We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont miss out!!!”

The Old Man of Storr
Book In Advance
More Info
US$72.75*
and up
Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness
More Info
US$396.82*
and up
Private Full Day Tour of Skye and Lochalsh from Kyle of Lochalsh
More Info
US$68.78*
and up
Skye and Eilean Donan Castle - Day tour from Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dont miss out!!!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Get your bum up the mountain and be treated with amazing views, and rock formations. Its an easy path and in clear weather the views are breathtaking. The weather was very changeable when we went, but even in poor weather the strange landscape makes it quite a cool experience. We got up there early and had the place completely to ourselves, best thing we did on Skye by far :-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Millymeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    914
    367
    76
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic stomp”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Great views, wonderful short walk, lots to scramble over and explore. Kids loved the freedom to roam. No toilets etc, bit really not necessary, if your heading up this hike then you more than likely we'll prepared. Not for the mobility challenged.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank professionaltourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic rock formations”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

and sweeping dramatic views found on the Isle of Skye. Really impressive countryside. We opted not to take the hike because of time constraints but would have otherwise. Parking lot available. Plan for all kinds of weather as it changes by the minute.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Astonishing views”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This isn't too difficult a hike, but you'll definitely need waterproof walking boots, and to bear in mind the winds can get quite strong.

The panoramic views are well worth it, as is seeing the Old Man as you approach it. For the first part of the walk, you can't really distinguish it from the hill behind.

Well worth the trip.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mebanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Walking the Storr/Old Man of Storr”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Old Mann of Storr is quite easy to get to, and definitely a must see on a trip to Skye!
We decided to continue and walk all the way up to Storr following the route on http://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/skye/thestorr.shtml and had a really good time. However, once you leave the beaten path it can be quite confusing as to which way to go, we did wonder at times if we had taken a wrong turn but eventually did find cairns to re-assure us. Great care must be taken coming down the gully as there were many loose rocks. We had to sit-climb our way down.
I would definitely do it again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank z0ekg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Man of Storr also viewed

Portree, Isle of Skye
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
 
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
Glendale, Isle of Skye
 

Been to The Old Man of Storr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing