We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our opinion. Faultless!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dumbuck House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Our opinion. Faultless!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night prior to going on holiday from Glasgow airport. Check in was without a single doubt the most welcoming, helpful and friendly we've had ever! (Thanks Stuart) Arrived in time to get an evening meal. The young lady serving at the bar was really friendly and helpful and super efficient. I had duck breast with vegetables my partner had haggis with neeps & tatties. The restaurant was a really nice place to be, really welcoming and smart, the centre piece in the dining room was beautiful! Like medieval stacked candles which had been allowed to let the wax run down the sides of the multilevel stand. Really nice touch. The food was quite honestly superb! Excellent presentation and cooked to perfection! It wouldn't have been out of place in a Michelin star restaurant. We also had two cappuccinos and a bottle of rose wine. Total cost of the meal was £40.25 and absolutely worth every penny. Seriously good value for money. The room is absolutely huge! Really comfortable giant bed full bathroom, full dressing table with mirrors (for the ladies hahaha) big flat screen TV too. Room rates are very good (book direct with the hotel for a better deal) The building is getting a total overhaul. Although not finished when we arrived we thought it looked really nice, like an old converted cottage/farm. Without a shadow of a doubt if we fly from Glasgow in the future we will definitely be staying here again! 100% approved by us.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank holidaylover1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    92
    55
    50
    31
See reviews for
106
140
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and 1 stayed here for 1 night during the Commonwealth Games, having looked for somewhere not looking to cash in on the people looking for accommodation.

We paid £90 for room only, which was too much for what we got, but acceptable due to the commonwealth games.

Room was large with good features and nice bathroom + v comfy bed.

Hotel is a bit tired, but is being refurbished so can be forgiven. I even had to ask reception for a piece of wood to hold our window up! They did however provide!

I think currently for this hotel, if I was charged more than £60 on a normal week, I'd be upset, however I will return as I work a lot in Scotland and give it another try when renovated.

All in all, it did a job for the night and when Premier Inn's in Glasgow were after £400+ for the night, it was acceptable.

Don't let negative reviews put you off, especially when renovations are completed

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bexy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Ok so here goes. As anyone staying here in the past few months will be able to tell you the Dumbuck is undergoing a major renovation and this looks set to continue for a while longer still. However what you have to consider is the fact that when the new owners took it over it was a bit worse for wear to say the least. gradually as people check out of the rooms they are being stripped and redecorated and having looked in on a few as i walked back to our room they are looking really lovely. The work tends to start at around 8 isn and ends about 6 isn which if like us you want to make the most of the area won't bother you as you won't be in the hotel. The only thing is avoid room 115 or it maybe 15 now as they are renumbering them as above on the second floor is the boiler and pipes and from about 10pm it really is necessary to wear earplugs for a good nights sleep, although i think they are going to sort this during the renovation.they are clearly spending a lot of money on the hotel and i genuinely think it will be worth a revisit when its done. The reception area gives a welcoming feeling and the reception staff are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble.They kindly told us of some places to drive to and even printed out routes to them so we could find our way. to the left you have the coothie which personally i think is a waste of space but you can make your own mind up about that and to the right is the bar and restaurant. The bar staff are excellent and having spent most evenings in there working they really work hard to make sure everyone is happy and tended to. The restaurant is fabulous, the food is cooked to order so you know its fresh and hasn't been sat under a heater for ages. As you then make your way up the stairs to the first floor (second floor currently closed but i think this will be opened up during the renovation) the carpet is thick and soft to touch on the feet. The hall you walk down to your room has a real olde worlde feel as the door and window frames aren't quite straight demonstrating the age of the property. The room was adequate size it contained a double bed bed side tables and open wardrobes on either side so plenty of hanging space even for some one like me who packs everything. There was a large mirror on the wall and a tv on the wall facing the bed however it was just a tad to high as if you were lying in bed watching it you lost the picture quality as you do with a flat screen. There was a bathroom attached with a toilet, shower and basin which was plenty big enough and although in need of decorating was very clean. what would have been lovely is dressing table and mirror so make up and hair could have been done without having to stand in the bathroom. oh and i counted 8 plug sockets in our room which was fantastic as usually you're lucky if you get a spare one after the kettles plugged in. i genuinely think this hotel is beautiful but after the renovation will be stunning. hopefully the staff will stay with it as they definitely make the place and i will definitely be back again as this hotel will be my first choice renovations going on or not.

Room Tip: don't ask for 115 or 15 (renumbered minus the 1) make sure you state that when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacqss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbuck H, General Manager at The Dumbuck House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We would like to say that all the reviews for the Hotel have been read and all the good and negative points have been noted , where needed we have started to address any previous problems.

We took over the Hotel three months ago and are now in the middle of a large scale renovation to bring this beautiful 18th century House back to the standard it deserves to be at.
It is a very exciting time for the Dumbuck House Hotel and we look forward to the challenge of fixing and caring for not only this building but also our future guests.

Find out more about us by liking us on facebook where we will keep you up to date with our plans and renovations as they happen.

Management Team
The Dumbuck House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Had a really lovely stay and would definitely return. The receptionist at check in was really helpful and informative. The room was newly decorated and very comfortable. It's also a great location to take in the local sites and only a quick drive to Loch Lomond.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sitdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballyclare
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Firstly when we arrived we were booked into a twin room not a luxury room that we paid for. The receptionist went out if her way to help us get sorted. We got upgraded to a junior suite. The room was lovely but the windows were rotted, big holes in the windows. The bathroom was very big & looked well til you looked closely the shower had dirt on the inside of the hook if the shower. It advertised free WiFi. We went down the first night & the guy on the reception said the WiFi isn't working. We then found out the following morning that we were told the new owners hasn't sorted WiFi out yet. The hotel has got a lot of potential but needs a lot of work, in fairness the staff were very helpful but don't think we will be back until the work is completed

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanlouBallyclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Dumbuck the Hotel is undergoing a refurbishment and it needs it. But I was pleasantly surprized at the service we received from the catering team Ryan was excellent , he anticipated our needs and went out of his way to see that we were happy, I will go as far as saying that I have been all over the world on cruises and Ryan was the best I have ever seen, I hope he goes on to a brilliant future, The food in the Hotel and the little cafe on site was also worth a mention so thank you to the Chef and all of the catering team for making my stay most enjoyable. I will be back again.
Teresa from Guildford

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Teresa132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hadn't stayed here before, but knew the area and this hotel had a great reputation once. I stayed one night to attend a wedding and for the price I couldn't really fault the place. I see some commentators picking holes in the decor, food, etc and clearly these people have day jobs as Hotel Inspectors with clip board and stop watch in hand. Myself, I live in hotels all the time, and standards can vary. For a double room en-suite £45 should not lead you to imagine you're in Paris at the Ritz, nor should you hope to sink up to your knees in plush pile carpets, although the much maligned black and grey newly fitted carpet was of good quality, much better than that fitted to some budget chains I could mention. A pot of tea will be served instantly unless the last order was for a coffee as the procedure involving steam, several jugs and lots of noise slows the service down a bit. The food at breakfast was fine with a round up of most favourites in the Full Scottish. Staff were doing their best and everyone was smiling and polite. What's not to like?

Room Tip: Front facing was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siarachHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumbarton
0.4 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Dumbarton
Travelodge Dumbarton
#2 of 4 in Dumbarton
201 reviews
20.1 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
19.8 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,127 reviews
12.2 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dumbuck House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dumbuck House Hotel

Property: The Dumbuck House Hotel
Address: Glasgow Road | West Dunbartonshire, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 1EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Dumbarton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dumbuck House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just six miles from the shores of Loch Lomond and 20 minutes from the heart of Glasgow, The Dumbuck House Hotel is ideally located to suit guests looking to sample the best aspects of Scotland's most popular attractions. Steeped in history but with a contemporary touch, The Dumbuck boasts 19 en-suite bedrooms, a restaurant and bar, a large 200-seat capacity function hall and a smaller function hall and new outside patio area. At our family-run 18th century house hotel, the emphasis is always to make our guests feel welcome, comfortable and cared for. Our restaurant serves fresh, homemade food at family-friendly prices and we've pulled on the bountiful Scottish larder to showcase some of the amazing ingredients on our doorstep. We look forward to welcoming you to The Dumbuck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dumbuck House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumbuck Hotel Dumbarton
The Dumbuck House Hotel Dumbarton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing