We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved This Place. Sheep Bleating in The Field A Wonderful Bonus.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belsyde Country House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 11 Linlithgow B&B and Inns
High River, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved This Place. Sheep Bleating in The Field A Wonderful Bonus.”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This was our first bed and breakfast in Scotland. What a great introduction to Scotland. Our hostess, Nan made tea for us, with delicious homemade goodies. We stayed for two nights in the Hamilton Room. It was so beautiful and comfortable. Nan served us a wonderful Scottish breakfast each morning. The grounds are so beautiful. I so loved the sounds of sheep bleating. What a comforting sound. Definitely would go back the next time we are in Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurora6105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
77
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I really love Scotland, its landscapes and their hospitality. I've just visited Scotland for the fourth year in a row.
During my first trip, I slept in the Hamilton room, a great room in Victorian style. During my second trip, with my brother, I booked the same room. However, after our arrival, we were told that there had been a problem with the Hamilton room, and they offered us another spacious room instead. It hadn’t any of the charm of the Hamilton room, and wasn’t comfortable at all. Considering that it was just an unfortunate accident, we accepted the change, even when the style of the new room was totally opposite to the one we were looking for (in fact, that room is not shown in their webpage).
I’ve just spent some days in Scotland with my daughter. When I booked for a night at Belsyde, and given my previous experience, I strongly stated that I was choosing Belsyde again just because I wanted to stay at the Hamilton room. The owners made it clear to me that the Hamilton room was the one booked. However, after our arrival at Belsyde, and after waiting for half an hour for the owner to arrive at the place, the proprietor told us that we couldn’t have the Hamilton room, since it was occupied. We told her that was the room we have chosen, and that she had confirmed later on. She told that the reason for giving the room to another guests was that they were going to stay longer. She offered us again the same place to sleep, which is not displayed on their webpage, and has nothing to do with the other rooms. We finally slept at the Holiday Inn next to Glasgow Airport.
If you are looking forwards to finding the charm of the rooms showed in their webpage, please be aware that you might end up sleeping at a junk room.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Spent long weekend at Belsyde House with lovely hosts Nan &Tom their house is so nice room was an amazing size,comfortable and clean with great views over lovely garden only sound were sheep in adjacent field. Nan showed us to our room even offering to take our luggage which we declined, pointed out the workings of everything and gave us password for wifi, bed was so comfortable plenty of pillows if needed lots of hot water don't be concerned about noises from pipes( a wee bit noisy but you are in countryside) this is because water is coming from rainwater tank .
After a great sleep we faced an amazing breakfast so many choices of cereals and fresh fruit, raspberries and fruit salad were lovely,a cooked breakfast was offered with lots of choices and if you didn't choose enough Nan encouraged you to have a little more loads of coffee and when you thought you were finished Nan came back with some oatcakes and lovely fruit bread or muffins.
Unfortunately couldn't book another weekend we wanted but will return at some point in future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Recently returned to Belsyde Country House for a second stay. As before, we found everything to be absolutely top notch including the warm welcome. Our room was spacious and beautifully furnished with wonderful views. The breakfasts are superb with plenty of choice and the freshest of products. Luckily, we have relatives who live nearby so we always have a good reason to return! Highly recommended.
.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilandCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Just returned from a overnight stay at the belsyde.. Couldnt fault the place and the owners made us feel very welcome.. Room spotless and breakfast was delicious.. Timed it perfect as the sun was shining and the spring lambs were out

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie40206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

What a wonderful old house run by a wonderful couple. The place was spotless, the room was beautiful and big enough to hold a party in, the breakfast was simply stunning, it doesn't get better than this. I stayed here twice and cant wait to return, Thanks to Nan and Tom for a brilliant experience.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The warmest welcome, the most stunning old house, the cleanest and most comfortable bedroom and a breakfast fit for a king. We were only there five minutes and felt like long lost friends. Absolutely brilliant. Better than some five star hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have a stunning view of the Forth but all are quiet and beautifully furnished and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Linlithgow hotels
1.5 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arden Country House
Arden Country House
#3 of 11 in Linlithgow
162 reviews
1.9 mi away
Court Residence
Court Residence
#1 of 11 in Linlithgow
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Star & Garter Hotel
Star & Garter Hotel
#7 of 11 in Linlithgow
95 reviews
3.8 mi away
Champany Inn
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belsyde Country House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belsyde Country House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Belsyde Country House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Linlithgow EH49 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Linlithgow
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Belsyde Country House Bed & Breakfast Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing