We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge diasappointment”

MasonBelles Kitchen
Ranked #16 of 56 Restaurants in Linlithgow
Price range: US$8 - US$66
Description: Tucked away through a secluded archway in the historic town of Linlithgow, Mason Belles Kitchen, a new family-run restaurant led by Chef Proprietor Linsey Scott, opens its doors early October 2018. Linsey has over 22 years' experience in the industry, leading teams in some of the most well-renowned establishments.
Restaurant details
Description: Tucked away through a secluded archway in the historic town of Linlithgow, Mason Belles Kitchen, a new family-run restaurant led by Chef Proprietor Linsey Scott, opens its doors early October 2018. Linsey has over 22 years' experience in the industry, leading teams in some of the most well-renowned establishments.
Reviewed 5 January 2019

Went out for a family meal. The service was incredibly slow both for food and drinks.
Advised when booked we had a member of the group who was gluten free but the restaurant had run out of gluten free bread that should have been served with starter, then got served some onion rings in batter with main course.
The lamb for main course was too tough to eat and was served with bland lentils. Not once during the meal were we asked if our food was ok. Did complain at the end of meal when plates were cleared but didn’t get so much as an apology.
Won’t be going back any time soon.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pathfinder544231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swe3theart, Owner at MasonBelles Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2019

Hi Pathfinder544231
We are very sorry you found your visit to be a huge dissapointment and we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. If you would like to discuss further after my investigation into your dining experience at masonbelle0506@gmail.com that would be great. Again our sincerest apologies that we did bout meet your expections.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2018

First visit today. and we both had the three course festive lunch we both enjoyed it very much.washed down with Lin gin and nice wine. Every course was lovely nice staff and reasonable prices. We will be back soon

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bashScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swe3theart, Owner at MasonBelles Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2019

Hi bashscotland many thanks for your lovely review and taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed it we really do appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2018

Staff friendly, food good, but it took an age to be served and the restaurant was only half full. Suffers from the same issue livingstons had which is the kitchen isnt big enough to cope with the covers.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 150edmiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swe3theart, Owner at MasonBelles Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2018

Hi 150edmiston,

Many thanks for your review, and taking the time to give us 3 stars.
We are glad you found the staff friendly and the food good but sorry your felt your food took a while to be served. I am currently investigating into why your food took a while to be served but struggling to find your booking with your user name on trip advisor so I can look at dates, and covers on that particular day. If you would like to email me -masonbelleskitchen@gmail.com with the information so I can investigate further.
The kitchen will never change size and we have reduced the covers we produce since the previous owners, all our Food is cooked fresh to order so we can ensure quality and our bookings are managed to times to allow it all to me more manageable so would be great to discuss further.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2018

Christmas night out for 14 of us. We had the festive menu which was great value and had a good choice of dishes. Wine (copious quantities) was also very reasonably priced. No push to get us out, even though we were last to leave. Linsey is very friendly and professional, as are the rest of her staff. Linlithgow sorely needed this type of restaurant and we will undoubtedly be back.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlanDB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swe3theart, Owner at MasonBelles Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2018

Hi AlanDB2014

Many thanks for your lovely 5 Star review it means a lot to us, and being our first very busy festive season we are glad you and your party enjoyed both the food, wine and service.

We look forward to seeing you all again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2018 via mobile

Decided to go out for dinner one Wednesday and was lucky enough to get last table for two.

Had visited before so tried new dishes, this time the sesame chicken, scallops and bagel burger. All so so tasty!

Can't wait to go again!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank jenelaine85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swe3theart, Owner at MasonBelles Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2018

Hi jenelaine85

Many thanks for your 5star review it means a lot to me and the team.
We are glad you enjoyed the dishes chosen.

Myself and the team forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MasonBelles Kitchen also viewed

Linlithgow, West Lothian
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Linlithgow, West Lothian
Linlithgow, West Lothian
 
Linlithgow, West Lothian
Linlithgow, West Lothian
 

Been to MasonBelles Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing