We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won`t accept arrival after 18.30 on a Friday evening?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Positano Bed & Breakfast

Positano Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumbarton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Positano Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Dumbarton B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Won`t accept arrival after 18.30 on a Friday evening?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Polite lady turned down my request to arrive at 19.30 on a Friday. Kindly offered me an alternative in Dumbarton. I accept this is B and B, not a hotel; but this is Britain, 2013! Quite a few of the population still work...
I guess with it being peak season, and having such a successful business; Positano can afford to pick and choose: why put yourself out? Oh, that's right; because of the ratings on Tripadvisor!
Good luck with the 1 in 3 of us that still work, pay taxes, and fund the area that you promote so well on your website. Rubbish service.

Room Tip: If you work, have Friday off to check in before 18.30.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PositanoScotland, Owner at Positano Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Just to clear up a few minor details: our latest arrival time is 19:00 - not 18:30. We say 19:00(ish) as a guide, it's not set in stone and we appreciate that things can happen. What we cannot do however, is check guests in *indefinitely* after that hour in high season.

When we asked when you would be checking in, you were not sure. You actually said 20:00 and that it may be earlier - but then it could also have been later. If a later check in is needed, we do not want guests feeling pressure to arrive by a certain time or changing their plans due to this - we appreciate that this is OUR problem, not theirs.

You have never been to our B&B: your negative comments are due to our latest arrival times not being suitable for you. This information is very clear in our T&Cs on our website (which you appear to have read?) and is also mentioned very quickly before any booking is taken.

To reiterate what we have said before on TA: we are a family run business with NO staff. We have 7 bedrooms (note that most B&Bs only have 2 or 3 rooms at the most). In high season we are working 7 days a week from very early in the mornings. It is not physically possible for us to run a 24/7 reception - which is pretty much what you are saying we should be doing. There is a difference between a hotel with staff working around the clock and a B&B without staff in peak season.

Our check in hours of 12:30-19:00 are the hours that the majority of our guests want to check in at. That is another reason why we don't feel this is really a "problem": it does of course come up, but not often enough to make it an issue: and when it does, it is very rare that we have a reaction like you have had. It is accepted that we are a B&B and do not have a 24/7 reception. We actually get positive comments regularly by guests who require an EARLIER check-in, who say that most accommodation will not check them in as early as our earliest check-in hours. I guess those B&Bs who are unable to offer an "earlier" check-in due to their (understandable) circumstances are also at risk of this very same reaction!

If being unable to do a "late" check in is the only criticism that we seem to receive every now and again, then we'll take it. Though we are very sad that you feel this warrants such negative comments and assumptions. We hope this is indeed the worst experience you ever have with a Guest House!

Having said that, we are sorry to have disappointed you. As we only spoke for a matter of minutes, perhaps it seemed that our service was lacking - and if this is the case then we apologise, it was completely unintentional. If we are unable to do a later check in, we always try to recommend other accommodation in the area if we feel it would be welcome, to help out as best we can. We clearly somewhere in all of this have inadvertently caused offense.

We love doing the B&B and we love welcoming our guests from all over the world. We do our very best, with customer service being one of our highest priorities always. We wish we were capable of having a reception open until late, but our circumstances do not usually allow this in peak season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    11
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
19
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spicer, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed for two nights and had the two bedrooms on the top floor with a connecting bathroom. This set up was fantastic for our family of four. The rooms very quaint and cozy. We arrived early in the morning and were welcomed with open arms. After traveling for many hours we felt like we were home even though check in wasn't suppose to be till afternoon they accommodated us. We then had the pleasure of getting to know Carmen and Achilles who made us a wonderful Scottish breakfast each morning and inquired on how our day was and if we needed anything. Those two are the most caring people I have met. I could of spent the day with them as they were so fun to get to know. Thank you !!!! Don't miss This place it is truly an amazing find.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PositanoScotland, Owner at Positano Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your lovely family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed one night at Positano B&B in Dumbarton. We were very happy with the size of the rooms, cleanliness of the hotels and the hospitality. Conchetta's mother and uncle fixed us a heartly Scottish breakfast and also shared stories of how they came from Italy to Scotland. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rhondatrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PositanoScotland, Owner at Positano Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
It was so nice to meet you all. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst up to visit family and I can honestly say we couldn't have been happier with our time there.

We stumbled accross this B&B as the Premier Inn we usually use had no spaces. I am so glad they were fully booked as we have now found a place we will use time and time again.

The room was spotless, big and cosy and even more welcoming considering it was below freezing outside. It has off road parking which is great.

I has all the normal bits 'n bobs such as tea making facilities, hair dryer etc.

This is a real gem of a place and I couldn't recommend it enough. It is a home from home and you feel at ease with the friendly staff, the great rooms and superb breakfast.

A great family run B&B that is spot on.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PositanoScotland, Owner at Positano Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. It was lovely to meet you both, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

My friends and I recently stayed in Positano Bed and Breakfast. We were attending a wedding in Cameron House. We were very happy we decided to make Positano our base for the weekend. Our rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The breakfast was really good and we got invaluable local knowledge from Carmen and Achille while we were enjoying our breakfast. They could not have been more helpful. Our flight was delayed by two hours and we had to check in later than planned. There was no problem with this. Thank you all for a lovely stay and for your kindness. We hope to return some day!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise76_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PositanoScotland, Owner at Positano Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

were inflexible with check in times and i was worried we would be late i wasnt sure what time we would arrive however we were told that we really needed to be there before 6pm,, however once i got there the rooms were clean adn modern and we had 2 rooms downstairs which suited us very well, the breakfast and the people we friendly, well situated and reasonable priced

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanhda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PositanoScotland, Owner at Positano Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback, it's very appreciated. We're very happy to hear that you had a good stay and it was really nice to meet you and your family. We hope to see you again one day - you are always very welcome.


We are sorry about our arrival time policies not completely suiting you. I think I can remember that you had initially wanted to check in some time after 9pm, but weren't sure when. Our latest check in time on day of arrival is usually 7pm-ish (not 6). We wanted to comment on this (not specifically related to you, but generally), as it has come up a few times now. We also wanted to point out that the issue here is check-in times, because after you have checked in, we have absolutely no restrictions or curfews - you are of course welcome to come and go as you please (including coming back as late as you want to.)

I think that we are very flexible if you consider that we are able to check guests in any time between 12.30pm and 7pm-ish on day of arrival (we do ask for a more approximate time between those hours of course - so that we are able to organise our day and run some errands - and all that we ask is for a wee call if those agreed hours were to change...) We also understand that delays can happen... Many B&Bs have far stricter policies than that!

We have always appreciated that we are *usually* not suitable for late check-in's (please ask though - we can sometimes make exceptions during quieter periods), but we always mention this before any booking is taken to make sure those small restrictions are going to be OK for you. Being a B&B and not having any staff, working 7 days a week from early in the mornings, we do need to put some limitations on how late we can check guests in. It would be great to have the abilitiy to have a 24/7 reception as a hotel does, but as we do everything ourselves, it is unfortunately not possible and not something we can really change unless we turn INTO a hotel. Also note that our check-in hours are the hours that the majority of our guests want to check in at - so usually there are no problems. If we are not able to accommodate a late check-in we are more than happy to suggest other accommodation in the area.

We do also appreciate that if you are more used to going to hotels or larger guest houses with 24/7 receptions (though I'm sure they have restrictions too!), then arrival time policies at Bed & Breakfasts are going to seem a bit odd. Until we started the B&B, we probably would have thought so too. We hope that most of our guests understand our reasons for these small restrictions, which are very typical of B&Bs - we are not in the minority!

Thank you again, and for giving us the opportunity to comment on the above.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I was a bit worried after booking by phone as the person I spoke to seemed very inflexible about arrival times (I was arriving by public transport on a Sunday!) But once at the Positano I was very happy - the room was large and airy and although on a ground floor there was little outside noise. The breakfast room was open throughout the day - which I made use of (only for pot noodle!) And the central location between the two rail stations was a great bonus. The staff were friendly and welcoming and I wish I could have stayed longer

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumbarton
0.6 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Dumbuck House Hotel
The Dumbuck House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Dumbarton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Tontine Hotel
Tontine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Greenock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
5.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Positano Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Positano Bed & Breakfast

Property: Positano Bed & Breakfast
Address: 79 Glasgow Road, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 1RE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Dumbarton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dumbarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Positano Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positano is a spacious, modern house that has been recently refurbished throughout to an exceptionally high standard. An ideal base for touring this area of Scotland: minutes drive from Loch Lomond and only 15 minutes from Glasgow Airport (60 minutes from Prestwick & 70 minutes from Edinburgh airports). Dumbarton Castle (oldest recorded stronghold in GB) is a 5 minute walk away. Ayrshire, Stirling, Luss, Helensburgh, the Trossachs, Inveraray, Aberfoyle, Dunoon and Glasgow are all ideal for day trips. Scottish Tourist Board approved, family run B&B. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Positano Bed & Breakfast Dumbarton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing