We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very impressed”
Review of Roma

Roma
Ranked #4 of 50 Restaurants in Clydebank
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very impressed”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

this is the second week in a row both my wife and I have dined in this little oasis in the clydebank shopping precinct. Have to say the food is second to none , and the waiting staff could not be more helpfull,
we would normally dine in either IL Pavone or Papperinos for Italian cuisine
but Roma is definetly up there with them. we would certainly recommend dining here

Robert macgregor

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank r_macgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    58
    12
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A new place to lunch”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Called in for lunch yesterday. 3 of us were dining. 2 of us had the cold meat salad with mozzarella which was delicious and the other had lasagne. He said it was very good. Only complaint was the fact that there was no other choice of salad on the menu which was very disappointing as we like something light for lunch. Shall certainly eat there again as it is a very welcoming dining experience set in lovely surroundings.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMc51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A strong aftertaste of garlic...”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Having reviewed the other 2 Italian eateries in Clydebank (see Casa Italia and La Versilia), I thought it was only fair to give this one a try. And I am pleased to say I am pretty happy with my experience.

Upon entering we (my Mother and I) were immediately greeted by a friendly Italian waiter who let us choose our own seats. We browsed the menu and decided on the pre threatre menu which at 2 courses for 9:99 was pretty good value. I had the Caprese salad followed by Spagetti Carbonara and my Mum had Garlic mushrooms followed by Chicken in a peppercorn sauce.

The most impressive thing about the meal was the obvious attention to detail regarding presentation. My salad was decorated in a neat circle whilst it was elegantly drizzled with a delightful basil oil. My Mum's chicken had an R preciselywritten in balsamic vinegar. I was also immediately offered parmasean and black pepper for my pasta which always wins points with me.

As for tastes my Mum enjoyed both her courses. I did enjoy mine but the Carbonara contained slightly too much garlic. I do enjoy garlic but when you can still taste it 24 hours later, you know you've eaten too much.

Service was promt and a special mention goes to the waiter Rami who made a big effort to chat and make us feel welcome. Dare I say he was flirting or is that just standard Italian charm? In general, I do think its better for Italian restaurants to have Italian waiters as it gives a more authenic feel. And they can correct any bad Italian pronunciation.

I would more than likely return to Roma aslong as they use slightly less garlic the next time. Anyway Ciao until my next review...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodiequeen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“very nice carbonara”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Having been to Roma on Bath Street in Glasgow city centre and enjoyed the food I thought I would try the Roma in Clydebank (not too far from my house) I can happily say that the food is great, the take away menu is especially cheap and great value, we got a meal for 4 for £25.00 which included, 2 pizzas, 2 pastas, 4 cans of juice, a foccaccia and 2 sides. I worked out we saved £11.00 going by the things we ordered.

I have not sat down for a meal in the restaurant as yet but will be going back soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kayleigh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My partner and I have now visited this fantastic restaurant twice and each time we have not been dissapointed.once was for our lunch and the second was with my parents for dinner .The food is delicious and the service is second to none we would highly recommend this lovely place to anyone.great value for money and the portions are ample We will certainly be back again and again a big thank you to all the staff for a lovely time

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank steeveb9162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roma also viewed

Clydebank, West Dunbartonshire
Clydebank, West Dunbartonshire
 
Clydebank, West Dunbartonshire
Clydebank, West Dunbartonshire
 
Clydebank, West Dunbartonshire
Clydebank, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing