We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dumbuck House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed here whilst we were visiting friends nearby.Not sure I would stay here other than for convenience.Rooms were OK although the view was of a flat roof and the back of a building.Corridors scruffy but reception area/bar/restaurant all re-vamped if a little garish.Food was good and all the staff were helpful and welcoming.The best part was the £35.00 bill which does put all the above into perspective.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

my husband and i have stayed at this hotel on the groupon deal, it is an excellent hotel staff very helpful and attentive meal was dynamite the rooms spotless i would recommend this to all of my friends shall deff be returning here for a break away.with my visitors that come over from ireland . keep up the good work folks

thanx

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katped_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed at the Dumbuck for a family wedding.
The Hotel has been nicely decorated and is clean and modern. Our room was very well appointed with a large bathroom containing a bath and seperate shower, an extremely comfy bed and a walk in wardrobe.
The wedding side of things was excellent - great food & great silver service.
On the other hand, unfortunately, whoever 'planned' for the guests staying fot the wedding needs either a different job or complete re-training. Many items on the food menu were not available and the one or two members of staff trying to deal with 20 plus guests were just over-run. Management desperately need to pass a HUGH THANKYOU to their extremely good willed, hard working staff who genuinely were the saving grace of this establishment.
I would definately stay here again - thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Speelster73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

After a friendly greeting, myself and my partner were sat in the well finished dining room. The only waitress that seemed to be on duty gave us the lunch menu which for a hotel is tiny, 5 main courses, of which all available at the nearby asda cafe, we sat for almost ten minutes (which isn't long to employees but is a lifetime to a customer) We were asked if we would like to order, shortly after our drinks arrived which had half an ice cube in them each and had no garnish, at this point we decided to lower our expectations of what looked like an upmarket establishment but was turning out to be worse than a generic Premier inn. My soup arrived luke warm with cold slices from a baguette, after the first course was cleared the mains arrived promptly although when they did they were disappointing. The burger I ordered was no better than the burger you can get for a pound from the burger vans dotted about the area. My partners chose the special of the day which was lasagne, and was made to choose between having it with fries or salad, obviously to con people into buying a side order of whichever they didn't choose. The menu is cheap and the food shows that, a major let down from somewhere that has a lot of potential. This restaurant seems like it mainly caters to the over 60's demographic as these are the kind of dishes suited to them and not a wider variety of diners. If you're looking for a local alternative try The Beardmore hotel in dalmuir, Singers bar in Clydebank or World of golf cafe in drumchapel. Who all offer good service and huge choice compared to the Dumbuck and all at roughly the same price.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glasgow8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Ate in the newly re-opened Dumbuck at the end of Feb. Service was really poor, as if everyone bar one guy, was on their first night of training.

In terms of food. Mozzarella sticks were good. Mussels were awful! So small, nowhere to put shells and tomato sauce still refrigerated.

Mains were average. Penne Pollo and Penne Arrabiata.

Desserts were poor. Sticky toffee pudding and cheesecake. Think they were probably frozen.

Desserts ended up free, as well as a 15% discount as that much had went wrong over the course of the night. Fair play to them for that I suppose.

Examples of service...no jugs for water, one dessert menu to share as they had run out, no dish for mussels shells, brought back mussels after re-heating without the bread, three different members of waiting staff attending to us so kept having to repeat ourselves.

Music was dreadful...S Club 7, and other pop nonsense.

Avoid, especially with so many nice places to eat in Balloch.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank FitzBhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My husband and I spent a great 2 nights here last year after getting a good deal on the junior suite. The food in restaurant was brilliant and we ate there both nights, the drinks in the bar were also really reasonably priced. Therefore we booked to go back for new year with our friends in a standard room, unfortunately I was really disappointed with this, the room looked tired and in need of re-decoration. The photos on the website are of the junior suites not the standard room. On the plus side we ate in the restaurant and all thoroughly enjoyed it, breakfast is great too. Staff are really welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

My colleague and I spent two nights here whilst attending a course and will be there again shortly for the dreaded exam!!! Despite its slightly quirky decor (think ...night club/ Adams family/Beckham wedding!), it is a good place to stay. Any wee problems with my room were sorted out with no fuss, the food was very good ,if again a little quirky ( I have never had scones for breakfast before) We ate in the restaurant both nights and found it really good value for money..2 main courses for £9.99. Where the hotel shines is with its staff, a cheery bunch of young people who really seem to care. Quite looking forward to our return visit (shame about the exam though!)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindawhitelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumbarton
0.4 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dumbarton
203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Dumbarton
Travelodge Dumbarton
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
222 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel
12.2 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
11.6 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dumbuck House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dumbuck House Hotel

Address: Glasgow Road | West Dunbartonshire, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 1EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Dumbarton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Price Range: £54 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dumbuck House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just six miles from the shores of Loch Lomond and 20 minutes from the heart of Glasgow, The Dumbuck House Hotel is ideally located to suit guests looking to sample the best aspects of Scotland's most popular attractions. Steeped in history but with a contemporary touch, The Dumbuck boasts 19 en-suite bedrooms, a restaurant and bar, a large 200-seat capacity function hall and a smaller function hall and new outside patio area. At our family-run 18th century house hotel, the emphasis is always to make our guests feel welcome, comfortable and cared for. Our restaurant serves fresh, homemade food at family-friendly prices and we've pulled on the bountiful Scottish larder to showcase some of the amazing ingredients on our doorstep. We look forward to welcoming you to The Dumbuck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dumbuck House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumbuck Hotel Dumbarton
The Dumbuck House Hotel Dumbarton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing