We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay in a friendly and homely environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belsyde Country House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 11 Linlithgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous stay in a friendly and homely environment”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Super, peaceful location with easy access to Edinburgh from Linlithgow station. A pleasant retreat after the the bustle of Edinburgh festival. Eclectic, homely household with very friendly hostess and set in lovely countryside on the edge of Linlithgow.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marksimmons5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
77
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here on our cycle trip to Glasgow. It's two miles out of town but easy to reach by bike. It was really nice and peaceful after the busy roads in Linlithgow itself.

We had a lovely, large room at the back of the house, very tastefully furnished with an excellent en-suite and lovely big towels. Everything was very clean and we were made very welcome by Nan. Breakfast was absolutely excellent with some nice touches - lovely glass dishes, a choice of three types of fruit, really tasty bacon and some Scottish pancakes and oatcakes afterwards.

We really enjoyed our stay..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Altraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Wherever there is room to put a single on business Nan finds the very best luxury accommodation be it a wonderfully equipped caravan in an idyllic spot or a gorgeous flat. We must be the least exciting of guests but she gave me yet again a wonderful welcome,superb accommodation and a wonderful breakfast. Thank you Nan -I will be back again soon!! Business people take note.

Room Tip: Nan will do that for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJB102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was our third annual visit to Belsyde, and Nan's hospitality continues to be most welcoming. Her full Scottish breakfast would take some beating. Our room was very comfortable with lovely views over the surrounding countryside. Nan welcomes us as friends and will always offer help and advice to improve our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatandNigelH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed here with my mum, as we were attending a birthday party in nearby Torphichen. The guest house itself is beautiful, gorgeous spacious rooms with high ceilings, fancy furniture and an all-round old-fashioned, stately-home feel.
The view from our room was outstanding. The bathroom looked brand new and was completely spotless, and top-end toiletries were provided.
Our room had a large double bed and a single bed, which were fitted with clean, crisp, fresh white sheets and were extremely comfortable.
My only complaint is that I am not a cat lover, and I wasn't too fond of the owner's large fluffy cat constantly wandering around the building.
If you choose to stay here I would definitely recommend getting the breakfast, I've never tasted anything as good in my life! Considering it is a small guest house in a remote area, and probably not always fully booked, I was more than impressed with the selection of fresh food available for breakfast.. we had the choice of cereal, a selection of breads, fresh fruit, yoghurt, a selection of jucies or a full Scottish fry up (we had the fry-up!) with delicious bacon, eggs, lorne sausage, potato bread, soda bread, beans, tomato, mushrooms... followed by croissants with butter and jam and tea/coffee/orange juice.

Overall a really pleasant stay in a comfortable room with an outstanding breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niamh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My family and I had the great pleasure of staying at Belsyde Country House B&B. We arrived at Belsyde, driving up the lovely tree lined driveway, to the charming house, and were first greeted by a very fluffy friendly cat. Nan, our host, welcomed us into the B&B and showed us our rooms. Our rooms were absolutely lovely, my mother kept saying that the Belsyde rooms were the loveliest, the most elegant B&B rooms she had stayed in for some time. From the quilts on our beds, to the armoires, the details in the bathroom, everything was spotless and beautifully furnished. Nan also welcomed us with a lovely afternoon tea, yummy baked goods and tea. Our breakfasts were delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed everything. I would highly recommend Belsyde Country House B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We (2 adults) just stayed there in June 2013 and we had a lovely time. The Country House is absolutely charming. Very clean, and bed sheets are crisp and clean. Ms. Nan was very welcoming and the breakfast was ample and delectable. The Inn is a bit hard to find, highly recommend you have a GPS and call ahead for directions, as our GPS did not find the route.
You will love to stay there!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marieb313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linlithgow
1.5 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.8 mi away
Champany Inn
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
5.4 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk East Hotel
4.8 mi away
Leapark Hotel
Leapark Hotel
#3 of 4 in Grangemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belsyde Country House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belsyde Country House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Belsyde Country House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Linlithgow EH49 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Linlithgow
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Belsyde Country House Bed & Breakfast Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing