We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money short stay hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Abbotsford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Abbotsford Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value for money short stay hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff, good service, decent menu and comfortable rooms. What more can you ask of a small family run hotel?
Right price and value for money.
I will come back again and again having already had several short stay business visits.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AncientMariner24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    72
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
57
51
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

I was very pleasently surprised when I arrived at this hotel, the pictures do no do it justice.
I cannot fault my stay here, All the staff were helpful and friendly, my room was of a good size and quite. The food in the resturant was very nice and the beer kept well.

Had I not been visiting, one night for a funeral, I am sure I would have enjoyed staying here longer. The funeral tea was also here and the hotel certainly did that justice.

Room Tip: No need, none of the other people I met staying here said anything negative about their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiestaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

I recently booked a table for 15 to celebrate a big occasion. The restaurant was busy when we arrived, but this made no difference to the service we received. James and his staff looked after us so well from beginning to end, ensuring everyone had drinks. The choice on the menu is first class and the food lived up to expectations. The portions are excellent and the food was piping hot. The presentation was faultless. After the meal, we sat on for quite a while chatting and at no time did we feel under any pressure to leave. In fact, the waitress made a point of telling us to sit as long as we wanted. Thank you to James and the staff for making a special occasion one to be enjoyed.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenbee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clydebank, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

I recently booked tables within the Abbotsford restaurant for a special family occasion. The food and service was fantastic. The staff made a real fuss of my daughter as it was her special day, and couldn't have been any more attentive to the rest of the guests.
The food was excellent, the staff were friendly and we had the most amazing day.
We eat at the Abbotsford regularly and they never let us down.
So thank you to all the staff at the Abbotsford for a wonderful day! We will be back again!!

Room Tip: Excellent food and a great friendly service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

As I live local, the Abbotsford Hotel is a favorite Destination for something to Eat, the menu has a good selection and the prices are spot on, the staff are always fantastic and always look after us.
I would highly recommend this place for something to eat.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I was booked into this hotel by someone else and when I turned up I have to say that, from the outside, it didn't look much. The corridor down to my room was dated, but the room was as good as any Holiday Inn. The pub and staff, food and drink however, were brilliant and made my stay very good indeed. They couldn't have been more attentive, the service was as fast as anywhere and the quality was very good indeed - portion sizes were like everywhere in Scotland, generous!

If I was in the area again, I'd certainly come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenland, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I recently stayed at the Abbotsford Hotel for five days with a group of sixteen people and was very impressed with the staff and facilities.

The staff, particularly James and Karen, was always very accommodating and willing to help. James was very knowledgeable and had answers for all of our questions whether it was about local attractions or how to get somewhere. He even had the staff come in early one day so we could get a hot breakfast an hour earlier than they normally start serving. Karen and James were quick with a smile and Karen even let us check on our flights on her computer prior to our departure.

The facilities were immaculate and comfortable and they had everything I needed for a pleasant stay. The restaurant had delicious food, in fact, we ate breakfast and dinner there (and lunch when we weren’t out visiting other cities) every day of our stay…it was so good (favorites include the peppered salmon, chicken carbonara and the toffee crunch pie). The pub was roomy and was a comfortable place to stay and have a drink and a conversation or watch football on one of several large flat screen televisions.

Again, I was impressed during our stay but if there was one thing that made it, it would be the staff. Thank you so much (especially James and Karen).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumbarton
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Dumbuck House Hotel
The Dumbuck House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Dumbarton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
5.6 mi away
Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel
11.2 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbotsford Hotel

Property: The Abbotsford Hotel
Address: Stirling Road, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 2PJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Dumbarton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbotsford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Abbotsford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Hotel Dumbarton
The Abbotsford Hotel Dumbarton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing