We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Bo'mains Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linlithgow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bo'mains Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 11 Linlithgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Bo'mains for a two night break for the Edinburgh Tattoo. On arrival we were given an exceptionally warm welcome by Martin and Bunty and enjoyed afternoon tea whilst taking in the most magnificent views from the windows. The rooms are all individually designed to a high standard and spotlessly clean and you immediately feel very relaxed and at home with Martin and Bunty. Breakfast is excellent served at a very elegantly dressed dining table. Martin was very thoughtful and helpful in recommending places to visit and also advised us on taking the train into Edinburgh for the Tattoo. We have visited the Tattoo on a number of occasions, but this was by far the easiest journey we have had. Bo'mains is perfectly located for anyone visiting Edinburgh and the Tattoo. Martin and Bunty are lovely and exceptionally good at what they do. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer!!! We would highly recommend it and look forward to going back again.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WattyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    14
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
67
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My sister and i had the privilege of staying at bo'mains farmhouse for a week and a half, starting on june 10th. we were greeted by martin, who welcomed us with a nice spot of tea and cookies, and a very warm scots welcome. i knew i was going to like it here, when meeting bunty and martin at breakfast, it was like a breath of fresh air. breakfast was top of the line, the house was a dream, very well appointed and homey. the views from the farmhouse are wonderful, so peaceful and relaxing. we have memories of our stay, that will last a lifetime. if i have a chance to return to scotland, buntys place is the first place i will be heading. we were welcomed as friends, but i felt i was leaving family when we left to continue our journey, it was hard to say goodbye. lorna and charlie, you were great. bo'mains, the best of the best. the canadians, timmy and maureen.

Room Tip: all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Any stay at Bo'mains farm is one to be remembered. Home from home, Bunty, Martin, Lorna and Charlie are attentive hosts, fonts of knowledge and of course Scottish folklore ,but never over-bearing, this gem of a retreat is a must if you are looking for comfort, great service a hearty breakfast and views to die for. It is such a joy to find a place that provides the comfort in which to dust yourself down from hours of travelling to relax and awake refreshed from the most comfortable bed possible.
Bo'mains farm and the team get my vote every time. If I have meetings anywhere between the Firth of Forth and the Clyde, them I will stay here every time.
Peter, Belfast

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 429Peter52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our 4-night stay was in the room called “Jim”. Though a working farm in the countryside, the house is elaborately designed and decorated. The entrance hall has a grand staircase that splits to either side at the half-way-up landing. The 16-person dining table is set for a “formal” breakfast and looks elegant and impressive. Our host met us with Scottish plaid pants and tie to add to the mystique. He was very friendly and helpful. His wife is an excellent cook and came into breakfast to greet some of the regular guests (that seem to have become friends) and greet us newcomers. The views out our bedroom window and out the common areas of the house are spectacular. It is quiet and only about 1 ½ miles from Linlithgow, too far for walking to town, but an easy drive. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadrunner5527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colmar, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Pleased to say Bo'mains Farmhouse was one of the best Scottish places we've ever been to. Impressive spot full of character. Outside, inside, everything is elegant. Had such a delightful stay with my parents and best friend.
The two hosts were really nice folks, really helpful with noticifing us about places to visit around Linlithgow as well as a great traditionnal pub where to eat on evenings (called "The Four Marys) with delicious meals a very good value for money!

We will be back one day for sure!
Cheers for everything!
'Tapadh leibh'

Camille Stocky.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamilleLFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

A friend of mine brought us to this beautiful place. We had a lovely warm welcome from the hosts which let us immediately feeling at home. Our family room was nicely decorated, spacious and clean. Excellent breakfast! Bunty and Martin are very nice and friendly people! We wish them from heart well with their business.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have just returned from a holiday in Scotland, we stayed for two nights in Kirkland house within the grounds of Bo'mains Farm, to say we were pleased with the accomadation & wonderful breakfast served at Bo'mains Farm is an understatement!! Bunty & Martin were the perfect hosts, & the breakfast was delicous. Our room in Kirkland House was HUGE & the bed & pillows so comfortable. Its was peaceful & felt safe & the views from the breakfast room were to die for!!!
We can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BomainsFarm, Owner at Bo'mains Farmhouse, responded to this review, 19 September 2016
Many thanks for all your highly complimentary comments on your time with us at Kirkland House/Bomains Farm Bed and Breakfast. it gives us so much pleasure to know when our guests have enjoyed themselves and most of all they are already looking forward to a return visit. Martin sends his regards.Thank you once again.
Bunty X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linlithgow
1.5 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
233 reviews
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,898 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Helix Hotel
Helix Hotel
#1 of 4 in Grangemouth
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bo'mains Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bo'mains Farmhouse

Property: Bo'mains Farmhouse
Address: Bomains Farm Near Bo'Ness, Linlithgow EH49 7RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Linlithgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bo'mains Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bo'mains farm is located between Edinburgh and Glasgow and is a gateway to the highlands. We are close to Edinburgh Airport and with easy reach to many distilleries - The Falkirk Wheel, The newly built Kelpies, the canal boats at Linlithgow sand and many other tourists attractions. Also plenty of lovely restaurants and mainline railway only 10 mins away. Many people return regularly each year to Bo'mains Farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bo'Mains Farmhouse Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing