We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decked Out Like a Five-Star Hotel!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linlithgow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kirklands Country House
Ranked #2 of 11 Linlithgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our 4-night stay was in the room called “Jim”. Though a working farm in the countryside, the house is elaborately designed and decorated. The entrance hall has a grand staircase that splits to either side at the half-way-up landing. The 16-person dining table is set for a “formal” breakfast and looks elegant and impressive. Our host met us with Scottish plaid pants and tie to add to the mystique. He was very friendly and helpful. His wife is an excellent cook and came into breakfast to greet some of the regular guests (that seem to have become friends) and greet us newcomers. The views out our bedroom window and out the common areas of the house are spectacular. It is quiet and only about 1 ½ miles from Linlithgow, too far for walking to town, but an easy drive. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadrunner5527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for Kirklands Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

Pleased to say Bo'mains Farmhouse was one of the best Scottish places we've ever been to. Impressive spot full of character. Outside, inside, everything is elegant. Had such a delightful stay with my parents and best friend.
The two hosts were really nice folks, really helpful with noticifing us about places to visit around Linlithgow as well as a great traditionnal pub where to eat on evenings (called "The Four Marys) with delicious meals a very good value for money!

We will be back one day for sure!
Cheers for everything!
'Tapadh leibh'

Camille Stocky.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamilleLFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

A friend of mine brought us to this beautiful place. We had a lovely warm welcome from the hosts which let us immediately feeling at home. Our family room was nicely decorated, spacious and clean. Excellent breakfast! Bunty and Martin are very nice and friendly people! We wish them from heart well with their business.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have just returned from a holiday in Scotland, we stayed for two nights in Kirkland house within the grounds of Bo'mains Farm, to say we were pleased with the accomadation & wonderful breakfast served at Bo'mains Farm is an understatement!! Bunty & Martin were the perfect hosts, & the breakfast was delicous. Our room in Kirkland House was HUGE & the bed & pillows so comfortable. Its was peaceful & felt safe & the views from the breakfast room were to die for!!!
We can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BomainsFarm, Owner at Kirklands Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Many thanks for all your highly complimentary comments on your time with us at Kirkland House/Bomains Farm Bed and Breakfast. it gives us so much pleasure to know when our guests have enjoyed themselves and most of all they are already looking forward to a return visit. Martin sends his regards.Thank you once again.
Bunty X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This was our first experience staying in a B&B. We were apprehensive as we had heard some horror stories. From the moment we met Martin and he showed us around we were completely at ease. From the exquisite dinning room to the lovely 'Jim Room' we felt welcomed and at home. This was the most amazing experience for us, the bed was like sleeping on a cloud, the room and ensuite was spotless and the breakfast in the morning was wonderful, complete with delicious home made jam. We could have sat at the table admiring the view all morning. We would have loved to have more than one night in this beautiful B&B. We hope to return one day. We will be telling our friends in Australia about this wonderful place. It was a pleasure to stay. Thank you Bunty and Martin, our short stay has made our holiday.

Room Tip: If you would like the feeling of sleeping on a cloud, choose the 'jim room'.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Bunty is a lovely landlord and very very friendly! A beautiful view from the hill top where the B&B is located. Its a very nice B&B. The breakfast served by Martin in the beautiful dining room is tis own experience! We will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staedelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My wife and I stayed with Bunty and Martin for two nights. We stayed in their daughter's newer home next to the main house, and our room was very nice and spacious. The houses are situated on a hill overlooking beautiful pastures and the Firth of Forth. We were very warmly greeted by Martin. Our breakfasts, which were served in the beautiful dining room in the main farmhouse, were very tasty. The farm is a short distance from Linlithgow, a beautiful small village which is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Request a room in the newer annex with a view of the Firth of Forth.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spope4733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linlithgow
1.5 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
239 reviews
2.1 mi away
Champany Inn
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
186 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#1 of 4 in Grangemouth
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,963 reviews
6.2 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
1.5 mi away
Court Residence
Court Residence
#1 of 11 in Linlithgow
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirklands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirklands Country House

Address: | Bomains Farm Near Bo'Ness, Linlithgow EH49 7RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Linlithgow
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kirklands Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bo'mains farm is located between Edinburgh and Glasgow and is a gateway to the highlands. We are close to Edinburgh Airport and with easy reach to many distilleries - The Falkirk Wheel, The newly built Kelpies, the canal boats at Linlithgow sand and many other tourists attractions. Also plenty of lovely restaurants and mainline railway only 10 mins away. Many people return regularly each year to Bo'mains Farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kirklands Country House Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing