We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lumsdaine House B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linlithgow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B & B Lumsdaine House
Ranked #5 of 11 Linlithgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lumsdaine House B&B”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Great hospitality, sustainable with food, taking care of customers and situated in a nice area. Margaret Millican is a conscious owner with honourable work with taking care of the customers and serving a healthy food. The B&B is easy to reach and in a walking distance along the Union Canal to Linlithgow. Emma & Björn Pettersson, Sweden

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
76
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The first thing one notes on arrival is the large paved driveway and parking area - such a relief. We were welcomed by our very friendly host and settled in a nice large quiet room. Lots of room in the B&B to relax. Excellent breakfast.
We particularly enjoyed a walk in the area surrounding Lumsdaine - fields nearby, and access (with a bit of a walk) to a lovely path beside a picturesque canal.
Overall, very enjoyable and highly to be recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcdickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The weather in April 2013 may have left a lot to be desired but I have just spent four extremely comfortable nights at Lumsdaine House where I was made most welcome and enjoyed fresh fruit; eggs from the chicken outside and home made Scottish pancakes for breakfast. (There were other choices but I am vegetarian.)
The location is very convenient for touring around the central belt of Scotland - with easy access to motorways (Glasgow; Edinburgh; Stirling and surrounding areas) but, because of its rural location, offers the best of both worlds with peace and quiet and beautiful views over the valley.
As an OAP travelling alone, I also appreciated the fact that, on returning in the evening, the whole area around the house was well lit!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EveM267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

It was our second stay in Lumsdaine House in september 2012 - and it was great again!!! Margaret is very nice, the rooms are so clean and quiet. We love her breakfast with fresh fruit and eggs from the hens we could see during breakfast. Thanks so much for the bacon from their own pig!!! She gave it to us as a present to have a sort of scottish breakfast at home with my mother. The bacon was good, but the breakfast at home not comparable with that, that margaret served.... ;-) !!!! We are sure that we will come back to Lumsdaine House in 2013. Arnold & Annette

Room Tip: We can recommend this B & B very much
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Central Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We arrived late in the day, The hostess was so friendly and helpful, we had to leave before breakfast to catch a flight and she packed us a huge bag of goodies to eat, Fruit, shortbread sandwiches etc. Really very thoughtful. May have been the cleanest inn I have ever been to. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DellsLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Well what can i say , arrived in the evening and in 5 minutes had a lovely cup of tea and some home made short bread
Fab breakfast , quite , dark ,and its spotless .
Stopped for business there and will use again as value for money being just 15 minutes from the airport
Have no reservations on recommending this to the honeymooners on there travels through to grandparents on a lazy tour .

Room Tip: Dont worry , there all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrminxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This is the best B&B. It was our second stay there. It was a wonderful welcome and Margaret was really helpful & friendly, even booking us a table at a nearby restaurant for an evening meal. The breakfast was fantastic, with fresh fruit and eggs, bacon, what ever you want. Our rooms are so beautiful and absolutley spottless clean. If we are in the area we only book this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linlithgow
0.0 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Star & Garter Hotel
Star & Garter Hotel
#7 of 11 in Linlithgow
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Court Residence
Court Residence
#1 of 11 in Linlithgow
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arden Country House
Arden Country House
#3 of 11 in Linlithgow
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Lumsdaine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Lumsdaine House

Property: B & B Lumsdaine House
Address: Linlithgow EH49 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Linlithgow
Hotel Class:4 star — B & B Lumsdaine House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
B & B Lumsdaine House Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing