We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B in beautiful place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linlithgow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kirklands Country House
Ranked #2 of 11 Linlithgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My wife and I stayed with Bunty and Martin for two nights. We stayed in their daughter's newer home next to the main house, and our room was very nice and spacious. The houses are situated on a hill overlooking beautiful pastures and the Firth of Forth. We were very warmly greeted by Martin. Our breakfasts, which were served in the beautiful dining room in the main farmhouse, were very tasty. The farm is a short distance from Linlithgow, a beautiful small village which is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Request a room in the newer annex with a view of the Firth of Forth.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spope4733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for Kirklands Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

This was our first visit to Scotland, and we stayed our first night in this beautiful B&B accommodation. Bunty and Martin were not at home, when we arrived, but we were immediately served a tasty cup of tea. The charming couple arrived, and the wellcome can not be friendlier than theirs. We had two beautiful rooms (for 3 people), a very good night sleep and excellent breakfast. We went also for a walk in the afternoon to see the beautiful area around the house.

Thank you, Bunty and Martin, we highly recommend your B&B!

Best regards, Esko (the minister lookalike), Paula and Anne

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eevertti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here two nights and were warmly greeted by Martin and Bunty. The room was very spacious in the second house near the main house. The main house where we had breakfast was luxuriously appointed and breakfast requests were no problem to our hosts. Very nice rural setting to come back and wake up to. it is a short distance out of town so you will need a car or catch a taxi. Martin and Bunty advised us to use the train to visit Edinburgh which we found to be efficient, comfortable and cheap (great local advice). Parking at the train station in Linlithgow was free (but be early as it fills up fast) and the train station in Edinburgh was near the tourist information centre. Would not hesitate in staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the first room in Kirkland house which is large with a large king post bed. This is the quie...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wourldwidetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to stay. Great hosts.
Rooms are fabulous. Rooms are also spacious, clean, very comfortable and classy. Breakfasts are wonderful . Quiet area and not far from Linlithgow train station, easy commute to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tazzie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This B&B is located in a beautiful place, in the middle of the country with a view on the sea. It is also strategic to visit Edinburgh, being it close to the rail station of Linlithgow. We had a very warm welcome and complete, satisfying breakfast. The rooms are very nice. Sometimes a bit small with small bed, but they have also bigger ones.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edivad1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The main "farmhouse" of Bomains Farm is a beautiful home, but over decorated in my opinion. The rooms are very small, with little room for luggage.
The bed we had the first two nights was horrible: soft, spongy, sagged in the middle, and the feet were higher than the head. Thankfully, the twin beds in the second room were quite adequate.
Food is very well prepared and delicious; however, it wasn't exactly "order from the menu". If you didn't tell Martin what you wanted the night before, he just guessed and served you something.
Nothing alarming about the place, but I just had this feeling that the owners were coasting; i.e. close to retirement and were hanging on as long as they could without sinking any more money into the business. It might have been the overly lavish interior decorating from the 70's, but it felt more like a museum than a place to relax.

Room Tip: Wi-Fi was iffy in both rooms I stayed in, but reception in the dining room is good.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lheadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BomainsFarm, Owner at Kirklands Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

The Farmhouse was beautiful, The breakfast delicious, Nothing alarming about the place.
Thank you most sincerely for the kind comments but I feel that your maybe contradicting yourself a little.

I am sorry I was away for a few days and did not have the pleasure of meeting you but left the running of the establishment in the capable hands of Martin.

He reported to me on my return that you said the bed in your room was too soft which is a new top of the range memory foam mattress which is meant to be a mattress one sinks into for comfort, I have had so many compliments in the short time it has been in use. When a room became available Martin moved you to one which had twin beds which seemed to suit you better those having Slumberland Gold Mattresses which are firmer.

The farmhouse you say was beautiful yet obviously not to your taste although the dinning room was decorated a few weeks before you arrived.

The farmhouse is used for bed and breakfast and was not purpose built as a bed and breakfast so consequently the rooms vary in size which include a large family room also doubles and twins.

The breakfast was delicious you said the five mornings you stayed with us but as you did not choose or indicate you wished for something different from the varied menu, Martin automatically served the full Scottish traditional breakfast.

Bo'mains is my home and I am more than proud of the way I maintain it to a very high standard,

I can't think where you got the idea we were coasting as I would challenge anyone to work for a day beside me and your judgement of retirement was well out as you did not have the pleasure of meeting me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Words cannot describe just how special this bed and breakfast is. With warm and welcoming hosts, immaculate accomodation and spectacular views you will find no other bed and breakfast like it. It is one of a kind and after another thoroughly enjoyable nights stay on Saturday we are already planning our return! Bunty and Martin, you are very special people and we cannot wait to return to your home.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linlithgow
1.5 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
239 reviews
2.1 mi away
Champany Inn
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
186 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#1 of 4 in Grangemouth
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,963 reviews
6.2 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
1.5 mi away
Court Residence
Court Residence
#1 of 11 in Linlithgow
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirklands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirklands Country House

Address: | Bomains Farm Near Bo'Ness, Linlithgow EH49 7RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Linlithgow
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kirklands Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bo'mains farm is located between Edinburgh and Glasgow and is a gateway to the highlands. We are close to Edinburgh Airport and with easy reach to many distilleries - The Falkirk Wheel, The newly built Kelpies, the canal boats at Linlithgow sand and many other tourists attractions. Also plenty of lovely restaurants and mainline railway only 10 mins away. Many people return regularly each year to Bo'mains Farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kirklands Country House Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing