We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical cottage in a stunning location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Epona Cottage

The view from the cottage of Loch Snizort, the Ascrib Isles, Uig and the Trotternish peninsula.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from the cottage of Loch Snizort, the Ascrib Isles, Uig and the Trotternish peninsula.
Kitchen Dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
The view from the cottage of Loch Snizort, the Ascrib Isles, Uig and the Trotternish peninsula.
Kitchen
Dining room
Sitting room
Kingsize bed. Bedroom 1.
Twin beds or zip and link Superking bed. Bedroom 2
Rock arches at Ardmore Point, Waternish
Nesting Cormorant,  Waternish cliffs
Seals on rocks Waternish
Kittiwakes on Waternish cliffs.
Razorbills (the Scottish penguin) Waternish cliffs
Sunset Waternish
A  beautiful day, so I'm going for a ride to Scorr Bay!
The view of Trotternish Peninsula & Scorr Bay.
Scorr Bay.
In the sea with Domino having a good splash!
Bonnie's enjoying herself as well!
Back home after a lovely ride!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
bobbob1
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical cottage in a stunning location”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stumbled upon Epona Cottage via an online search and are so glad we did. It's a magical, cosy cottage in a totally stunning location overlooking the sea on the Waternish peninsula. The cottage itself felt like home as soon as we walked through the door, with bags of character and quirkiness unlike so many holiday lets which have a bland, uniform feel. Janet and Ian were superb hosts and made us feel very welcome. We had three young kids with us who loved the place, especially the variety of farm animals close by. We'd love to go back some day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debjar111
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“idyllic week on a croft”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, our pets and I stayed here for one week. The cottage was very clean with all the comforts of home and then some! It is decorated in a traditional style, with the most amazing sea views. Hours could be spent looking out the windows at the views. The hosts were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The only caveat is that it is very isolated, a good 15 min drive on a one lane road to the 'local' pub, the Stein Inn. The nearest shop is in Dunvegan, approximately 10 miles away. This adds to the charm of the cottage, but may not be for everyone. And make sure to bring all of your cooking needs, as you don't want to discover that you are out of oil as you are cooking your dinner! Many awesome walks are available from your doorstep. The owners are considering putting in wifi which will add yet another amenity. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the views; location on a working croft; also the coziness of the cottage. beds were FAB! open fireplace
Liked least: nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jen2000je...
rosyth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful crofter cottage, amazing views and setting”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Quiet,rural setting, beautiful views across the sea, loads of wild life, friendly owners/locals all very helpful. Comfy,well presented cottage, lovely open fire by evening, everything we needed supplied (we're a family of 5, our 3 girls all under 5yrs! Accommodation is quaint and homely, well maintained, good quality towels and bedding, clean and spacious) Plenty of local attractions/places/restaurants to visit, boat rides to see even more wildlife.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2018
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here on Skye. you are welcome back at any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grille139
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2018
We appreciate your lovely review and are glad you enjoyed Epona Cottage and its surroundings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilleMI...
Bois Colombes, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking time to give us such a lovely review. We look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing