We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ravenstar B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$183
US$176
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Stornoway)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabarfeidh Hotel(Stornoway)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caladh Inn(Stornoway)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Stornoway)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Aultbea Hotel(Aultbea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
20
11
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
11
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2012

When arriving on the Hebrides there's no better place to stay than The Ravenstar B&B, after a long journey and sea crossing the guest house is just a short distance (7m) out of Stornaway and the welcome is warm and friendly from proprietors: Dave and Jane.

This is a very home from home experience with ample books to read, information about the local attractions and the front room has a TV and DVD player should you want to stay in and relax.

Dave and Jane keep a variety of livestock and grow their own fruit and vegetables, thier lifestyle is extrmely sustainable and you get to sample thier fantastic home made sausages at breakfast, which truly is quality, filling and tasty for meat eaters and vegetarians alike.

Pet friendly accomodation is limited on the western isles and here your pets are made to feel extremly welcome.

Dave, a black smith by trade also has a forge at the property and every Thursday there's an opportunity to see Dave at work should this interest you.

We found the Guest house a great location for all attractions on the Isles. the great stones of Callanish are just a half an hour drive and the Isle of Harris can be reached in an hour. There are also beautiful beaches for long Dog walks in near proximity.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay at Ravenstar and would highly recoemmend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanLeedsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is such a wonderful place to visit and what made it even more so was staying at Jane and Dave's. Although the HebCelt festival was our reason for coming, having breakfast was definitely a highlight of the day. Tasty, fresh and local food combined with friendly chats with J & D as well as other guests. For being our first time on the isle (and even in Scotland), it felt like we got to see something genuine right from the start. Highly recommended by all three of us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

A group of us only stayed one night as we were passing through, and we really loved this place!
We received a wonderful warm welcome when we arrived and had a wonderful breakfast the next morning. The rooms were a good size, and clean and the views from our windows of the farmland and coast were really beautiful. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank circleoflightwellnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I only stayed for one night as I was on business, but what a warm welcome I got from Jane.
I was given the family room at the single rate as it was the only room not in use when I booked. Although it does not have an en suite you have the sole use of your own private facilities just next to the bedroom with very good shower, toilet etc. The family room does have a sink so if you want to fill the kettle or brush your teeth no need to leave the bedroom.
Breakfast was excellent with Jane cooking to order, Dave was already out working on the croft.
Unfortunately fog did not allow me to enjoy the scenery but other guests told me just how beautiful the area was.
This B & B is one of the nicest places I have stayed in recently and would recommend it to anyone who is visiting the Isle of Lewis

Room Tip: Family room does have combe ceilings but you get a lovely view over the croft to the East.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles_goodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

B&B on a smallholding with organic farming and a special charm, situated on the East coast of the Isle of Lewis. We stayed for one week in the family room which had a double and a single bed and had been equipped with an additional cot for our baby girl on our request (free of charge). The room has no en suite facilities but that wasn’t a problem for us as they’re direct around the corner solely for the use of the guests in that room. Breakfast is served in the kitchen and is prepared in front of your eyes by Jane or Dave, the owners. We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts which were partly made with produce (e.g. free-range eggs, goats cheese) from their own farm and included vegetarian options. Besides hens and goats Jane and Dave are keeping ducks, geese and pigs which were of high interest for our daughter ;o)
Jane and Dave are really likeable, helpful and made our stay as comfortable as possible. You may argue that the decoration of the rooms is slightly chaotic but we’ve seen it as their authentic style and it didn’t bother us. We really felt at home and for sure we would come back during a future holiday on Lewis.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveE24, Owner at Ravenstar B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again one day!

Dave & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews