We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff makes the difference!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Abbotsford Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I recently stayed at the Abbotsford Hotel for five days with a group of sixteen people and was very impressed with the staff and facilities.

The staff, particularly James and Karen, was always very accommodating and willing to help. James was very knowledgeable and had answers for all of our questions whether it was about local attractions or how to get somewhere. He even had the staff come in early one day so we could get a hot breakfast an hour earlier than they normally start serving. Karen and James were quick with a smile and Karen even let us check on our flights on her computer prior to our departure.

The facilities were immaculate and comfortable and they had everything I needed for a pleasant stay. The restaurant had delicious food, in fact, we ate breakfast and dinner there (and lunch when we weren’t out visiting other cities) every day of our stay…it was so good (favorites include the peppered salmon, chicken carbonara and the toffee crunch pie). The pub was roomy and was a comfortable place to stay and have a drink and a conversation or watch football on one of several large flat screen televisions.

Again, I was impressed during our stay but if there was one thing that made it, it would be the staff. Thank you so much (especially James and Karen).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for The Abbotsford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

We had a medium sized group staying for the week and several times we asked for special accomodations (dining, social event, etc.) which were supported graciously and without hesitation. The family and staff running this place made us feel welcomed. The rooms were very comfortable and the meals were excellent. We have placed this location on our approval list for future stays.

Room Tip: All the rooms were similar and very comfortable
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The accommodations and staff here at the abbots ford set the bar for international travel to Scotland. We had a large group with multiple requests ranging from room, food and drink requirements and James and his staff took care of everyone of them. If you travel to Scotland, abbots ford is a great place to stay! Thanks again to James and the abbots ford staff!

Jason

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty97e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stopped by chance while visiting my son ,best hotel locally and the service and food were unbeleivable all mod cons tea coffee.On the edge of Loch Lomond 2 seconds on road to loch

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back its quieter
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatlinEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights when attending a local wedding. The rooms were clean and functional. The restaurant served reasonable food at a fair price. What makes this hotel "very good" is the service. Every single member of staff that we spoke to, be they receptionist, chambermaid or waiter was friendly and helpful. We felt welcome and that our custom was valued. If visiting Dumbarton again we would certainly stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I have stayed at the Abbotsford many times on business with colleagues when working in Sctoland and we all love the hotel. I actually had my daughters wedding here in 2001 and it was great that day as well.

Always been made to feel very welcome here and James and all of the staff look after us very well as I am sure they do first time visitors.

The food is very good, with an extensive menu to choose from and James will even go out of his way to get you something NOT on the menu, if you ask. The waiting staff are courteous and most helpful. A special mention to Lauren and Vicky who always make us laugh, although the rest of the crew are all great and very friendly.

The rooms are not massive, but large enough for the average needs, with a Flat Screen television, WiFi and enough cupboard/wardrobe space. The beds are comfortable and my only gripe would be a lack of air conditioning, as it does get very warm in the summer evenings.

The bar has many locals within and they are just as friendly and I have shared many a beer and banter when the football is on. 'Jock Pies' are given out at half-time when the football (fitbae) is on!

The road out of the hotel is a bit lumpy and bumpy, but that does not have anything to do with the hotel as far as I am aware.

I can thoroughly recommend the Abbotsford for a stay, long or short, you will be made to feel most welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brigham69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Myself and 6 friends unexpectedly broke down when travelling from Bournemouth to Fort William. Thank goodness our minibus managed to limp to a stop in the car park of the Abbotsford Hotel! We booked rooms late in the evening at extremely short notice, and had several attempts that night and the next day by RAC to fix our bus. James and the team were so helpful and even arranged a replacement bus for us and offered to drive us to collect it and to put all our hiking gear in safekeeping until the new bus arrived. The staff were wonderful and their friendliness and understanding was very much appreciated. The bedroom we stayed in was a real surpise - very modern, beautifully decorated and well equipped with a lovely bathroom. The bar and dining room are tasteful and we had a lovely breakfast and lunch the next day. In fact some of us couldn't finish lunch as the portions were so generous. So a massive "Thank You" to the Abbotsford and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wylie3Peakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumbarton
0.4 mi away
The Dumbuck House Hotel
The Dumbuck House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Dumbarton
385 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Dumbarton
Travelodge Dumbarton
#2 of 4 in Dumbarton
217 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
505 reviews
5.1 mi away
Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel
17.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbotsford Hotel

Address: Stirling Road, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 2PJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Dumbarton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Price Range: £63 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbotsford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Abbotsford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Hotel Dumbarton
The Abbotsford Hotel Dumbarton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing