We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very informative but nest some distance away this year”
Review of Mull Eagle Watch

Mull Eagle Watch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Mull Eagle Watch offers ranger-led visits to view Britain's largest and most impressive bird of prey, the white-tailed eagle. There's also a really good chance of seeing other wildlife including golden eagles.
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Nest much further away this year so not great viewing, worth visiting for rspb guides knowledge on eagle spotting - for great eagle viewing book with mull charters boat trip

Thank reefswimmer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelAnnFrench, Ranger at Mull Eagle Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Sorry to hear you would only give us 3 out of 5. We appreciate that the nest site is slightly further away this year but nature isn't just about close up views, we're lucky to be able to see the birds in general, they're wild. We usually get fantastic views of the birds in flight, perched nearby and interactions with other birds like golden eagles so we think our view is just as great this season, just different; more of a focus on the eagles life as a whole not just the nest. Thanks for visiting and reviewing, glad you enjoyed our information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sea eagles"
in 35 reviews
"viewing point"
in 8 reviews
"eggs"
in 8 reviews
"viewing area"
in 3 reviews
"two hours"
in 10 reviews
"magnificent birds"
in 8 reviews
"per adult"
in 4 reviews
"excellent value for money"
in 4 reviews
"bird watching"
in 3 reviews
"white tail"
in 4 reviews
"knowledgeable staff"
in 3 reviews
"car park"
in 6 reviews
"golden eagle"
in 6 reviews
"information centre"
in 3 reviews
"great trip"
in 3 reviews
"hide"
in 65 reviews
"ranger"
in 61 reviews
Filter

125 - 129 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Due to the terrible weather our expectations were low - the rangers even offered us all the chance to come another day if we wanted a better experience, but we had such a great morning. We watched the male bird through the rain for over an hour before he treated us to a spectacular aerial display as he went off towards the loch.
The rangers had so much fantastic information to share and things to show us that the time sped by and we really felt better educated and informed. You can get great sightings of the Eagles at nesting time from various places on the island and lochs, so going to the hide isn't necessary, but I'd recommend it for all the explanations and enthusiasm of the lovely rangers and for the knowledge that the few pounds they charge is supporting a wonderful conservation cause. We spent the rest of the day finding the other wildlife we'd missed, having asked the rangers at the hide where to go for the best viewings - we ticked off the whole list!

2  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelAnnFrench, Ranger at Mull Eagle Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi Louise, we're so glad the trip turned out better than expected, obviously we can't do much about the weather! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, very pleased you enjoyed it and that our information was useful to you too! Hope the rest of your time on the island was great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very informative chat with examples and objects to hand from John Clare helped us understand the lives of white tailed eagles Fingal and Iona. Excellent binoculars and monoscopes on hand to ensure we had a good view. Fingal was in view the whole time we were watching and we also saw eagles (white tailed and golden) rising in the thermals above. A wonderful experience.

1  Thank GaynorG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelAnnFrench, Ranger at Mull Eagle Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We're really glad you enjoyed you trip with us at Mull Eagle Watch!
Great to see both white-tailed eagles and golden eagles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

What a fantastic experience!visited 14th of April enjoyed it so much returned on the 18th!John and Rachel were so knowlegeable and passionate about the eagles.Saw the white tailed and golden eagles. Learnt about identification which we found very useful and put to use later in the week when we encountered eagles.Would recommend anyone interested in wildlife to visit.

Thank DHA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelAnnFrench, Ranger at Mull Eagle Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Glad you enjoyed your time with us enough to come twice! Thank you for leaving a review, we really appreciate it! Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Very informative staff, friendly & modest. Great views of the eagles on the nest and roosting. Interesting talk & info on natural history of the eagles. There's nothing John Clare doesn't know about Mulls natural history. Look out for his booklets on sale on Mull

Thank emma4walkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mull Eagle Watch also viewed

Isle of Mull, The Hebrides
Isle of Mull, The Hebrides
 
Isle of Mull, The Hebrides
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 

Been to Mull Eagle Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing