We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lunch”
Review of Casa Italia - CLOSED

Casa Italia
Price range: US$7 - US$47
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Casa Italia is a family run restaurant privately owned and managed by our Head Chef, Domenico. Domenico is from southern Italy and has a lovely menu to share with you that includes traditional classic pasta dishes and stone baked pizzas as well as a selection of meats and fish dishes all freshly cooked to order. He is also happy to adjust our menu offerings at any time to accommodate our customers' dietry requests or taste options. Casa Italia Ristorante opened at the end of November 2012 having been completely renovated from a former church building in the heart of Clydebank.We have installed a disabled lift access for customers who require wheelchair or pram access and have disabled washroom facilities alongside baby changing facilities. We are located on the corner of Montrose Street and Kilbowie Road with car parking facilities which we share with the Atlantis Bar. Casa Italia has seating arrangements for 110 customers which includes a balcony dining area for 40 to 50 guests. Our balcony dining area offers larger groups a designated location within our restaurant and can also be set up for a buffet. This area is also used for adult only dining, turning Casa into the perfect romantic setting.. Our team worked hard in our 1st year to secure a finalist place in the highly acclaimed Scottish Italian Restaurants Awards 2013 in the category of Best Newcomer - something we are very proud of. We have a fabulous team of caring and attentive staff guided by Domenico and our restaurant manager Peter who bring a great deal of humour and attention to all our customers. We open our doors every day to welcome you with your family and friends to join our family at Casa for a pleasant dining experience at our beautiful family home at Casa Italia. Our main restaurant does not have fixed booth seating therefore we can comfortably set larger groups within our restaurant area as well as intimate tables for 2.
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our lunch at Casa Italia. This was our first visit and definitely will not be our last. Unfortunately we were the only ones in the restaurant at the time. Clydebank diners don't seem to know what a smashing local restaurant they have. No need to travel into Glasgow to taste some excellent Italian food. Best garlic mushrooms we have ever tasted. Staff were very attentive and friendly. Portion sizes were large especially for a lunch time menu. Cant wait to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grannywGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casaitaliaglw1, Owner at Casa Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

hi thanks for posting your review of your 1st visit to Casa. Delighted to read you enjoyed your visit with us. We would love to see more lunch time diners and it is with thanks to great reviews like yours im sure will help very much, look forward to welcoming you back soon regards Domenico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 230 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had visited Casa previously and on the whole we had been satisfied, but our last visit with large party of friends and family was a huge disappointment. Our party were on the mezzanine, we could feel the uncomfortable heat on our arrival and got worse as night went on, to make matters worse the drinks and food orders took an age to arrive.
Most of the party ordered from the special set price menu, mainly not so special pasta dishes a chicken dish and Steaks (at a extra charge). Starters were several Bruschetta dishes, Mussels or Creamed Mushrooms. Bruschetta turned out be one fairly thick slice of bread-cold with little topping and small salad, a plate filler I think. both mussels and mushrooms ok but no bread for dipping, seems unusual bread not being on the table for large party. The steaks were tough and fatty, some were sent back, the chicken breast with pepper sauce was the most disappointing. real shocker, a small lukewarm chicken breast, thin pepper sauce and fancy little basket of poor chips, thin, greasy and tasteless. most of the party had ordered this close to me and were waiting for vegetables ? a salad bowl to arrive?, no this was the dish.!!!,a very very poor offering. I don't think many of our party were impressed with our meal but made the best of the night anyway. The girls on duty were very pleasant and efficient but seemed at a bit of a loss when receiving a complaint or advised the food had not really been anywhere as good as we expected.
Casa is lovely old building, full of character, pleasant service and normally an acceptable meal at a decent price. We would probably go back in smaller party but not for a special occasion or large gathering.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cafebar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casaitaliaglw1, Owner at Casa Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Hi im sorry to read of our disappointment in Casa recently, customer feedback is essential to us to allow us to improve i would be very happy to hear from you personally should you wish to speak to me yo can do so on 0141 952 5554, regards, domenico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best italian restaurants I know. My partner and I have always been paperinos through and through but Casa Italia is a fantastic restaurant. Staff are always amazing. Food is to die for. Price is very reasonable as you can tell its all fresh. Everyone has to try it.... love it x

1  Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casaitaliaglw1, Owner at Casa Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Ciao Ashley, thanks for such a great review of Casa, delighted to read you enjoy each time you visit. We take great pride in using fresh local produce to prepare our menus and offer amazing value on our early dinner menu. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, regards, Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Visited for tapas with my sister and brother in law while on holiday from Sydney. Yvonne and Dom made us feel like we were the only clients in the restaurant, we were treated like royalty! Amazing service, warm and welcoming staff and beautiful food selected by the chef. I really enjoyed our evening .. the spicy king prawns were cooked to perfection and the bruschetta was moreish. All staff were very professional and appropriately attentive. I would recommend this family run restaurant and would definitely return one day. Keep up the good work guys

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casaitaliaglw1, Owner at Casa Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Hi Heather, thank you for taking the time to post such a great review of our restaurant, delighted to read you all enjoyed our tapas selections and cocktails :) it was lovely to speak to you that evening and our pleasure to look after you all in our home at Casa and i hope you had a wonderful holiday with your family here in Scotland, Safe travels, Regards, Yvonne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We chose Casa Italia as the venue for our wedding reception on 24th May 2014. We loved the idea of having a venue that was a renovated church building as it added a touch of traditional character and reflected the values of married life. From the initial meetings with Yvonne and Dominico it was clear that their willingness to go over and above to ensure the running of the evening went according to plan was second to none.

From start to finish we had huge confidence in them and the staff which made us feel relaxed and at ease during the organising stages. Yvonne met with us on various occasions to discuss our exact requirements and her assistance was invaluable with suggested layouts for the evening, recommendations of wholesalers and accommodating all of the personal details we had requests for including, candles, colour matched napkins, menu choices for the buffet and even a personalised cocktail. All of this attention to detail really made the evening personal to us.

The evening itself was outstanding, the staff worked so hard ensuring there was no queues at the bar, tables where cleared quickly and the level of service was on par from what you would experience in a high end City Centre restaurant or hotel. Comments from staff members and kind wishes of congratulations really made us feel welcomed and we appreciated the efforts of all who worked that night.

If you are looking for a venue with traditional character but modern interior for a special occasion that has outstanding food, flawless service, welcoming staff / owners and great value for money Casa Italia ticks all of the boxes.

We would like to thank all of the Casa Italia family for making our Wedding Reception that bit more special and for a fantastic and memorable evening.

Mr & Mrs Wilson

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Stickmanchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casaitaliaglw1, Owner at Casa Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Hi Mr & Mrs Wilson, Firstly congratulations again...thank you for such an amazing review and for choosing Casa Italia as your venue for your very special day. It was my pleasure to work with you both and ensure you had the best reception for your family and friends, Delighted to read your comments and that eeryone had a great night. Our staff at Casa provide a wonderful high level of service with great pride in all that we do. We look forward to welcoming you back some time soon,
Regards, Yvonne & Domenico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Italia also viewed

Clydebank, West Dunbartonshire
Clydebank, West Dunbartonshire
 
Clydebank, West Dunbartonshire
Clydebank, West Dunbartonshire
 
Clydebank, West Dunbartonshire
Clydebank, West Dunbartonshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing