We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, actually I quite liked it here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aran House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 11 Linlithgow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

We are working in the palace in Linlithgow so it's really convenient here. The rooms are as you would expect, thus is rural Scotland! I want funny design carpet and a good portion of quaintness! This place had character. The owner is very accommodating, a little staid perhaps, but this is her house and we are visitors, it's a b&b, if you want a hotel go to a hotel! I really like it here. The views from the huge bedroom windows are fantastic and the beds are super comfy. We like it so we are staying longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinheadplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

We booked Aran House on the recommendation of a friend as they let you take a dog and we were attending a dog show in the area. The landlady was friendly, welcoming and showed a lot of interest in our trip and our dog. Breakfast was excellent and really set us up for the day. The family room was very comfortable and clean. Will definitely use this again if we are travelling in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micklebring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

After reading the other 2 reviews, we booked 2 rooms by phone, and had no issues. The landlady was very welcoming and gave us 2 rooms on the ground floor. My room had a four poster bed, tea and coffee equipment, a small en-suite shower/WC, and a digital TV with freeview. The house is located next to a farm and there is a canal nearby where you can walk along an adjacent path. The beds were comfortable, the breakfast more than adequate, and the living room was pleasant. The only thing that needed attention were the carpets. These were a little worn in places, otherwise our stay was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albertgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

OUr experience was very similar to the other review. Booked the room several months in advance with a credit card to hold it. Specified a 9:00 p.m. check-in time. We realized around 7:00 that it would be closer to 10:00. We then emailed the hostess as a courtesy that we would be a little later. We arrived by 10:00. The hostess was unfriendly, reprimanded me for not calling, told me that i shouldn't have gotten lost (which we did because the street wouldn't show up in our GPS) and then proceeded to tell me that she didn't even have our reservation. After saying that she didn't have a room for us and our 2 kids, she offered no help whatsoever - not even a suggestion - as to what we could do EVEN THOUGH I had a copy of the reservation in my hand. AFter my husband got involved, she finally offered to see if she could rearrange some other guests. We ended in a room with 3 beds ( my son had to sleep on the floor). In the morning, she did "find" our reservation and took what we were willing to pay. But, we were almost out on the street the night before since she had already given away our family room. If you are counting on the room being there when you expect it, i wouldn't recommend booking here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

I book one night's stay in the B&B for two of my colleagues via theB&B's own online booking form. My credit card details were taken and I received an email confirming my booking with a reservation number. On the day in question, my colleagues arrived at the B&B after a long days driving and working and were told that there were no rooms available. On producing the confirmation documentation, the owner's response was that she had not checked her email (the room was booked 2 clear days prior to arrival) and she had reserved the rooms for someone else. She was not prepared to change this arrangement and my colleagues had to find somewhere else to stay. Not acceptable in my mind. If you have an online presence and even an online booking system - CHECK YOUR EMAILS!

Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
2  Thank Geostay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Meister2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Bij het ontbijt was er verse melk en yoghurt, maar pas op met de jam en boter: die stond er al sinds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Linlithgow hotels
2.4 mi away
Court Residence
Court Residence
#1 of 11 in Linlithgow
331 reviews
2.1 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
247 reviews
4.4 mi away
Champany Inn
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Star & Garter Hotel
Star & Garter Hotel
#7 of 11 in Linlithgow
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arden Country House
Arden Country House
#3 of 11 in Linlithgow
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belsyde Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aran House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aran House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Aran House Woodcockdale Farm Lanark Road | Woodcockdale Farm, Linlithgow EH49 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Linlithgow
Hotel Class:3 star — Aran House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aran House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aran House Bed & Breakfast Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing