We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome day out!”
Review of Sgurr Alasdair

Ranked #54 of 91 things to do in Isle of Skye
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Black Cullin range is rated one of the most challenging in Britain for climbers, with Sgurr Alasdair the highest mountain at 3,255 feet.
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome day out!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

After reading the description of the ascent (and descent) of the Great Stone Shoot up Sgurr Alasdair, it was with some trepidation we set out. However, the most difficult thing to deal with that day was the heat, and trying to keep hydrated, slogging up the endless scree and boulders. We were rewarded with amazing views of the InPin and the surrounding Cuillin ridges, and stunning views to the islands. And the stone shoot was in our opinion fun to run down, especially the lower half!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WeeViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Snow in May!”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

A climb I've done before but never seen so much snow in May here! Classic Skye climbing. A big problem for lots of people without axes and crampons.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wilsonjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Cuillin”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Britain's only true mountains! Perfect Alpine conditions, hard frozen snow and ice, clear blue skies and sunshine.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 163keithw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome climb up The Great Stone Chute”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

It just goes on and on, and then it, it's soo small

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gazfisher1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Exilirating”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Having climbed Sgurr Alasdair 3 times over the years, I thoroughly recommend it. On a good day, you can see for miles.
An easy enough ascent takes you to within 30ft of the ridge. It then gets a bit hairy, but only if you're a woose like me ;)

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Bilncrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sgurr Alasdair also viewed

Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
 
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
 

Been to Sgurr Alasdair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing