We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Otters, Birds, Red Stag”
Review of Island Encounters

Island Encounters
Iowa
2 reviews
“Otters, Birds, Red Stag”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had a wonderful day on Mull with Richard, who is enormously knowledgable of the wildlife on Mull and great at spotting birds. He was charming and funny throughout the day, and provided us with a lovely lunch. The van we drove around in was very comfortable, and we did some pleasant but very light walking. I highly recommend this tour, as you would never be able to see all of the wildlife on your own in such a short time- or possible ever, since Richard has some good secret spots and strategies.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    3
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An excellent day despite lack of wildlife !!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Overall we had a really enjoyable day with Richard our driver and tour guide who was very knowledgable and enthusiastic about the area and its wildlife. The one downside was that we had not chosen the best time of year to go animal spotting - long days and being in the breeding season means that the wildlife eluded us. We did see a Sea Eagle which was very impressive, lots of birds, one deer and at last one sleeping otter. We take our hat off to Richard for being so tenacious at trying to find wildlife for us and for still making the day worthwhile despite their absence. Thanks also to Richards wife for the lovely packed lunch.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bumphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Beautiful Isle of Mull”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Returned just a week ago from this beautiful Island in Scotland, our first visit. We had a fantastic week with fantastic weather, couldn't have asked for better. We drove around the entire island stopping at all the beauty spots and points of interest, so much to see and some lovely walks as well as an abundance of wildlife. We did spot some eagles flying overhead a couple of times. Around the top of the Island on the western side we couldn't believe our eyes, we found the beautiful white sandy beach at Calgary, with turquoise water, it was almost like being on a tropical island in the South Pacific. Certainly worth a visit, but make sure you have protection against the midges and especially the horse flies, they can give nasty painful bites; I still bear the scars ! Beautiful scenic views wherever you go, simply a delightful unspoilt Island where the locals are friendly and helpful and make you feel very welcome. We will be back !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AnJea_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West London
Level Contributor
213 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience this time last year. Informative and friendly guide.”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

A friend and I visited Mull at the end of June-beginning of July 2012 and went out with Richard for two days, having had him recommended by my friend's sister. As a guide, he was faultless. He knew where to go and managed to spot just about everything we set out to see: White-tailed Eagles (both days, male, female and juveniles), Golden Eagles, Peregrine Falcons, Otters (both days), Deer, Hen Harriers (male and female), a Diver, the works. Richard was able to identify every bird we saw, and really brought the drive around the island to life. Even tough it tipped with rain one day, we still saw lots. As reported in another review, Richard was incredibly able when it came to sighting birds. At one point, half the party were unable to see the Golden Eagle he could see on a cliff through a scope, even though he could see it with his naked eye. Another time, a Peregrine Falcon looked like a tiny bump at the top of a cliff, but the scope revealed he was quite correct in is identification made while driving and having a quick glance up. Incredibly impressive, and really gave you confidence that if something was there, you were going to see it. The pack lunches were delicious, there were spare binoculars and plenty of patience. An absolute must. When I return, I will be seeking out this excellent guide once again. Worth every penny. Advice: with taking a tripod. I didn't think I'd have time for all that, and my 300mm lens could have done with it!! Going back with a 500mm lens and a monopod next time. Take jumpers and waterproofs. The scenery is stunning and you'll want to be in and out of the van.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
“Worthwhile Day out with skilled driver/guide”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

It was our first visit to Mull so we wanted to gain a quick insight with a skilled guide. We had expected perhaps more hiking in the Hills to achieve this but it was in fact almost too easy. Just a ride around the Island in a comfortable minibus to certain hotspots that Richard knew would produce the sightings we wanted. Lunch was provided by Richard's wife and was of excellent quality.
Richard's eyesight matched those of Safari guides I have used on Africa. The Eagles were not the only ones with sharp senses. ONe place we braked and he said "Should have been there!" then backed up a few yards and tried again. An Otter in the weeds with just its head showing.
We were shown several White-tailed Eagles and late in the day we had a pair of Golden Eagles too, doing a changeover at their nest. All round a great day out and introduction to the splendours of Mull.
Thanks Richard.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mfuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Encounters also viewed

 
Dervaig, Isle of Mull
Aros, Isle of Mull
 

Been to Island Encounters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing