We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bull's-eye” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B & B Lumsdaine House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linlithgow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B & B Lumsdaine House
Ranked #3 of 11 Linlithgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bull's-eye”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Margaret aims to please- and hit the bull’s-eye for us every time.
She is warm and friendly without being pushy; she is helpful but not intrusive; she obviously cares about the business, but cares at least as much about her guests.
The accommodation is very clean, comfortable and the finishing touches (such as a vase of fresh flowers in the bathroom) are a pleasure. The breakfasts were nourishing, beautifully cooked and substantial. How lovely to sit with a cup of early morning tea or coffee and be able to glance out of the window to see the hens that laid the eggs you’re eating, and the cattle peacefully grazing. It is no wonder that many of Margaret’s guests return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGWElgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
71
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed here one night before we had to get up early to go to the airport. The B&B is outside Linlithgow proper, about a 5 minute drive, or I would assume about a 30 minute walk, but you wouldn't want to walk because the road is narrow and there's no sidewalk. Anyway, it's not in town, but that was nice because we got some beautiful views of the countryside all around and it was very quiet.

When we arrived, Margaret welcomed us with tea and made us feel very at home. She even offered to make dinner reservations for us. When she found out we were going to be up too early for breakfast, she packed us a delicious meal including the best shortbread I have ever eaten (which she also gave us the recipe for).

All in all, it was an excellent stay, and I would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had four nights at Lumsdaine in July 2013, this was absolutely the best B&B that we stayed in throughout the whole U.K. Clean, immaculate, quiet, fantastic breakfasts. Margaret's hospitality and friendliness was second to none. Only 20mins by train to Edinburgh or Glasgow and close to town with bus stop at the gate. Dont need to stay in Edinburgh or Glasgow - stay here instead, has everything you could ask for, and Margaret's shortbread is unbelievable.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with four poster bed, but didnt check out the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have stayed at several B&Bs in and around Linlithgow, some of them several times. All of them were good, but this is the one we'll go back to next time.

It's a modern, spacious, comfortable, and very quiet house. The furniture and decor are perhaps more like those of a hotel than of a private house, but it's all very good-quality stuff in immaculate condition. Margaret is a fine hostess. We had let her know we couldn't arrive till mid-evening, but she still cheerfully offered tea and coffee when we turned up as if it were mid-afternoon. Breakfast was excellent, with the bonus of a lovely view from the breakfast room. (No, it's not the canal aqueduct in the distance, it's the railway viaduct - much more attractive than it might sound).

We like this place. Our previous favourite B&B near Linlithgow had become just a touch fussy on our last visit. So from now on, we'll go back to Lumsdaine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nybor666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane,Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here in August and it's just lovely. Roomy, comfortable bed, good shower ( with washers for the shower gel!). The canal is just across the road and historis Linlithgow a few minutes away by car. This B and B is on a farm and is nice and quiet. The 4 poster bed was great! Margaret is a very welcomming host and she has plenty of tourist info on hand. Stay there!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MegDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

My Daughter stayed here for two weeks whilst organising a rental flat in Edinbrough and was looked after just like one of the family. We stayed for just one night and wished it has been longer. Margaret and her family offer the best of genuine Scotish hospitality, Margaret's shortbread is to die for!! Great clean spacious room and fabulious breakfast. We would highly recommend Lumsdaine House B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumpman1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife and I just finished a whirlwind 8 day car tour of all of the best in Scotland. I had made several unsuccessful bids for places in Edinburgh for "our last night" but was not able to secure a booking. Fortunately, I found Lumsdaine House. Located just about a mile from the center of Linlithgow, yet well into the fabulous countryside, this B&B is spotlessly clean, the rooms are spacious and Margaret cannot be a better hostess (We were treated to coffee and biscuits on arrival and she even offered to make our dinner reservations for us!).
We had an early flight to Amsterdam the next morning and Margaret prepared a perfect breakfast for us at an early hour. The airport is a short, stress-free 20 minutes from Lumsdaine.
Our only "issue" was the spotty WiFi availability which only seemed accessible in the hall just outside our door (albeit, in a comfortable chair).
Be sure to visit Linlithgow Palace, birthplace of Mary, Queen of Scots, in Linlithgow centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globogeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linlithgow
0.0 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Champany Inn
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Court Residence
Court Residence
#1 of 11 in Linlithgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arden Country House
Arden Country House
#4 of 11 in Linlithgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Star & Garter Hotel
Star & Garter Hotel
#7 of 11 in Linlithgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Lumsdaine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Lumsdaine House

Property: B & B Lumsdaine House
Address: Linlithgow EH49 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Linlithgow
Hotel Class:4 star — B & B Lumsdaine House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
B & B Lumsdaine House Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing