
0 mi away
Borve Country House Hotel
11.1 mi away
Uig Lodge
Uig Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timsgarry
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
303 reviews
2.4 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
163 reviews
15.8 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garenin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garenin Hostel

Address: Garenin Village, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Isle of Lewis
Price Range: £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Garenin Hostel Isle Of Lewis, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing