We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good pub”

The Old Post Office
Ranked #19 of 42 Restaurants in Linlithgow
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A good pub”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Went here to have a couple of drinks and watch one of the World Cup games with a few friends and I was impressed - it is a good little pub with plenty of character in it, and friendly bar staff.

Understandably with the World Cup being on, there were some good promotions on (£2.49 for a bottle of Brahma was always going to go down well with me and my friends) and all other prices seemed very reasonable from what I could tell

Food wise, didn't have any here, so it would be unfair for me to comment on that. What I can comment on though, through observation, is the speed of service - given the circumstances and how busy it was with the football, they did very well and were able to keep things ticking over efficiently

Definitely a good pub to visit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    42
    29
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really dissapointing”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Went into The. Old post office for a family lunch,
Ordered the Sunday roast of the specials board.
Very poor quality, appreciate it was less than £7 that
Doesn't account for how small the the portion
or badly prepared. The childrens menu was typical of
a pub grub location which was okay, but once again very low quality food.
Stop the microwave food. Really disappointing

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SSpolitician1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely decor and nice food!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We've been here a couple of times when we have visited Linlithgow. I love the surroundings.....it's very fitting of the history of the building....they've certainly not forgot that it was the old post office!
The food was great value for money....we had two main meals for £9.99 but to be honest,the main meals aren't overly priced anyway. I was desperate to have a dessert....but I just couldn't even attempt to fit one in!!! The portion sizes were very generous! Nice friendly staff too. Can't ask for much more :-D well worth the wee walk along the main street to visit :-D

Helpful?
1 Thank AQ410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Pub Style Food”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

On my recent trip to the Palace I decided to stop here before boarding the train.

The building was unique on the outside and that's what I found appealing to wander in. The restaurant was relatively empty and the bartender was very attentive serving me directly at my table. Reverse of most places I've tried in Scotland.

I had a burger and chips with a pint of ale. It tasted standard and what you would expect from a pub. My bill was around 11£

The only thing I found disappointing was that the menu was the exact menu from another pub I had visited in Stirling No. 2 Baker Street. I am not sure if they are linked together.

Helpful?
1 Thank wkdgme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“good value for money”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We arrived in Linlithgow after a long days drive, and decided to have our evening meal here. We were welcomed at the door by a waitress who was extremely attentive for the whole evening (sunday night), very helpful & friendly. The food was lovely. I had the salmon & noodles which was yummy. My daughter had the pulled pork burger, and my husband had chicken fajitas, both enjoyed them too. We sampled a beer called West which was really nice. We decided to eat her again on our final evening (friday), this time it seemed busier. We were not met at the door, and the service was slower. Our waitress was not the same, and we missed the attentive lady from our first visit. The food again was nice, and we did enjoy a few hours here. The menu is quite varied, and very good value for money. Each time we visited, there were things on the menu that we ordered only to be informed there were non left. This is not a high class establishment, I would say on a par with wetherspoons, but we were made to feel welcome and had a nice time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank embear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Post Office also viewed

Linlithgow, West Lothian
 
Linlithgow, West Lothian
Linlithgow, West Lothian
 
Linlithgow, West Lothian
 

Been to The Old Post Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing