We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic property - we will definitely be back!”
Midnight in June
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Midnight in June
Sitting at the foot of the hill Bonn na Cnoc
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Midnight in June
Sitting at the foot of the hill
Bonn na Cnoc
The patio area
Ensuite bathroom
Master bedroom
Dining area
Main bedroom
Somewhere under the rainbow
The sitting area
The sitting area
The sitting area
The dining area
Well provided kitchen
Kitchen - another view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicky M
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic property - we will definitely be back!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Bonn Na Cnoc is a fantastic property, which was built just a couple of years ago and is presented to a very high standard. The kitchen/diner is extremely spacious and is open plan into the living room. There is also a decking area outside with a BBQ. Both bedrooms are well-sized with good storage and the bathrooms are beautifully done.

The living room has views of the Outer Hebrides and the sunsets here are absolutely spectacular - we spent many an evening on the sofa, feeling very lucky indeed! There are board games, DVDs and a decent TV (although no Sky TV as advertised - only a small handful of channels are available).

This property has almost everything you need for a really comfortable and enjoyable week on Skye. The 'welcome basket' was also very much appreciated! Indeed, the only items that we failed to anticipate needing were bin bags and toilet roll - so make sure you remember to take some!

The property is beautifully located in a remote(ish) part of the Trotternish Peninsula. It takes about 20 mins to get to Uig where there is a local shop and fresh fish once per week. It's about 40 minutes to Staffin and the same to Portree. There is lots to do around the cottage (e.g. Duntulm Castle) and the guest book in the cottage has lots of great ideas.

John and Marion are great hosts, very welcoming and we will most certainly be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern, spacious cottage with beautiful views - we hardly wanted to leave to explore Skye!
Liked least: The lack of toilet rolls/bin bags and the rather hard/thin pillows
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnxmasy...
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely house to stay in”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My wife and I had 10 days staying here on Skye. It's spacious, well equipped and like home from home. New and well laid out and great to come home to after a busy day. I would highly recommend this place to stay.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevenrock
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Beauty and privacy”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Simply the perfect location for a holiday: beautiful views, quiet surroundings, and only 10 minutes from local shop/petrol station. The house is lovely, the kitchen perfectly stocked with the latest equipment. Paradise on Earth!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A
Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“5 Star Accommodation”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

It was our first visit to Skye and we had a terrific week staying in the very spacious Bonn Na Cnoc from 30th March to 5th April. The facilities are excellent as highlighted is the previous reviews.
The stage was set on arrival at the cottage as the sun was shining and on entering the cottage it was very pleasing to be met with a ‘welcome basket’. Such a nice and appreciated gesture.
The sun shone for the whole week, the snow on the Cullins made it picture postcard and with a week of fantastic sunsets looking over to Harris and the Isle of Lewis it was certainly the place to be. We travelled all over the island from Duntulm Castle in the north to the Donald Centre in the south, to and Staffin in the east to Neist Point in the west.
It was a quick week, thoroughly enjoyable at a very slow pace. We didn’t do a lot of walking this time round but look forward to on our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities that were offered were second to none.
Liked least: Everything was terrific. No complaints.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travellin...
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Luxury Accommodation in a Fabulous Setting”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I along with our teenage son stayed at Bonn Na Cnoc for a week in April. We were admittedly lucky with the weather, but had a fantastic time.
The cottage is in a fabulous location with amazing views over Lewis and Harris where the hills were still covered in snow and close to Uig where all essentials can be purchased. It is extremely well furnished and fully equipped with everything you could need.
We were bowled over by Skye on our first trip - particular highlights included walking up the Quirang, lunch at Loch Bay and a visit (or pilgrimage) to Talisker.
If you are considering a trip to Skye, don't hesitate - and don't think of staying anywhere else!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The level and quality of facilities and the view
Liked least: Hard to find fault
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakkie21
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a magical place in Skye”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We spent an amazing week in the bonn na cnoc cottage for my birthday. The weather was bright, clear and dry and waking up to views of Skye was spectacular.

The cottage was beautiful and well equipped with all the modern comforts which makes it home away from home and there was nothing better than after a day of travelling and sightseeing lighting the log burner, sitting back with a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the water. The area is quiet which is what we were looking for but close to the wee local shops for necessities.

I would definitely recommend this cottage to friends and family and hopefully make it back myself one day.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neiljscam...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pristine, remote cottage for the first week of married life”
Reviewed 13 March 2012 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We booked Bonn Na Cnoc for the week following our wedding and it was perfect.

The cottage is 10 mins north of Uig which is in the north-west corner of Skye (about an hour from the Bridge). Although there are other cottages around there are no shops or facilities within walking distance.

The cottage is incredible - brand new and with everything really highly spec'd: great kitchen equipment, beautiful bathrooms and very warm despite the Skye weather.

The views are across to the Western Isles although we only saw the other side once during our stay.

Skye is a great place to visit although we'd probably underestimated the distances: it can take an hour+ to reach other places on the island.

We'd recommend going for a drive round the north of the peninsula, get fresh fish from the shop on Portree Harbour and pickup a leaflet to explore some of the artist's galleries dotted around the island (a great way to explore with an aim if the weather isn't so great).

If you want a treat go for lunch at 3 Chimneys or Kinloch Lodge and, following a tip from the visitor book in the cottage, we headed for Red Roof Cafe on the Westernly point of hte island past Dunvegan.

We had a great time exploring and the cottage was everything we'd hoped.

Many thanks! Neil and Catherine

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing