We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel near Loch Lomond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Milton Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Dumbarton B&B and Inns
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An average hotel near Loch Lomond”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting the Loch Lomond area. The hotel is situated on a main road, so it's easy to get to and from the hotel; and the room was clean and quiet (even though it's on a main road and above a pub). So there were no issues with our stay at the hotel; but there's also nothing to set this hotel apart.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OKMcFarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    45
    20
    10
    14
See reviews for
28
47
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The location of this Hotel on A82 in Dumbarton just north of Glasgow is ideal for those travelling to Scottish Highlands. Easy to locate and there is complimentary car park. Wifi is available in public areas. We stayed in one of the Apartments which are due for refurbishment. Breakfast is included in the price and there was a good choice. We chose to have dinner at the restaurant and were surprised to find there was choice for vegetarians and fish on the menu. Comfortable bed and a good night sleep helped us to plan and organise our next day travel to the Highlands.
I would recommend this hotel as a one night stopover for those travelling to the Scottish Highlands

Room Tip: It is worth trying the newly refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLRvisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We have eaten here many times and keep coming back due to the quality of the food. Portions are huge and everything I've had has been tasty and freshly made. I highly recommend the enchiladas and the cheesecake alone keeps me coming back ! Pub grub done right, great food at decent prices.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coletteJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed overnight as was going to a wedding in a nearby hotel. Had dinner in hotel which was delicious. They only feedback I have is the restaurant was very quiet so it's a shame they are not as busy as they could be. Came back from wedding and joined in with the Karaoke however it was really just myself and my friend and about 2 other people. Even so we had a great night and again it's just a shame that the bar isn't as busy as the hotel. Jim the hotel owner was lovely, friendly and made us feel very welcome. Would definitely go back. My only feedback is that checkout is a bit early at 10am. They did allow us to check out slightly later however could change this and add potatoe scone to the breakfast menu

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Where to begin? The karaoke was far too loud and on far too late. The duty manager was as drunk as a lord, when he didn't bother to resolve the issue, all for the sake of 5 punters simply asked what am I do to? You didn't ask if it was karaoke night when you booked? So he was about as much use as a vertigo suffering base jumper! I really know the weekly schedule for every pub in the UK! Had the potential to be quite a good place but clearly the duty manager was far more interested in disregarding his liver than retaining guests. I will not be repeating the stay! Night of stay 20/21 July 2013

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwtchkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dumbarton hotels

clydebank
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I have been at the Milton three times recently with friends and cannot fault the food or service by the friendly staff. We have all had various different meals and each one has been excellent and highly recommend the steak pie, sea bass and the desserts are all excellent. This establishment is well worth a visit and recommend you reserve a table at the weekends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine1Clydebank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We eat at the milton only about a handful of times a year a treat for us usually a tremendous place to visit and eat unfortunately this time was to say the least poor we arrived were greeted welcomely as usual given a table served very quickly as usual but alas the place was fully booked and that was the last we seen of the staff who were pretty short staffed to say the least the food was hot and tasty but the service turned from great to deplorable we sat with dishes piled in front of us for 15/20 minutes trying to order a sweet alas we gave up and left as the 2 staff were under so much pressure we felt abandoned no we love the milton but this time we think some1 made a huge error we are not as important as regulars but hey we pay the same money so lets get it back to the way it was always great food great service and great staff maybe a wee hiccup this time we normally spend about 40/50 not a great deal a treat for us but next time may think about going somewhere else come on get back to were you were you will lose some valuable clientèle if you dont

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billyk566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumbarton
0.8 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Dumbarton
Travelodge Dumbarton
#2 of 4 in Dumbarton
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dumbuck House Hotel
The Dumbuck House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Dumbarton
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel
20.4 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
439 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milton Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milton Inn Hotel

Property: The Milton Inn Hotel
Address: Dumbarton Road, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 2TD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Dumbarton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dumbarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Milton Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Milton Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Milton Inn Hotel Dumbarton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing