We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B and B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B & B Lumsdaine House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linlithgow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B & B Lumsdaine House
Ranked #3 of 11 Linlithgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of September and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Margaret was a wonderful host ensuring all our needs were met and her breakfast was fantastic, I'm missing it already!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
71
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I travel to Scotland once a year and always stay here for my last night before leaving from Edinburgh airport, as it's close to the airport and still in a quiet and peaceful location. Only once was there no more room so to my great regret I had to stay elsewhere.
Margaret is the perfect host, helping with every imaginable request or need (including getting my boarding pass printed).
The rooms are large, thus very convenient for sorting my luggage before getting on the plane.
Everything is immaculately clean. Breakfast is sumptuous and always fresh.
I will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalzburgLaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Lumsdaine House so much last year that we stayed again this year.
Margaret is a wonderful host. Great area, so much to see. One of the most comfortable rooms we had on our entire trip. Great breakfasts!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troisdorf, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Me and my wife have spend 2 fabulous days in Edinburgh and we stayed at this fantastic B&B. Lumsdaine House is the best B&B in scotland we have ever stayed. It is situated in a rural sourrounding. Margaret and family made us feel very welcome and she couldn`t do enough for us. As soon as we arrived, we were offered tea and gorgeous home baking. The house and rooms are very clean and the breakfast is super. I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dietmar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Myself and my partner have just spend 4 fabulous days in Edinburgh and stayed at this fantastic B&B. Lumsdaine House has to be the best I have ever stayed in. It is situated in a great location, within easy distance to all local attractions. Margaret and family made us feel very welcome and could not do enough for us. The house is spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were superb, with a good choice. I would recommend this B&B to anyone and we are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Just had the most wonderful stay at Lumsdaine House. Margaret is a lovely host - nothing is too much trouble for her. As soon as we arrived, we were offered tea and gorgeous home baking. Breakfast was a delight, and it certainly lived up to its Healthy Living Award with at least 5 different fruits available as well as cereals, cooked breakfast, and scones and pancakes as well as toast. The bedroom was wonderfully appointed - plugs and mirrors in exactly the right positions, and every extra you could think of. Most appreciated was the tariff for my room. As a single traveller, travelling with two friends, I have been charged full price for a double room, or stuck in a box room with no en-suite. At Margaret's, I had a beautiful en-suite twin room to myself at only £5 per person more than my friends. Fantastic!
I certainly hope to return one day. I would recommend Lumsdaine House to anyone.

Room Tip: All are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Just spent an excellent 3 days staying with Margaret and Peter. Couldn't fault the house in any way. The room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean, and large! Beautiful views from 3 windows. Large bathroom and great shower. Breakfast was brilliant with a large choice of cereals, fresh fruit and fresh pancakes and scones. Would prefer to keep Lumsdaine House a secret for ourselves. Vacancies could be few and far between. Give it a try,you won't be disappointed. We spend a lot of time travelling and this is one we would certainly return to and recommend . Thank you again Margaret and Peter for letting us share your lovely home.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BUREPARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linlithgow
0.0 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Champany Inn
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Court Residence
Court Residence
#1 of 11 in Linlithgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Star & Garter Hotel
Star & Garter Hotel
#7 of 11 in Linlithgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arden Country House
Arden Country House
#4 of 11 in Linlithgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Lumsdaine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Lumsdaine House

Property: B & B Lumsdaine House
Address: Linlithgow EH49 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Linlithgow
Hotel Class:4 star — B & B Lumsdaine House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
B & B Lumsdaine House Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing