We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible meal”
Review of West Port Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Port Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Linlithgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We visited for an evening meal to be served by dis-interested staff, frozen food and overpriced wines-we did visit when it re-opened after refurbishment and could not fault-but how quickly they have reverted back to their old ways negligent staff and terrible food-which is exactly as it used to be? Bad management again!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPortLinlithgow, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback following your visit to The West Port.
As the manager I take all feedback to what goes on in my restaurant very seriously. I do wish however you had come to us directly with your concerns and give us the opportunity to listen to these directly and try to deal with your issues.
If you have a genuine concern then I'd invite you to contact me directly at westporthotel@maclay.co.uk giving more specific details as to the problems you had as well as when you visited so I can investigate this fully for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stopped by for a coffee and sandwich during a busy lunchtime. This was the first time my husband and I had visited the hotel since its recent refurbishment and we were very pleasantly surprised. The whole interior has been opened up with clean lines, attractive furnishings, excellent use of colour and a good mix of different seating. The front of house staff were excellent, providing a ready welcome even though the restaurant and bar were full. We were very, very impressed by the table staff who could not have been more helpful and seemed to have a smile for everyone despite the fact that it was such a busy environment.
Our sandwiches arrived on attactive wooden boards, with fresh granary bread (not from a packet) and salad on the side. The coffee was excellent. We could, for once, actually have a conversation in a crowded place and hear each other speak!! All of this made for a great stop-over and snack. We congratulate the hotel management and staff. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenny_orme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPortLinlithgow, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you very much for your glowing report following your recent visit to The West Port.
Time and time again I hear reports of how helpful the team are and I never tire of hearing it. The team work incredibly hard, aiming to improve the service every day.
I'm sure we will be seeing you again soon and hope we can impress you as much on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over Christmas while visiting family in Linlithgow. I had heard that it had recently undergone refurbishment so was expecting good things. Unfortunately the refurbishment seems to have stopped at the downstairs pub as our room was pretty shabby and very tight. The bed was too big for the room, bathroom didn't leave much to the imagination and the windows were very drafty. For the price I suppose it was passable but not sure I'd stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPortLinlithgow, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thanks for your review following your recent stay. It's true we have undergone a major refurbishment in the restaurant in the past few months and at the same time we redecorated the rooms as well as replacing the furniture.
I'm sorry to hear you feel the rooms were small and the windows draughty. As a listed building we were restricted as to what we could do to the bedrooms regarding layout and the sash and case windows are a listed feature too. Many people comment on what an attractive feature they are but of course, they do not have the thermal properties of modern windows, hence the reason the radiators are independently controlled in each room.
I'm sorry if this was not what you expected but hope you choose to return again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Nicely refurbishment, tidy and clean with friendly helpful staff but meal was average at best and over priced - disappointed as had heard previous good reviews. Parking is a bit tricky as limited spaces.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relaxing45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPortLinlithgow, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thanks for your review following your recent visit. I'm concerned to hear you thought our food was over priced. Without knowing what you had it is difficult to comment but we regularly receive great feedback as to our value and with a 2 course lunch menu from only £8.95 we feel we are doing well for fresh food.
It's great you thought the service was good, we are very proud of our team and they always do all they can for our guests.
Regarding the car parking, it's true, Linlithgow can sometimes be a difficult place to get parked but with 2 public car-parks next to us you usually don't have to wait long for a space to become free.
hopefully we'll see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I have stopped at this hotel before but on my last visit the hotel had a revamp and it's really well done the rooms are excellent and the bar and restaurant enjoyed my salmon and scramble eggs breakfast

Room Tip: My room was very nice it's local to the palace among other things plus some good pubs and restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPortLinlithgow, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to The West Port. I'm very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, liked our re-fit and loved your scrambled eggs/ Here's hoping we'll see you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Although the circumstances of our visit to Linlithgow were unfortunate, a family funeral, our short stay at West Port was excellent. Our rooms were very clean, modern and comfortable - Room 7 was particularly nice. We heard no noise from the bar and restaurant and enjoyed a very good sleep.

Without exception, the staff and levels of service were excellent. All incredibly helpful and pleasant.

Breakfast was excellent, as was dinner in the restaurant.

I would definitely stay here again. Great value for money in the centre of Linlithgow.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPortLinlithgow, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thanks so much for your review John, glad you found the room comfortable and enjoyed the food whilst you stayed and really pleased to hear about the service that you experienced as we have put a lot of time into our staff training programme. Hope we see you back again in the future but under better circumstances next time, thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at the West Port overnight on our way to Edinburgh zoo. Four adults and a baby. The customer service was excellent. All the staff were genuinely helpful and thoughtful. The restaurant was lovely and very comfortable, serving tasty food. The rooms were also very comfortable. We all thoroughly enjoyed staying at the West Port and highly recommend a stay here and the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPortLinlithgow, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Many thanks for your review following your recent stay at The west Port. Our team work very hard to provide great service and it's great to hear this from our guests. We really hope you'll pop by again next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linlithgow
2.3 mi away
Champany Inn
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
186 reviews
5.0 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
4.1 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Mercure Livingston
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
551 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,974 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Port Hotel

Address: 18-20 West Port, Linlithgow EH49 7AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Linlithgow
Price Range: £54 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Port Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOW OPEN after a major refurbishment...We are delighted with our transformation and are confident you will be too! Our new extended restaurant has a country inn feel and vibrant contemporary touches. With a fresh new menu, relaxed atmosphere and excellent service, the West Port is one of the best places to eat in Linlithgow.Perfectly situated just a 5 minute drive from the M9 and a 10 minuted walk from Linlithgow Train Station the West Port is a great place to be based to explore both historical Linlithgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your West Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Port Hotel Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing