We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walkers are welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linlithgow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kirklands Country House
Ranked #2 of 11 Linlithgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We were walking from Land's End to John o'Groats using a base and public transport for a week's walking. The Bomains team were helpfulness itself and so interested in our walk. They followed our website and had a collection for us from the staff. Nothing was too much trouble, we were so well looked after that we went back to thank them on our return south. Breakfasts were out of this world!
Nancy and John Eckersley

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

Their outstanding website and video lured us there and we were never disappointed. The welcome was warm and friendly, the breakfasts were superb and their attention to every detail was amazing. They helped us to plan our day trips during our 4 nights there, and even supplied maps. They shared their love of Scotland and Bo"Mains so generously. When we had to leave we knew that we had made wonderful friends and that we would be returning soon and often. We could not possibly recommend it more highly. Go to B;Mains and enjoy a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darcey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We were lucky enough to stay here for 2 nights in July. The B&B is owned and run by a wonderful generous lady Bunty and we were very warmly welcomed by both Bunty and Martin who helps run this wonderful business. All the rooms were impeccably clean and extremely comfortable with wonderful views and very comprehensive hospitality trays. The ensuite bathroom was well fitted, spotlessly clean and had lovely soft towels and great quality toiletries. The grounds are lovely and have plenty of room for children to play safely immediately in front of the house and safely enclosed from what is an extremely quiet road.
We all slept very well and were treated to a huge breakfast selection of cereals, fruits, yoghurts, piping hot toast, as well as a full scottish breakfast beautifully cooked freshly to order and as much fresh tea/ coffee/ fruit juice as we wanted.
Both Bunty and Martin were very attentive and keen to make sure our stay was perfect nothing was too much trouble and there was nothing at all that we could have wished for that hadn't already been provided! They were both very knowledgeable re the local area and it's history and great at recommending places to eat and things to do. Perfect hosts of a wonderful B&B! Thank you so much for a wonderful comfortable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katebobBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Stayed here with my partner for one night as we were at a party at the golf club. We felt at home as soon as we entered. The room was lovely and the bed comfy. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was very good and the views were amazing including the 4 little robins in the garden. We will definately return. Thank you Bunty.
Ps, the house is not cluttered and the furniture suits the rooms. It is clean, tidy and a lovely home.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ange202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I have stayed at Bo'mains Farm on several occasions while working in the area and the service is absolutely brilliant!!. Nothing is a problem for the lovely people who run this gorgeous bed and breakfast. As you walk in the front door the family values of this farm house really shine through with the walls draped with winning rosettes and pictures of family at several national and international equestrian events. Bunty Kirk the proprietor of this farmhouse is as proud of her business as she is of her family with the way she has everything beautifully set out. They have never not been able to sort out some kind of accommodation for me at very short notice whether it be one of the gorgeous rooms in the farm house itself or in the adjacent property which is owned by her daughter and run in conjunction with the farm house. The setting for the farm is probably the most tranquil I have came across with the views and the peacefulness and being mostly a night shift worker i have never once had an interrupted sleep. The breakfast is also very good with anything that takes your fancy on the menu from full cooked to kippers and smoked salmon. This has to be one of the best Bed and Breakfasts i have stayed in and when I am back in the area I have no doubt i will be staying there again.
All the best to Bunty and family for the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank craigS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed here for two nights with a group of teenage schoolchildren. There were twelve of us in total. The owner, Mrs Kirk, runs an extremely welcoming guest house and she did everything anyone possibly could to cater for our needs. The rooms were all extremely clean, comfortable and equiped with everything required for an enjoyable stay. The breakfast was very good, with all our individual requests catered for. The views are stunning and the surroundings are excellent. There is also plenty of parking space and lots of scope for children to play outside. Ourselves and all the children thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonnyBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Rooms amazing - great decor and finishing touches.
Superb breakfast
Views, quiet everything you could ask for

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms and all were superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mwnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Linlithgow hotels
2.1 mi away
Champany Inn
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
189 reviews
1.5 mi away
Westport Hotel
Westport Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
249 reviews
1.5 mi away
Court Residence
Court Residence
#1 of 11 in Linlithgow
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Arden Country House
Arden Country House
#3 of 11 in Linlithgow
170 reviews
1.6 mi away
Star & Garter Hotel
Star & Garter Hotel
#7 of 11 in Linlithgow
103 reviews
0 mi away
Belsyde Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirklands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirklands Country House

Address: | Bomains Farm Near Bo'Ness, Linlithgow EH49 7RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Linlithgow
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kirklands Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bo'mains farm is located between Edinburgh and Glasgow and is a gateway to the highlands. We are close to Edinburgh Airport and with easy reach to many distilleries - The Falkirk Wheel, The newly built Kelpies, the canal boats at Linlithgow sand and many other tourists attractions. Also plenty of lovely restaurants and mainline railway only 10 mins away. Many people return regularly each year to Bo'mains Farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kirklands Country House Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing