We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely big room”

Positano Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumbarton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Positano Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Dumbarton B&B and Inns
Ilford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely big room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Friendly & helpful landlady whose equally nice Mum cooked me a a good breakfast. Good recommendation for dining out, well appointed large room & en suite.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil1947Ilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    11
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
19
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Booking directly with the hotel via email proved easy and quick. The directions given to find the Positano were excellent and we found it easily. The room we were given was lovely; spotlessly clean with homely touches without being fussy. The large shower room had the best towels I have ever seen. (and I've stayed in several 5 star hotels). Our welcome was warm and friendly and a Scottish breakfast was freshly cooked each morning in the open plan breakfast kitchen, which we were free to use at other times of day. An unexpected and useful bonus after long days out exploring Loch Lomond which was an short drive away or a trip into Glasgow which we did by train one day as the Positano is convenient for the train as well as the main road to Glasgow. Only a few minutes walk from Dunbarton Castle and The Dunbarton Heritage Trail we were surprised how quiet our room was. Very helpful and knowledgeable about events/tourist attractions in the area. We definitely plan to return in the future.

Room Tip: Contact Concetta and give her full details about your party, she will advise on the best room availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aitchkay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

This is a lovely B&B well situated for travel to all parts of western Scotland. The room was spotlessly clean. The owners were so friendly and helpful and the breakfast was fantastic ("full Scottish" is to be recommended!) - kept us "going" all day! We found the information about the local area very helpful (provided in our room) but the informal "chats" at breakfast were really useful regarding the local area. I hope to be back and have no hesitation in recommending this accomadation. Thank you Positano!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjerringbro, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We had a lovely stay at Positano B&B. The atmosphere in the breakfast room in the morning was cosy and warm. Carmen and Achille treated us very kindly. The room was not the best of rooms we have ever had, but the nice atmosphere made up for that.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights in July with husband and children (aged 11) and will deeply recommend it! The owners are wonderful and friendly people who make you feel very welcome, the place is tidy, clean and very delicately decorated. It is located near a busy road but even with windows open we all slept like babies.

It is a good place to use as base for visits to Glasgow, Stirling, the areas around Loch Lomond, the southern part of The Highlands, some islands - even to Edinburgh. Trains leave frequently from Dumbarton East which is only a 5 minutes walk away. Within easy reach is also Dumbarton Castle, which is probably one of the most interesting old castles in Scotland.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CecilieL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

We really enjoyed our 4 night stay at this family run B&B. We had a lovely, clean room with a very large bathroom and the friendliness of the family members who prepared our breakfast (Mother and Uncle of the owner) certainly made breakfast time a very tasty and amicable experience. The layout of the dining area also allowed us to meet and talk with a good number of fellow travellers. The location of the B&B allowed us both easy access into Glasgow (via an excellent and very reasonably priced train service) and to Loch Lomond and beyond.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kandi_conwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Concetta welcomed us on our arrival, with Carmen & Achiles suppling the great Scottish breakfasts and morning conversations.
We stayed several nights at the begining and end of our holidays and in 2 different rooms of which were equally very clean and comfortable.
This B&B has good parking at the rear and is central to most locations with buses and trains nearby if required.
Dumbarton Castle and the Maritime Museum are close by and worth visiting.
Would definitely stay again even if it was only for the morning chat and advice from Carmen and Archiles.
A lovely family to stay with.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumbarton
0.7 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Dumbuck House Hotel
The Dumbuck House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Dumbarton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
5.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
8.1 mi away
Tontine Hotel
Tontine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Greenock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Positano Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Positano Bed & Breakfast

Property: Positano Bed & Breakfast
Address: 79 Glasgow Road, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 1RE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Dumbarton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dumbarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Positano Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positano is a spacious, modern house that has been recently refurbished throughout to an exceptionally high standard. An ideal base for touring this area of Scotland: minutes drive from Loch Lomond and only 15 minutes from Glasgow Airport (60 minutes from Prestwick & 70 minutes from Edinburgh airports). Dumbarton Castle (oldest recorded stronghold in GB) is a 5 minute walk away. Ayrshire, Stirling, Luss, Helensburgh, the Trossachs, Inveraray, Aberfoyle, Dunoon and Glasgow are all ideal for day trips. Scottish Tourist Board approved, family run B&B. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Positano Bed & Breakfast Dumbarton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing