We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Sunday early dinner”

MasonBelles Kitchen
Ranked #17 of 55 Restaurants in Linlithgow
Price range: US$8 - US$52
Description: Tucked away through a secluded archway in the historic town of Linlithgow, Mason Belles Kitchen, a new family-run restaurant led by Chef Proprietor Linsey Scott, opens its doors early October 2018. Linsey has over 22 years' experience in the industry, leading teams in some of the most well-renowned establishments.
Restaurant details
Description: Tucked away through a secluded archway in the historic town of Linlithgow, Mason Belles Kitchen, a new family-run restaurant led by Chef Proprietor Linsey Scott, opens its doors early October 2018. Linsey has over 22 years' experience in the industry, leading teams in some of the most well-renowned establishments.
Reviewed 12 November 2018

Fairly new eatirie on the High Street. First impressions are very good - fresh decor and well appointed restaurant. Had the combi Sunday roast dinner which was excellent. Pork and beef cooked just right, chicken succulent. Just the perfect amount. Very nice Cab sav to wash it down. Very nice overall experience.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Armitaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swe3theart, Owner at MasonBelles Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Hi Armitaa

Thank you for you lovely 5 Star review myself and the team value your comments also Very happy you had a lovely experience at Mason Belles Kitchen.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Linsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2018

i am vegan and to my absolute delight, having contacted the chef proprietor before my visit, i was presented with an actual vegan menu. A choice of 10 main dishes and two desserts. At last, a chef who understands that vegans enjoy good tasty food as much as anyone else. I was so excited . Not only was this food excellent but beautifully presented and in delightful surroundings.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Journey43853823867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swe3theart, Owner at MasonBelles Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Hi Journey
We would just like to thank you very much for your lovely 5star review, we really appreciate it and myself and the team are extremely happy we could accommodate your dietary requirements.
We do strive to give the very best service we can do in the small space we have and your review means a lot to us so thank you.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018

We visited the restaurant for brunch/lunch. My daughter booked in advance, seeking a table for 1pm but was told the only availability was at 12 noon. We took that but we were the only people there till 12.50 when two other tables arrived. The place was still quiet when we left about 1.20pm. We raised this with the waitress but no explanation was offered.

The restaurant was really cold, to the extent that two of us actually put our coats back on. Again, we mentioned it to the waitress but just got a vague answer.

It took a wee while for our drinks order to be taken and we were somewhat surprised that only one bottle of sparking water was to be had. I ordered diet coke instead and literally got half a glass.

My husband and daughter had the avocado with poached eggs and chili. The last ingredient came in fairly large chunks and the eggs were over-cooked. I had the Korean chicken and that was quite nice.

Overall, we were not impressed. That said, friends have been in the evening and enjoyed the experience so we may give it another try.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SheenaghA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swe3theart, Owner at MasonBelles Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2018

Hi Sheenagh,

Thank you for your feed back and we are glad you may give us another try but also extremely disappointed you were not impressed as we work very hard to ensure all our customers leave very satisfied.
Firstly would like to clarify re the table booking since in your feedback you felt the waitress did not give you a explanation on the day- we were fully booked on your day of visiting us and as you were keeping a close eye on timings of other customers coming and going we did have a full restaurant reserved for booked customers during the time of 2pm until 9pm that evening. We do not like to turn tables and rush our customers from there tables. So I would advise prior booking to get your preferred time to dine. As 1pm would not have alllowed enough time for you to dine and the reset of your table for the 2pm diners. Reason for the recommended time of 12noon being the only time available.
The restaurant being cold we can only apologise as it’s underfloor heating it takes a bit of time to heat through so we have systems in place now to ensure this is of a acceptably temperature for our customers.
The sparkling water we again can only apologise as our supplier dropped the case on delivery that day and Coke glass bottles are all served in 200ml so we would have been happy to provide you with a second bottle at your request, in which we can do if you decide to visit us again.
We are glad you enjoyed your Korean Chicken and sorry your husband and daughters eggs were over cooked I have raised this with chef along with your comments on the chilli. I wished we had the opportunity to replenish for your husband and daughter to ensure it was to there taste in strength of chilli and softeness of the eggs.
We are happy to hear friends have been and enjoyed the experience and do hope you return one day, again we can only apologise for your points raised and hopefully this response gives the clarification that the waitress could not do on the day.
Kind regards



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

You are welcomed like one of the family when you arrive by very pleasant and attentive staff, nothing is too much bother for them and the food.... it’s amazing and reasonably priced as well. Try it you won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swe3theart, Owner at MasonBelles Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Hi Mary K

Thank you very much for your lovely 5star review, myself and the team really appreciate it and makes our hard work worth while if or customers are as happy as yourself.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Nice welcome, very nice young waitress. Food good but very poor vegetarian choice. I will check menu before returning.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Mags F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swe3theart, Owner at MasonBelles Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Dear Mags F

Firstly thank you for your lovely comments on our good food and the nice welcome you received.

However we are very sad you have given us 3 stars for our poor vegetarian choice.
We have a separate vegan and vegetarian menu available in the restaurant and have had great feedback on so disappointed you did not get to sample our delights.
We even have our vegan and organic range of wines to accompany our menu so very accommodating to all vegetarian and vegans who dine with us to ensure they have just as good a dining experience as our other diners.
We use all local and seasonal ingredients cooked to order so have a large range of ingredients we can use to suit all dietary requirements so I hope we get the opportunity of you to dine with us again and enjoy our options on offer.
If you can please let a member of staff know and we will let you see the menu available.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MasonBelles Kitchen also viewed

Falkirk, Falkirk District
Linlithgow, West Lothian
 
Linlithgow, West Lothian
Linlithgow, West Lothian
 
Linlithgow, West Lothian
Linlithgow, West Lothian
 

Been to MasonBelles Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing