We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dumbuck House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Dumbarton(Dumbarton)(Great Value!)
US$64
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$268
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$122
US$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Park Hotel(Clydebank)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
159
103
63
52
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
103
63
52
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand hallmy partnerdance floorwedding receptionreception areafrom start to finishthe general managerfunction roomwedding venuefull scottish breakfastfriday eveningloch lomondbirthday partykeep up the good worktea coffeean overnight staya lovely stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here Fri and Sat. Both nights there was a disco and loud music until early morning. If owners want to run a pub they should not run a hotel where people go to sleep. Very dissapointed. Breakfast was no better, we turnef up 30 min after they started serving and there was 1 croissant left. We asked and found out that they are out and all that was left was cornflakes. Also the window frames are painted over so if you like fresh air in your room you won't be happy. They made me pay upfront and I wish they didn't as I don't feel like paying full price for this disgusting place.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The staff here were very helpful and were at pains to point out that although the renovations are going on the builders don't start until after 9.30 and finish at 5.30pm so as not to disturb the guests and we found that this was the case. Our meal was excellent while the service excellent. Our bedroom was clean. The bed comfortable but the bathroom will be improved upon after the renovations I am sure.

Room Tip: We usually go to an information centre but in this case we drove along and took pot luck but don't leave it too late in the day.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

As previously reviewed this hotel is in the middle of a complete renovation. We experienced no noise factor whatsoever and all in all we wondered if the renovation was still proceeding.

Our room (nr 4) had been freshly decorated and was fine.The bathroom seemed to have been forgotten and was not up to scratch at all.

The food in the restaurant, service at the attractive bar, were both excellent. The homemade shortcake (Chef - Euan) was just fantastic. Both Alasdair and Jennifer (Bar / Restaurant) deserve a mention. Both were very friendly indeed and a credit to the hotel. Alasdair has a really good understanding of wine and drinks in general. Both were very guest orientated and the service was very good.

This hotel will be very good indeed. Currently some understanding needs to be brought with the visiting guests as not all is ready. Great location.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank andrewsjohn863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel is undergoing a massive renovation so many of the negative points should be eliminated soon. The hotel has an excellent location. Loch Lomond, The Trossachs etc are within easy reach by car. The nearest station is within walking distance making Helensburgh and Glasgow easy trips for nights out. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. The bar offers good selection of food. Breakfast is served in the Cloothi which appears to be run separate from the hotel. This nevertheless offers an excellent full Scottish breakfast. The room was spacious with decent view and had very recently been redecorated. Unfortunately it had probably been made available before it was ready. There was no mirror in the room, a bit of a problem for the females. There was no remote control for the tv, there was little pressure from the shower, the waste pipe in hand basin blocked and flooded the floor below, the bathroom door wouldn't close, the window wouldn't open and the general workmanship seemed poor. All this wouldn't put us off as the pluses outweigh the minuses in this hotel. Would definitely return , hopefully when renovation complete.

Room Tip: Preferably one with renovation complete
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed en-route to the sound of Mull. The room was clean and tidy and the refurbishment was underway through the hotel. There was a wedding on during our stay but the noise from the celebration was not obtrusive. The staff were all very welcoming, a great place to stay whilst on the way further north.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mothley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews