We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and accommodations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Abbotsford Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Certificate of Excellence
Biddeford, Maine
1 review
“Amazing service and accommodations!”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The accommodations and staff here at the abbots ford set the bar for international travel to Scotland. We had a large group with multiple requests ranging from room, food and drink requirements and James and his staff took care of everyone of them. If you travel to Scotland, abbots ford is a great place to stay! Thanks again to James and the abbots ford staff!

Jason

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty97e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    76
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
62
58
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stopped by chance while visiting my son ,best hotel locally and the service and food were unbeleivable all mod cons tea coffee.On the edge of Loch Lomond 2 seconds on road to loch

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back its quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatlinEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights when attending a local wedding. The rooms were clean and functional. The restaurant served reasonable food at a fair price. What makes this hotel "very good" is the service. Every single member of staff that we spoke to, be they receptionist, chambermaid or waiter was friendly and helpful. We felt welcome and that our custom was valued. If visiting Dumbarton again we would certainly stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I have stayed at the Abbotsford many times on business with colleagues when working in Sctoland and we all love the hotel. I actually had my daughters wedding here in 2001 and it was great that day as well.

Always been made to feel very welcome here and James and all of the staff look after us very well as I am sure they do first time visitors.

The food is very good, with an extensive menu to choose from and James will even go out of his way to get you something NOT on the menu, if you ask. The waiting staff are courteous and most helpful. A special mention to Lauren and Vicky who always make us laugh, although the rest of the crew are all great and very friendly.

The rooms are not massive, but large enough for the average needs, with a Flat Screen television, WiFi and enough cupboard/wardrobe space. The beds are comfortable and my only gripe would be a lack of air conditioning, as it does get very warm in the summer evenings.

The bar has many locals within and they are just as friendly and I have shared many a beer and banter when the football is on. 'Jock Pies' are given out at half-time when the football (fitbae) is on!

The road out of the hotel is a bit lumpy and bumpy, but that does not have anything to do with the hotel as far as I am aware.

I can thoroughly recommend the Abbotsford for a stay, long or short, you will be made to feel most welcome.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brigham69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Myself and 6 friends unexpectedly broke down when travelling from Bournemouth to Fort William. Thank goodness our minibus managed to limp to a stop in the car park of the Abbotsford Hotel! We booked rooms late in the evening at extremely short notice, and had several attempts that night and the next day by RAC to fix our bus. James and the team were so helpful and even arranged a replacement bus for us and offered to drive us to collect it and to put all our hiking gear in safekeeping until the new bus arrived. The staff were wonderful and their friendliness and understanding was very much appreciated. The bedroom we stayed in was a real surpise - very modern, beautifully decorated and well equipped with a lovely bathroom. The bar and dining room are tasteful and we had a lovely breakfast and lunch the next day. In fact some of us couldn't finish lunch as the portions were so generous. So a massive "Thank You" to the Abbotsford and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wylie3Peakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I am a user of an electric wheelchair. The staff upon booking enquiry are extremely coy about the description of their disabled facilities regarding wheelchair lifting/moving equipment. When you ask you will get a coy 'yes' but when you view the facilities the Abbotsford's facilities are woefully inadequate both in quality and usage.THERE IS NO LIFT. The wheelchair lifting equipment's operability is entirely dependent on staff rotas. On the day I was there the only person who was trained in the safe operation of the manual wheelchair lifting device was not on duty and no other member of staff was qualified to undertake this task of operating the wheelchair device. The wheelchair lifting device IS NOT SUITABLE FOR AN ELECTRIC WHEELCHAIR - IT WILL NOT TAKE THE WEIGHT OF AN UNOCCUPIED ELECTRIC WHEELCHAIR, let alone person +chair.. If you travel alone and independently there is no way whatsoever to get your electric wheelchair upstairs. Which if you are like me and have to use an electric because you have no upper body strength to use a manual wheelchair; then you are STUFFED. Also, if like me you turn up and the trained designated staff member for their hoist is not on duty then just forget the whole deal and go and sleep in your car as you will be less stressed. Overall the public areas were dingy and there is an overwhelming smell of dampness in some parts of the hotel, particularly in the reception area so take note if you are asthmatic. The food is standard pub grub and the restaurant area shares the same open floor space as the sports bar. It really only is a pub with some rooms stuck on as an afterthought. The road you enter and egress from is in an extremely poor state of repair so drive carefully. This state of disrepair is continued into parking area and if you do happen to be in a manual wheelchair you will find it very difficult to negotiate due to potholes etc. IF YOU ARE DISABLED SAVE YOURSELF A LOT OF DISTRESS AND DON'T EVEN GO THERE.

Room Tip: Its grim go to another hotel & town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sleepbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We arrived on the 15th August, front of house was very friendly and pleasent. During our stay which was until the 31st Aug there was nothing was too much trouble for them. This was very important for me as whilst my husband was at work I stayed in the room all day. As for housekeeping again nothing was too much trouble and even though they were busy they still took the time to talk to me and make sure I had everything I needed. Restaurant staff again very good service, the food was very good and even though they were always busy they always made you feel that you were the only person in there, and you could tell they wanted to make sure that everything was as you wanted it. When we had room service it was very quick and always hot and a smile off the waitress that brought it. All the staff went above and beyond to make sure your stay with them was enjoyable. If you want a base to see the sights and breath taking country or a you just need to get away and chill then this is a very good hotel to use. We will be using this hotel whenever we need to be in that part of Scotland and looking forward to doing so.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suepocula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumbarton
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Dumbarton
Travelodge Dumbarton
#2 of 4 in Dumbarton
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dumbuck House Hotel
The Dumbuck House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Dumbarton
377 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
469 reviews
17.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbotsford Hotel

Property: The Abbotsford Hotel
Address: Stirling Road, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 2PJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Dumbarton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbotsford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Abbotsford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Hotel Dumbarton
The Abbotsford Hotel Dumbarton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing