We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pure escapism!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Epona Cottage

The view from the cottage of Loch Snizort, the Ascrib Isles, Uig and the Trotternish peninsula.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from the cottage of Loch Snizort, the Ascrib Isles, Uig and the Trotternish peninsula.
Kitchen Dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The view from the cottage of Loch Snizort, the Ascrib Isles, Uig and the Trotternish peninsula.
Kitchen
Dining room
Sitting room
Kingsize bed. Bedroom 1.
Twin beds or zip and link Superking bed. Bedroom 2
Rock arches at Ardmore Point, Waternish
Nesting Cormorant,  Waternish cliffs
Seals on rocks Waternish
Kittiwakes on Waternish cliffs.
Razorbills (the Scottish penguin) Waternish cliffs
Sunset Waternish
A  beautiful day, so I'm going for a ride to Scorr Bay!
The view of Trotternish Peninsula & Scorr Bay.
Scorr Bay.
In the sea with Domino having a good splash!
Bonnie's enjoying herself as well!
Back home after a lovely ride!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
KevinBric...
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pure escapism!”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

If you want to escape the rat race this is the place, fabulous location, friendly owners and dog friendly! Warm and cosy for chilly evenings and only four miles from the best pub on Skye (probably!). Had a great time and don't believe people who say I it always rains up here, we had a week full of October sunshine!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
Hi Kevin thank you for your review. It was a pleasure meeting all of you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalCa...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A homely spacious cottage in stuning surroundings”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were so excited by our lovely find in Epona Cottage. The view from the cottage itself is absolutely breath taking - on our first night we even saw dolphins in the distance! A pair of bionculars is recommended although the Bradshaws kindly offered us a good one. There is also a telescope but unofortunately we never stayed up late enough to use it! The daylight hours are very long in June - it didn't go dark until midnight.

The cottage inside is quite traditionally decorated with a very extensive book and music collection. There's even board games for a rainy day but luckily our weather was so splendid when we were there we didn't have to use them! The bed was comfy and it was easy to soon make the cottage feel like home.

Next door to us was a little garden housing two very adorable lambs. They were very sociable and would always come and say hi when we were nearby. Behind them was a couple of horses and a Shetland pony. The owners are very friendly and will happily chat with you about their animals and life around the island. They definitely gave us some good tips.

It is worth staying a little further out from the main areas as the scenery is so much more dramatic and to really get that secluded island feeling. Definitely no regrets there! It is also within a short drive to Dunvegan which has a fair bit happening and ended up being one of my favourite places.

Little tip...hold off buying eggs from a supermarket before hand as neighbours sell eggs outside their homes - as free range as you could get I imagine!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The animals and landscape
Liked least: Midges!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We really enjoyed your company as well. We have just put the lambs with the rest of the flock, so we hope they will have fun with the other lambs. jx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jillian W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place, Perfect Stay, Perfect Hosts”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Love this place, amazing location, lovely cottage like it just walked out of one of the million books they have throughout the house. Really honestly felt like a home away from home, we're already planning our next trip, couldn't recommend Janet & Ian more!! Go Stay, you won't be disappointed!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again. jx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael a...
1 review
“A lovely, cozy cottage that was worth the trip up to Waternish.”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We found everything just as expected from the listing, including good directions and helpful hosts. The home has everything one needs, as well as an excellent library.

There are lots of places to stay on Skye, but the cottage stands apart for its location and the care that the hosts have taken to ensure their guests are well cared for. One thing we didn't know is that the area of Waternish is a dark-sky preserve, which afforded beautiful star gazing and moonlit views of the sea.

We also loved the baby lambs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt it represented a traditional Scottish home with diligent hosts.
Liked least: Can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2016
Thank you for taking time to give us such a lovely review. We really appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay! Best regards Janet & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona P
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and well equipped with stunning views at very reasonable price”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Epona Cottage is a well equipped, comfortable cottage overlooking the sea. I thought it was great value for money and very clean. We had a really lovely, relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and the views
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
Thank you for giving us such a good review. I really appreciate you taking the time and hope you visit us again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ech1968
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful scenery homely cottage friendly landlords”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed for 4 nights, the cottage was comfortable and lovely with great views. The weather was fantastic with lots to see and do.Would definitely recommend Epona Cottage and The Isle of Skye

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithy060...
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“TRanquil & Lovely”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Getting to the cottage if well worth the effort, it is lovely clean & the owners are really welocoming. The rooms are lovely spacious, the kitchen is modern & great to use. Every view is better than the last even from the bedroom & sitting room. Stein Inn well wortha visit, Skyskyns a must, Dunvagan Bakery outstanding.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing