We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Positano Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumbarton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Positano Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Dumbarton B&B and Inns
Bjerringbro, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We had a lovely stay at Positano B&B. The atmosphere in the breakfast room in the morning was cosy and warm. Carmen and Achille treated us very kindly. The room was not the best of rooms we have ever had, but the nice atmosphere made up for that.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    11
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
19
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drammen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights in July with husband and children (aged 11) and will deeply recommend it! The owners are wonderful and friendly people who make you feel very welcome, the place is tidy, clean and very delicately decorated. It is located near a busy road but even with windows open we all slept like babies.

It is a good place to use as base for visits to Glasgow, Stirling, the areas around Loch Lomond, the southern part of The Highlands, some islands - even to Edinburgh. Trains leave frequently from Dumbarton East which is only a 5 minutes walk away. Within easy reach is also Dumbarton Castle, which is probably one of the most interesting old castles in Scotland.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CecilieL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We really enjoyed our 4 night stay at this family run B&B. We had a lovely, clean room with a very large bathroom and the friendliness of the family members who prepared our breakfast (Mother and Uncle of the owner) certainly made breakfast time a very tasty and amicable experience. The layout of the dining area also allowed us to meet and talk with a good number of fellow travellers. The location of the B&B allowed us both easy access into Glasgow (via an excellent and very reasonably priced train service) and to Loch Lomond and beyond.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kandi_conwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Concetta welcomed us on our arrival, with Carmen & Achiles suppling the great Scottish breakfasts and morning conversations.
We stayed several nights at the begining and end of our holidays and in 2 different rooms of which were equally very clean and comfortable.
This B&B has good parking at the rear and is central to most locations with buses and trains nearby if required.
Dumbarton Castle and the Maritime Museum are close by and worth visiting.
Would definitely stay again even if it was only for the morning chat and advice from Carmen and Archiles.
A lovely family to stay with.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

This accommodation was booked after reading good reviews on TA and we were not disappointed. Easy to find, just off the main road, good parking, and very quiet. The room was extremely clean, smelt lovely when you walked in, and had everything needed for a comfortable stay, including toiletries and tea and coffee. The kitchen area is available to use so we were able to sit at a table to eat ready made salads purchased from the nearby supermarket.
Breakfast was very good, and plentiful, and our hosts were friendly and made sure we had everything we required. We would definitely book with them again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Felt like coming home. Chats at breakfast were lovely.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K0bus_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

I travelled to Dumbarton in September last year with my elderly mother and my young niece; we booked at Positano B&B purely by chance, as they we located near our Scottish family. How lucky we were to have found it! Our rooms we beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean, and the reception we received was friendly but not intrusive. The breakfast was lovely and we really felt totally at a 'home from home'.

We had to return to Dumbarton again in February this year to attend a funeral and didnt hesitate to book at Positano again. Carmen and her family made us very welcome, happily accommodated our early arrival (to fit in with the funeral times), and were generally very kind. I couldn't recommend this B&B highly enough.

Room Tip: The house was very quiet which suited us very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumbarton
0.7 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
187 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Dumbarton
Travelodge Dumbarton
#2 of 4 in Dumbarton
203 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Dumbuck House Hotel
The Dumbuck House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Dumbarton
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
5.7 mi away
Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel
3.5 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Positano Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Positano Bed & Breakfast

Property: Positano Bed & Breakfast
Address: 79 Glasgow Road, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 1RE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Dumbarton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dumbarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Positano Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positano is a spacious, modern house that has been recently refurbished throughout to an exceptionally high standard. An ideal base for touring this area of Scotland: minutes drive from Loch Lomond and only 15 minutes from Glasgow Airport (60 minutes from Prestwick & 70 minutes from Edinburgh airports). Dumbarton Castle (oldest recorded stronghold in GB) is a 5 minute walk away. Ayrshire, Stirling, Luss, Helensburgh, the Trossachs, Inveraray, Aberfoyle, Dunoon and Glasgow are all ideal for day trips. Scottish Tourist Board approved, family run B&B. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Positano Bed & Breakfast Dumbarton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing