We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a magical place in Skye”
Midnight in June
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Midnight in June
Sitting at the foot of the hill Bonn na Cnoc
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Midnight in June
Sitting at the foot of the hill
Bonn na Cnoc
The patio area
Ensuite bathroom
Master bedroom
Dining area
Main bedroom
Somewhere under the rainbow
The sitting area
The sitting area
The sitting area
The dining area
Well provided kitchen
Kitchen - another view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jakkie21
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a magical place in Skye”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We spent an amazing week in the bonn na cnoc cottage for my birthday. The weather was bright, clear and dry and waking up to views of Skye was spectacular.

The cottage was beautiful and well equipped with all the modern comforts which makes it home away from home and there was nothing better than after a day of travelling and sightseeing lighting the log burner, sitting back with a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the water. The area is quiet which is what we were looking for but close to the wee local shops for necessities.

I would definitely recommend this cottage to friends and family and hopefully make it back myself one day.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neiljscam...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pristine, remote cottage for the first week of married life”
Reviewed 13 March 2012 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We booked Bonn Na Cnoc for the week following our wedding and it was perfect.

The cottage is 10 mins north of Uig which is in the north-west corner of Skye (about an hour from the Bridge). Although there are other cottages around there are no shops or facilities within walking distance.

The cottage is incredible - brand new and with everything really highly spec'd: great kitchen equipment, beautiful bathrooms and very warm despite the Skye weather.

The views are across to the Western Isles although we only saw the other side once during our stay.

Skye is a great place to visit although we'd probably underestimated the distances: it can take an hour+ to reach other places on the island.

We'd recommend going for a drive round the north of the peninsula, get fresh fish from the shop on Portree Harbour and pickup a leaflet to explore some of the artist's galleries dotted around the island (a great way to explore with an aim if the weather isn't so great).

If you want a treat go for lunch at 3 Chimneys or Kinloch Lodge and, following a tip from the visitor book in the cottage, we headed for Red Roof Cafe on the Westernly point of hte island past Dunvegan.

We had a great time exploring and the cottage was everything we'd hoped.

Many thanks! Neil and Catherine

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUGICAM
SCOTLAND
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“luxury accomodation ,views to die for”
Reviewed 4 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This is a wonderfull cottage, in a simply" magic" place.
The owner has spared nothing to make guests feel at home and welcome.
The cottage has been specced out to really high standard,with all the modern conveniences supplied .
Standard of fixtures and fitting were top quality and probably as good if not better than most people have in their own home.
Views from lounge to Lewis and Harris are beautiful and binocculars are on hand to view the passing sea traffic. Even the view from the kitchen sink to the Trotternish hills makes washing up the dishes a joy ,(even if there is a dishwasher !.)
The cottage is 5 star
The facilities are 5 star
The fixtures and fittings are 5 star
Hope you go and enjoy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality of property
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So void we stayed an extra night”
Reviewed 23 January 2012 for a stay in September 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage, very comfortable and very well equipped. On the rainy day we enjoyed sitting in with the open fire and numerous DVDs. Excellent location, and stunning views. The cottage is quite a distance from nearest village but this isn't a problem at all. Very thoughtful welcome basket on arrival. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillhan
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect base to enjoy the magic of Skye!”
Reviewed 24 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
3
people found this review helpful

This is a truly exceptional holiday home that offers genuine luxury and meticulous attention to detail throughout. Everything that we could have wanted during our stay was provided - from kitchen equipment right through to the diverse DVD/CD collection and big fluffy towels! The view out across the Minch is utterly captivating, allowing you to experience the beauty of the island from the sofa, and you don't have to venture far to visit the many attractions that Skye has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izzabella...
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW Magic cottage on a Magic Island”
Reviewed 14 April 2011 for a stay in April 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Bonn Na Cnoc for the first week in April. If the scenery on your approach up through Skye to the cottage at the top of the island isn't enough to wow you then the cottage certainly will. You’ll be probably be on wow overload by the time you’ve unpacked.
The cottage is, as specified, a luxury holiday accommodation, fitted to the highest specs and replete with everything to make your stay a more than comfortable one. Its far more spacious than it appears in the photos which really don’t do it justice as a previous reviewer has said. The bathrooms are spectacular, the showers powerful (which you’ll need after a day hiking around the landscape) and the kitchen is fitted with everything you need from washer/dryer, Double Oven, Dishwasher, fridge freezer etc and plenty of crockery and glassware. Little touches like an Ipod dock music system, wireless broadband, dimming bedside lights, binoculars for you to admire the wonderful view from the decking and cupboards and drawers stocked with a veritable array of DVDs, books, games and Cd's make this place a true home from home. One drawer in particular is filled with walking guides to Skye and we made use of a few of these to make our decisions for days out. The multi fuel stove burner is a welcome addition for those early season and winter nights, we found it incredibly easy to use, some similar burners that we’ve experienced in the past can be a right faff to get lit and keep a good fire going in them.
The owners couldn't be more helpful in preparing you for your stay at Bonn Na Cnoc. I found John to be very friendly and open and we were delighted to find a welcome basket on arrival of locally baked bread, wine, oat cakes (sorry if that's not the technical term!) and a local paper with listings. There is also a very comprehensive bundle of information to help you enjoy your stay at the cottage and make the most of the local area.
The location is amazing with a view straight down from the decking over the little minch to the Western Isles and most days even with inclement weather the sky was never less than captivating, a result of the islands latitude and the pale Northern light. We experienced some lovely sunsets also. More wow factors.
Out and about, we were limited to a certain extent in our travels round as we have two young girls who get tetchy if strapped into the car a lot, we visited Dinosaur Beach at Staffin about 15 mins away, girls had a great time at low tide on the beach and scrambling around the rocks, Coral Beaches at Claigan also a must, a bit of a walk (about 45 mins) but you are rewarded at the end, we walked on a windy grey day but still had the best time. Talisker Bay is stunning as is the drive to it if you take a drive via Glenbrittle and the Cuillens. Can highly recommend the Caledonian Cafe in Portree, we had lunch there and returned two days later for dinner on our last evening as we enjoyed the food so much, both adults and kids. We didn’t venture into Uig much, but can vouch for the fact that the General Store on the main road is very well stocked.
All in all a lovely experience and although not sure when, we are certain that we will return to Skye and hopefully Bonn Na Cnoc.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie
Reviewed 15 March 2011 for a stay in February 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing