We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must try harder-resting on laurels”
Review of The Titan

The Titan
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Titan
Ranked #1 of 1 Clydebank B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“must try harder-resting on laurels”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and I have been regular diners at this hotel and regrettably the service is declining.The hotel is an ideal mix of European and Indian cuisine with a refurbished bar/restaurant.However they have lost the quality of service and are offering a confused market population.The main restaurant is a lovely venue for a drink or meal but has a disco floor/stage in the corner right next to the entrance to the Indian restaurant.In the opposite corner is a childrens play area. So if you are booking a romantic/celebratory dinner or just would like to enjoy a meal if a visitor or resident, you will have to put up with children running around or playing in the corner near your table.Whilst I am all for family dining, the area does not lend itself to the" chic" surroundings.There is very rarely anyone at the bar if you arrive before 5pm and the staff seem to be more interested in their own chat than interacting with the customers or serving.The hotel encourages function booking but again this is in the main bar area and if as a couple you come in for a meal or drink, you feel as if you are intruding.As an example, we recently went for a meal and drink to find there was a christening celebration, albeit a small gathering, the children were running wild and the event was spread throughout the restaurant. We decided to give it a miss and along with 7 others left as there was no one on reception and no one at the bar- 20£ minimum per head went out the door on an early Sunday afternoon!!
The Indian restaurant menu is superb and the quality consistent . However , again the restaurant attracts a lot of celebrations and mine was overshadowed by inattentive staff who were run off their feet as there were 6 birthday party tables as well as other diners.It seems that quantity was more important than quality service.I was hoping that the family would be pleased following my raving about the standards but they said the food was great but the service let it down.Not even a tea/coffee was offered, we didnt bother with desserts as it took such a long time to get served.My thanks to the lass behind the bar who had the list my husband had given her as a result of a frustrating wait for service and who when asked brought the drinks as quickly as she could.The staffing level was not geared for this.
The food in the main restaurant is also declining.I had a lasagne , served in a round dessert bowl with basic white sliced bread masquerading as garlic bread.My husband had the steak pie which looked as if it had been thrown on the plate.Why didnt I complain at the time you ask- I would have done if the member of staff who robotically asked if everything was okay, had waited for a reply.The table with her colleagues celebration, was more important.
The front decor leaves a lot to be desired and there is no indication outside as to whether the hotel is open for drinks or dining so you have to go in and find out.Having recommended the hotel to many friends and family, they have come back with the same comment as they have been here on and off for many years and I encouraged them to give it another try.
What a shame .There are few venues in this area where you can go for a drink/meal and be in nice surroundings. So come on Kirsty get it sorted!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pengou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    9
    7
    1
    15
See reviews for
12
10
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Looks dreadful from the outside and doesn't get better on the inside. Shower small and dirty. Hotel very noisy with people running and shouting in the corridor. Room had no curtains only blinds so there was no real privacy to get dressed.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windypops1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clydebank hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotels indian restaurant -Bombay Grill & Euro restaurant -Belushis are superb. ...Dine between the two as they have to be the best in the Clydebank Area. Reasonable price and high standards..Not stayed in hotel food only..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankr1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co donegal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2011

we stayed in the hotel for 3 nights but we were glad to get out off it.the room we had was tiny..u had 2 jump over your bed to get to other side..no shampoo in toilets..there was a noise every night which wud hav woken a dead person cmon from what seemed like a boiler.i ..we also had clothes robbed from our bedroom.....and were still waiting on them 2 get back 2 us on it..we payed 180.00 for the weekend and that didnt ever include breakfast..only good thing i can say is that the staff were very nice......if going bck 2 clydebank i wud rather sleep in a hostel rather than the pain of the boullevard..hotel from hell

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hughie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

A good bar downstairs although a little noisy on friday and saturday nights.
I had a single room that was a touch small but ok for a night or 2.
Will stop again as its a very good price.
Did not eat in the complex so cant comment on the food.

Room Tip: Ask for 1 well away fom the nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscarsmad23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I stayed there as i was up there for a job interview the staff were very helpful and very friendly i had a lovely meal in there european resturaunt although they had a indian resturaunt also.My room was pleasant and clean and had free wifi i had a lovely cooked breakfast in the morning and the staff organised me a taxi to take me to my interveiw. If i was ever in the area again i would definately stay there again .

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sengacbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Had a great stay at the Boulevard for 3 nights, ate in both restaurants and i must say that the indian restaurant is one of the best i have ever been to however the european was also really nice.
Staff where all friendly and accomodating and we did make it to the nightclub one of the nights which was also great. Lots of parking where the car seemed safe enough and it was straight up to bed after the club, without having to wait on a taxi.
For value and service i must say that i would recomend this place and would go back to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMcArthur41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clydebank
1.2 mi away
Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel
2.1 mi away
Erskine Bridge Hotel
Erskine Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erskine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Milngavie) Hotel
4.2 mi away
Glasgow Pond Hotel
Glasgow Pond Hotel
#56 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Titan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Titan

Property: The Titan
Address: 1710 Great Western Road, Clydebank, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G81 2XT, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Glasgow North/The Boulevard Hotel Complex)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Clydebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clydebank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Titan 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Titan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing