We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room with lots of space”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clydebank
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Howden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great room with lots of space”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night whilst visiting relatives in the area. Check in staff were very nice and we were impressed with the overall quality and style of the hotel. Our room was large and very nice as was the huge bathroom. Really nice having the i-mac in the room and the very quick free wifi. At 7am in the morning the fire alarm went off and the staff did a great job in getting all guests out and keeping us informed in what was going on. It was a false alarm and we were quickly all back inside again after the fire brigade gave it the all clear. Nice touch was the letter delivered to all rooms from the manager, apologizing for any inconvenience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenmlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    280
    89
    25
    14
See reviews for
171
218
49
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My company has an office in Paisley so I am up in Scotland every couple of weeks. I have stayed in a number of hotels in the area, however this hotel offers more than most.

It is located in half of the Hospital building and includes a Gym and Swimming Pool/sauna which is free to use from guests. It also has large comfortable rooms, a bar and a restaurant.

Good points:
Helpful staff
Easy to access/large car park
Big comfortable rooms
Gym/Pool
Excellent late deal rates
Breakfast, choice and quality

Bad points:
Is near a large Sewerage works (it's my industry so doesn't bother me, but may bother some, although it's never really bad)
Restaurants are a little expensive, although food is good.
Usual rates are a lot higher than discount rates.

Overall, I use this hotel whenever there are discounts, but use others if it's full price. 4.5




Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bexy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here for 11 nights during the Commonwealth Games. Had high expectations with both the price we had to pay and the 4 star rating. We were a bit concerned as the approach to the hotel from the main road is also the approach to an industrial estate. Alarm bells started to ring. However, once you turn the corner you're greeted by a huge expanse of lawn, large car park, fountain and the Clyde running along the back of the hotel. The price, at about a third higher than the normal rate for the time of year, was not entirely unexpected considering the shortage of hotel rooms in Glasgow during the Games, but was still a lot of money for what we got.

We had a twin room on Floor 3, overlooking the Clyde towards Glasgow, as we had requested, but the room had definitely seen better days. Two nights in and we had had enough, so asked at Reception if any other rooms were available. The Receptionist seemed quite taken aback when I reeled off a long list of faults with the room. An old and lumpy mattress, doors and drawers that didn't open properly, furniture with chipped edges and bits missing, a badly torn settee, stained tiles and rust streaks in the shower, the soap/towel holder in the shower that was more rust than chrome, a stained carpet and even someone’s initials scratched into the top of the dressing table. She was very apologetic and set about trying to find us another room, saying she would do what she could particularly as we had booked for a much longer stay than most of their guests.

We didn’t hold out much hope as they had already said the hotel was very busy, but luckily another room had just been prepared and was free. What a difference. Still the same nice view of the Clyde but in the other direction. Although not entirely fault free it was obvious this room had had a makeover at some point. Completly different and new looking bathroom, a new settee and a decent mattress. Still the same poor quality furniture with drawers that didn’t fit properly though but in better condition. No fridge in this room though, which in some way was a bonus, as the one in the first room put out so much waste heat into the room we had the window open all the time. Also having looked into some other rooms as they were being cleaned, they are kept very clean but it just seems a shame that they don't seem able to stand up to the wear and tear.

Tried a meal in the main restaurant. Nice food, not too expensive but the room itself is quite dark and has no windows to enjoy the river view. No real atmosphere either as we shared the restaurant with only one other person. There is an alternative “restaurant” which is really just an open area off the lounge bar. Simpler menu but much nicer view through the picture windows, so you could see the patio and the river but it does get a bit noisy due to the number of people and the televisions in the bar itself. Reasonably priced food though, as were the prices in the bar.

Having read some of the other recent comments we began to wonder if we had actually stayed at the same hotel. Yes, it is attached to a hospital, which means you may end up with a room facing one in the hospital which does seem odd and you may have the air ambulance land a couple of times. Certainly no antiseptic hospital smell nor did we ever see anyone in uniform or hospital scrubs during our entire stay. Then again, there are two entrances to the complex and we followed the direction signs and used the entrance that clearly said Beardmore Hotel and Conference Centre and not Golden Jubilee Hospital.

Full “Scottish Breakfast”, no different to a full English really and no haggis as we’ve had before. It could be a bit haphazard if you ordered any of the “extras” like poached eggs. Sometime they would arrive so quickly you would still be eating your cereal, at other times it was a long wait. Sometimes your tea and toast arrived together, at other times a long way apart or not at all, until you asked. There was always an apology but such basic things shouldn’t really happen.

Would we stay here again? Probably not. It is really a business hotel not one for a family getaway or a romantic weekend away. It was handy for the airport and the trains and buses into the city centre but it is a bit isolated. It served its purpose for our stay and was comfortable enough but was lacking something. 4 star for its facilities like the gym, sauna, pool, Spa and conference rooms but if our first room was anything to go by, not 4 star standard for the rooms. We have stayed at much cheaper Premier Inns that had rooms in better condition. It is a nice setting with a large patio and gardens at the back overlooking the Clyde, so you could sit outside and enjoy a drink, watch the boats go by and enjoy the view as the sun went down.

The staff could not have been nicer from the duty manager who got us a replacement iMac for the room as we couldn’t get it to pick up BBC iPlayer or the staff who often seemed rushed off their feet at breakfast and particularly Melissa on Reception who found us our new room and offered to help us pack and move. The Reception staff were always smiling and very helpful with directions and information and would always be asking if we’d had a good a day or what we were going to see next. So many thanks to them for a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Tips. The superior rooms (King Rooms and Suites) usually come with a river view but so do some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary R, General Manager at Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Tony P
Many thanks for taking the time to feedback following your recent stay.
Apologies that your initial room was not up to our usual standard and I am pleased that we were able to move your room during this particularly busy period. We are currently working on refurbishment plans for all our hotel bedrooms.
I would also like to thank you for your comments regarding recent reviews and that you found these issues not to be the case.
I would hope that we would be able to welcome you back if you require accommodation in the area in future.
Kind regards
Gary Rice
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The first thing to say is that this is one of the weirdest hotels I've ever stayed at - because it is essentially in the middle of a huge hospital complex. Guests use the same entrance as doctors, patients, nurses, etc. Nothing particularly problematic with that except that it feels rather strange.

There are a few things that definitely need improvement:

1.) The drainage in both the bath and the sink is awful. If you're cleaning your teeth or shaving expect the sink to fill up within a very short time. And if you're having a shower you'll be ankle deep in water before you've even reached for the shampoo.

2.) The internet and TV is one and the same - an apple monstrosity that infuruiatingly means the picture "freezes" every 10 minutes or so...you then have to change channels and then switch back to the one you were watching. Annoying to say the least.

3.) Breakfast is pretty decent but avoid the fried eggs like the plague. They put them in a heated tray but they can be there for hours (I jest not). Not only does that mean that they're seriously manky but I'm not sure it's the safest thing in the world either. Still - at least there's a hospital on the premises if the worst happens! Far better to go for the poached egg option - they make those to order so no issues there.

On the plus side the bar is excellent and the prices reasonable - food pretty good too. I was there on business but I doubt I'd choose to go back for a leisure trip - you're in the middle of nowhere so probably choosing a centrally located Glasgow hotel would be a better option.

Room Tip: Always choose poached eggs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary R, General Manager at Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Don B
Thank your for taking the time to feedback following your recent stay with us.
With regard to the drainage problem you experienced, our maintenance team are investigating this as a matter or urgency.
Apple iMacs were introduced to the Hotel approx. 4 years ago in order to provide our conference and leisure guests with a comprehensive TV and computer offering. Apologies that this doesn't meet with your expectations.
Also I would like to assure you that our breakfast offering and presentation is fully compliant with food safety standards.
Thank you for your positive comments on the bar and food offering.
Kind regards
Gary Rice
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We used this hotel as a base for The Commonwealth Games and to be fair it was easy to travel on the train from Dalmuir Station into Queen Street or Glasgow Central (25 mins). If you are looking for a conference venue it has the space with excellent catering. The bizarre part is the fact that it is part of a hospital complex and shares some entrances. Some of the rooms overlook hospital wards which is disconcerting. However the staff are friendly but quite laid back.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view or not facing hospital. Executive suites have king bedrooms plus sitting room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I have returned time and again to this hotel for my business needs. I always find the staff great, very friendly and attentive. The room is always large and has a large and comfortable bed. Good shower and bathroom, a sofa, and best of all, an Apple Mac! Yes you read correctly - an Apple Mac!

The food in the restaurant can be a little pricy, however, I must say that it is totally worth it! The food is amongst the best quality I have ever tasted - gorgeous.

The hotel is actually part of an NHS hospital, and this can be a little weird at first, walking into the reception and seeing signs for the X-ray department, however, it doesn't make any difference to the quality of facilities or service by any means.

The hotel boasts a free and inclusive health spa with a good sized gym, several treadmills, weights and other cardio vascular machines.

The car park is absolutely massive and free. I have never struggled for a space in my time using the hotel.

I would definitely recommend to anyone, and I have very high standards and an rather picky.

Overall an excellent hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary R, General Manager at Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Andyboy123,

Many thanks for taking the time to feedback on your recent return visit.

We have shared your comments with the team and appreciate your valued comments.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future

Kind regards
Gary Rice, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Used this hotel when my wife was in hospital next door. My room and public areas were immaculate but this is definitely more a business type than a holiday hotel. It is a bit far out of city for the "sights" but as I was there for its proximity to the hospital it was ideal. Probably because I stayed at the time of the Commonwealth Games, the hotel was very busy and as a result breakfast was a bit of a "scrum" and hot dishes were not always available when wanted. Very tasty meals were taken in the bar in the evenings but I felt were a bit expensive for size of portions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete11cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clydebank
19.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
23.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
455 reviews
10.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
18.3 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel

Property: Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel
Address: Beardmore Street, Clydebank, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G81 4SA, Scotland (Formerly The Beardmore Hotel & Conference Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Clydebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clydebank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel, on the banks of the river Clyde, is the perfect location for your next getaway whether it be for business or pleasure. Located just 20 minutes from Glasgow city centre, a short drive to Glasgow International Airport and easy access to the historic beauty of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. The Hotel shares its grounds with a National Medical centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beardmore Hotel And Conference Centre
Beardmore Hotel Clydebank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing