We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Guest House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linlithgow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strawberry Bank House
Ranked #5 of 11 Linlithgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

A small family run guest house. Really high standard of furnishings and decor. Very comfortable en suite accommodation with every last detail thought out. TV, Tea and coffee, mineral water, hair dryer next to mirror, toiletries...Gillian and John have thought of everything. Quality comfortable beds. Quiet rooms and fantastic Scottish breakfast. With parking at the rear this is a fantastic base to visit Edinburgh as its away from the hustle and bustle but there is a direct train from just 200m down the road into Edinburgh Waverley station. The town of Linlithgow is very pretty with several bars and restaurants, nice shops all within a short walk of Strawberry Bank House. Also in Linlithgow is the Linlithgow Palace, the birth place of Mary Queen of Scots. We would highly recommend Strawbery Bank House and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberthalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian C, Owner at Strawberry Bank House, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Many thanks for your kind feedback. It was our pleasure to look after you during your stay in Linlithgow and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
30
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penistone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Another splendid visit to Strawberry Bank House.Excellent standard of family room,splendid breakfast and friendly owners.Very well situated for railway station and town shops and restaurants.We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian C, Owner at Strawberry Bank House, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Many thanks for your feedback and kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klazzgoo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

a great friendly home, great breakfast and a bonny wee westie , lovely couple, will be back
would advise friends to stay here., a bit up hill for the disabled , it's worth it though as it's a home from home experience , decor is marvelous and clean as a new pin , a great sleep, relaxing as well

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoltan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian C, Owner at Strawberry Bank House, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Zoltan, many thanks for your kind feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, S.Wales
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed here for a rugby international as we have relatives living nearby, and fancied it as a quieter alternative to central Edinburgh on a rugby weekend. The Guest House was easy to find with parking to the rear. On arrival we were shown to our room and given a quick tour of the house and directions into town. Our room was extremely large, with an equally spacious bathroom. There was a large wardrobe with ample hangers, shelves and even robes and slippers. The tea and coffee facilities came with a teapot, cookies and alternative teas and fresh milk that we were told to help ourselves to from the adjoining kitchenette. The bathroom was spotlessly clean with complementary toiletries and luxurious bath towels. Little things like plenty of tissues and a magnifying mirror made the difference. The room had plenty of lighting and quality bedding on the bed. There was even bottled water on the bedside tables, a lovely touch. Breakfast was excellent, served in a pleasant room overlooking the town.
The town itself was literally a two minute stroll away, with a few pubs and restaurants. Unfortunately, we didn't have spare time to explore it but on our way home we saw a little of it and it looked beautiful.
We will definitely be back here on our next visit to the area, Strawberry Bank House turned a standard Rugby Trip into a luxurious weekend away for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thenewmrsbowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian C, Owner at Strawberry Bank House, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Many thanks for your kind feedback. It was our pleasure to look after you both and hopefully we can welcome you into our home again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards John & Gillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed here last weekend for a friend’s wedding nearby. What an amazing B&B this is. Everything completely 5* across the board. We will definitely look to stay again and can highly recommend to others. Thank you so much for a pleasant stay. Patrick & Joanna Sprakes

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSprakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Of all 18 places I stayed durring my month stay in Scotland, this was by far the most ellegant! Gillian reallly knows how important the small details are. From the frsh beautiful flowers, to the ellegant decor in the bedroom and gret smells throughout the B&B it was a pleasure to stay there!
Not only was the B&B ellegant, comfoortable and a great value Gillian and John were a brilliant couple with hearts of gold! They took great care of me while I was there and showed such genuine warmth! They made me feel like family! I would definitly stay there again and recomend it to ANYONE!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccakuntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Felt very welcome despite arriving at this immaculate B and B rather mud spattered after cycling from Bowling Harbour. Very well located as backs on to Union Canal. Owners very helpful with bikes which were stored securely and John even produced bolt cutters when my friends lost the key to their bike lock! The room was lovely and comfortable with everything you required provided. Breakfast was excellent and Gillian kindly provided it a little earlier than usual when I decided to make an early start due to the weather. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetwithbike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linlithgow
0.4 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
2.0 mi away
Champany Inn
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
7.9 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh Airport (Newbridge) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Bank House

Property: Strawberry Bank House
Address: 13 Avon Place, Linlithgow EH49 6BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Linlithgow
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strawberry Bank House is located within close proximity to the town centre and the bus and railway stations and is only a few hundred meters walk from Linlithgow Palace. There are many good restaurants and bars within easy walking distance from the house and the town of Linlithgow is located close to the main motorway network into Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strawberry Bank House Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing