We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
Boathouse at lochside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Boathouse at lochside
Bedroom coffee corner Bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
Boathouse at lochside
Bedroom coffee corner
Bathroom
Bathtub with sunset view
Open plan staircase
Boathouse from the south
Living room feature wall with stove
Living room HD TV and stove
Bedroom
Open plan living room
Wheel bench
Summer sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Simon N
Baar, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We spent two magnificent weeks at the boathouse in Kingsburgh. If you are seeking quiet and peace, paired with great wildlife watching opportunities, you found the place. Seriously, book it now. The Loch Snizort (ocean bay) is literally 10 steps out the door, we watched various wildlife on and around the water during meals. Sitting at the back of the house on a windless evening, the quiet might only be interrupted by the splashing of a seal!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is outstanding
Liked least: We never saw a porpoise chase away an eagle trying to catch an otter
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola G
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best honeymoon! ”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

When we found the boathouse online, it seemed to be everything we had been looking for - rural, secluded and cosy. After arriving on the Saturday after a hefty drive up from Manchester we were blown away! The boathouse far exceeded our expectations and we had a honeymoon that we will never forget.
It's the little touches that go far in making a guest feel at home and Champagne in the fridge and a welcome note was such a lovely touch, that we really appreciated. Also the basket of goodies and milk in the fridge was also very thoughtful.
The house is beautiful and so comfortable. The wood burning stove is amazing and is a joy to sit and relax in front of after a long day of walking.
The wifi was perfect for our needs - it helped us to stay in touch. When out and about in Skye, phone reception is impossible - so it proved really valuable to have wifi to be able send texts and check online for local spots.
One thing that is amazing about this area is the absolute silence once you step outside. We hadn't experienced anything like it, I guess in Manchester you can always hear a motorway somewhere in the background!
Loch Snizort is beautiful and right outside the house, the sheep are always about and the ram is very amusing when he tries to stand his ground before running off back down the lane!
Thank you Carol for a wonderful week, we hope to be back one year for our anniversary!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exceptional holiday cottage”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We booked for the Christmas week. We arrived in a haven from a wild storm on our journey. Every effort had been made to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The cottage was warm, there were logs, a lovely Christmas tree, Champagne in the fridge, and breakfast supplies.
The cottage was very well equipped and everything was of high quality.
Wonderful views from every part of the cottage and plenty of wildlife to see. Christmas lunch watching seals in the Loch.
Best bed we've slept in.
Wifi speed was fine and better than our rural Wales connection. No mobile signal was a blessing, a landline phone in the cottage was available if needed.
Looking forward to visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alois K
Wurzburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable solitude at an outstanding location”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We can only confirm the numerous comments and reviews of Kingsburgh Boathouse describing it as an outstanding location.
To us it is the perfect combination of a meticulously restored historic building with an interior design that is tasteful and perfected to the smallest detail and has all the amenities of state of the art technology - except the Wi-Fi. But you can't blame the owner for the poor connection. And after a day or two you will find out that it's more of a blessing than a curse. It offers the chance to read a book instead or to wander around the house and watch the ever-changing scenery through one of the most intelligently designed windows and get the impression of a different landscape painting every day.
When we toured the Talisker Distillery, we found this quotation at the visitor centre:
To live on Skye you need to be ... resilient, inventive, humorous, tough, self-sufficient, waterproof, patient and ... lucky.
We were lucky enough to get that experience at Kingsburgh Boathouse.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the outstanding location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanda_si...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“serenity”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I have just had the most amazing stay at this lovely peaceful location. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and wanted well needed time on our own.... The pictures on the website are good, but nothing prepares you for the stunning scenery when you arrive.
The Boathouse is fully kitted out with everything you would need for a self-catering holiday. Quality fixtures and fittings in the kitchen and bathroom, the whole place has tasteful decor. There are books, DVDs, board games if the weather turns (or if you just want to relax indoors) and lots of information on local attractions and restaurants. So very much home from home.
The views from inside the cottage are great over looking the Loch... However just sat outside and not hearing anything but the water and the varied wildlife is something to savour.. not forgetting the wonderfully charismatic sheep! If you're reading this and have a 100 mph lifestyle like we do and just need to slow down then this is your dream holiday. Take my word for it, it's beautiful.... This will force you to forget your busy lives back home... if only for a few days...
Huge thanks to carol for making our holiday very special..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_Not_S0_B...
Luton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and Tranquillity”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful, comfortable and spacious holiday home.
Total peace & tranquillity at this waterside location.
Virtually Perfect.
Great communication with owner prior to arrival.
No problems at all during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace & quiet.
Liked least: Slow internet connection.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryB52
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A fabulous experience in a magnificent setting”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We saw the photos online but we couldn't even imagine that the Boathouse would be so unbelievable. It is perfectly situated on the water's edge with heavenly views all around and is located near the centre of Skye allowing easy access all around the island. The house is beautifully appointed with amazing attention to detail. The upper floor is fantastic with a wonderful bedroom and a superb bathroom. The kitchen is equipped with everything essential for cooking. The lounge has outstanding views from every window and the wood-burning stove makes the evenings especially cosy. We enjoyed our stay so much that we immediately book another stay. We highly recommend the Boathouse, It's a remarkable property and a fabulous experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing