We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - if you don't want a proper sleep!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Dumbarton
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Certificate of Excellence
spalding
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK - if you don't want a proper sleep!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Firstly the staff cannot be faulted. All staff we spoke with were extremely friendly and helpful, and nothing seemed too much trouble for them.
But the hotel - Oh Dear!
We stayed for 2 nights hoping for a relaxing stay and a bit of a lie in. How wrong could we have been. Our sleep was interrupted both mornings at 5.30 ish by some inconsiderate resident walking (or rather stomping) backwards and forwards in the room above our head. This continuing for at least an hour and a half. Just how much walking in a room can one person do!!!
Then there is the incessant banging of the doors as other equally inconsiderate residents left their rooms.
The hotel obviously is used by workmen who rise early and have no consideration for others along with tourists who want to get up and about early and appear to think everyone else should also do the same. It rather makes a mockery of the "Sshh do not disturb" door hangers provided by the hotel.
There is mention elsewhere about the lack of noise from the rail line directly behind the hotel. All I can say is that some people sleep a lot more soundly than others. I certainly did hear it and I found it intrusive. The hotel has done its best by installing two set of double glazing but it doesn't get rid of the sound entirely. Just be aware of this if you stay.
It's simple folks - if you want an early start or wake-up call then stay here. If you want a rest and a bit of a lie in stay someplace else.

So the room - Yes the hotel has spent a lot of money on refurbishment of the rooms but clearly did not have any form of reliable quality control on this.
The bed and linens were the only things really good about the room.
In the shower (hah!) it was only possible to have a shower if you straddled the bath taps and stood under the dribble emanating from the shower head. There was no pressure whatsoever. That is totally unacceptable in todays hotels, and more so in Scotland which has masses of water available at good pressures - I know I used to live about 2 miles from this hotel.
Now the sink - whoever thought of the stupid arrangement for the plug. It is not a lift out type plug or the continental style of operating via a remote stalk. It is the semi rotating type which is fixed into the sink bottom and you have to push round with your fingers. Looks good BUT - am I the only one that washes my face and hands and then likes to keep them that way. This sink arrangement means that after washing face and hands and making the water dirty you then have to put your nice clean 'pinkies' back into the dirty water, scrabble around at the bottom of the sink and rotate the plug to drain the water. So your hands are dirty again!!!!
So the bathroom itself - Travelodge, your workers need to offer you a rebate. On the surface it all looks clean and modern. Now take a closer look at the finish - especially the floors. The 'lino' covering must have been laid by apprentices, it's not finished properly and is coming away at the edges. How long before moisture gets underneath and lifts it.


I did mention about our disturbed sleep to reception on check-out. Yet again the staff were understanding and polite but realistically what could they do - nothing. I was offered a discount voucher for another stay elsewhere - but this has not materialised. Not that I would use it anyway now.
So in summary, this place should only be considered a cheap stopover for a short nights kip. Other than that if you want total rest, peace and quality of sleep try the Premier Inn a short distance away.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, with no alternative, ask for an upstairs room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chengSpalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    73
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
73
66
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is within 10 metres of an in use railway line with trains running every 15 minutes or so up to mid-night. It is difficult to find as it is tucked in behind a Starbucks and a pertrol station

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank ericr826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for one night when going to the Commonwealth Games. It was clean and comfy and the sheets were yummy! However at £125 for a family room for 1 night, that is the most I have every paid for a Travelodge!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed during the commonwealth games - A very good Travel Lodge , clean and well presented after a refit. The best thing by far though are the the staff who are absolutely wonderful and incredibly helpful - thank you !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peakrunning P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton Lanca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during the first week of the Commonwealth Games. It was convenient for the Dumbarton East railway station which had park and ride so, as public transport was free with your tickets, travel to and from venues was easy. The ladies on reception were very helpful and gave excellent information. Hotel is on a busy main road but you don't hear any noise. There is a Starbucks right outside the door and a petrol station with M&S attached. Overall a very pleasant stay which suited our purpose.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel has had excellent reviews on Tripadvisor so was slightly underwhelmed.First of all we found it very hard to find - the sign was easily missed.The hotel was clean and comfortable with lovely hot water though there was a tiny blood stain on 1 sheet which we notified the establishment about.There is no onsite restaurant but we purchased the"breakfast in a box" and they were very good and value for money.There is a Starbucks adjacent and Traveiodge provided the room with a 2 for 1 coffee offer to use there. overall we would visit again.

Room Tip: This hotel chain allows more than 2 people 16 or over to share a room so is good if travelling with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Like everyone, stayed here on my way elsewhere. It's a Travelodge, but the beds are updated and comfy, it's clean and tidy and the lady at reception was very helpful. There is a Costa 10 yards away and a pub with food across what is undeniably a very busy dual carriageway. I had a ground floor rear facing room which did back onto the railway line, but I slept with the double glazed double windows open and didn't really notice the trains, which didn't travel overnight anyway. I would be quite happy to use it again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodywallet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumbarton
0.9 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
190 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dumbuck House Hotel
The Dumbuck House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Dumbarton
379 reviews
4.2 mi away
Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
4.3 mi away
West Park Hotel
West Park Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clydebank
103 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dumbarton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dumbarton

Property: Travelodge Dumbarton
Address: A82 Stirling Road, Milton, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 2TZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Dumbarton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Dumbarton 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Dumbarton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dumbarton Hotel Dumbarton
Travel Lodge Dumbarton
Dumbarton Travel Lodge
Dumbarton Travelodge
Travelodge Dumbarton Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing