We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hidden away jewel!”
Review of Champany Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Champany Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Linlithgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

If you are looking for a truly different overnight away from hustle and bustle of everyday life (rat race) you should consider this hidden gem of an Inn called the Champany Inn in Linlithgow located just outside Edinburgh. My husband took me here as early Mothers Day treat. Room decorated Scottish style with curtains and bedding of tartan!! YES TARTAN!! We had our evening meal in main restaurant (there is less expensive dining option on site if preferred). Scallops were absolutely delicious to die for almost. This was only surpassed by the Chateaubriand accompanied by awesome wild mushrooms and dauphinoise potatoes yum yum yum!! Didn't manage to finish all our steak and this was offered to be packed overnight and ready when we check out in morning. Really romantic overnight stay. Definitely be back. High on my list of romantic relaxing get away!! Check it out

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hennessy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

My wife and I took the chop and ale house overnight accommodation deal for a special treat. We had heard wonderful comments made about the food and in particular the steaks, however our experience was not so positive. The room was OK spacious warm, the bed was two single beds bolted together and not a king size. We ate in the restaurant and from the outset felt very unwelcome. I don't know if it's me but the staff seemed overpowering, When we didn't order wine the waiter was aghast! The place is called the chop and ale (ALE!!) house, so wheres the bloody ale. when we ordered ale we thought we were going to be taken outside and shot. We should have got up and walk out at that point, but no we persevered. then came the menu mostly beef i'll grant you. But £40.00 for a steak not including any extras which were again vastly overpriced. We both ordered t-bones, both medium, you had to have medium cos the chef wouldn't cook it beyond medium. So our t-bones came then this pompous waiter then decided to explain which bit was the sirloin and which part was the fillet etc, etc. All I wanted was for him to stop patronizing us like we'd never seen a steak before. Anyway our steaks went back several times as they were blue to rare, i don't think they did anything to them except show them the pan again. We eventually got something like a medium. The steak was not the best I've eaten by a long chalk and had a strange taste and yes I've eaten plenty of hung steaks in other restaurants which were superb. At this point we'd had enough got them to put the remainder of the steaks in doggy bags for the dogs, who enjoyed them more than us.
Breakfast was OK, again the staff looked down their noses at you but everything was cooked fresh and the scrambled eggs were spot on. So that sort of redeemed it's self a little. Upon paying the grumpy old woman sat behind the desk swiped my card, scowled a presented me with the receipt. Not a "Did you enjoy your stay, or come again" Nothing. Well I will definitely not be coming again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank beefbeefbeef1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just returned from a last minute break Excellent hotel welcoming receptionist who took us to wine shop to help us choose a bottle of Chablis knew what we wanted but maybe next time will have a bit of a browse he even put into our room in ice bucket sorry didn't catch his name, all staff we met were friendly
Lovely warm room comfy bed and fantastic rain shower fluffy towels and nice toiletries
Used chop&ale house both nights of our stay not great for myself as a veggie great soup lovely fish and chips and veggie sausages my wife who is a carnivore loved the menu it is a wee bit expensive but as they say you get what you pay for. Breakfast was also first class made to order and chef can be seen in breakfast room, lovely coffee maybe next time il try the porridge.
A pity last reviewer did not have a good experience but I prefer not to be constantly asked if everything's ok staff were efficientwithout being intrusive
We are deciding when we can come back for another stay which we reckon will be quite soon

Room Tip: All rooms on ground level overlooking gardens large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I have been to the Champney Inn a couple of times, once in the main restaurant and once in the Chop & Ale House. Both are outstanding.

The service is superb as is the food. Fantastic atmosphere, I love every minute of my dining experience here. Cosy and inviting :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Had the set lunch menu today. The caesar salad was delicious & plentiful & the rib eye steak cooked to perfection - wonderful value. { Be warned the a la carte menu is expensive. } The staff are very attentive but not intrusive & lunch was a leisurely affair in comfortable elegant surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank teacherEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I booked this as a surprise weekend away to celebrate our silver wedding , we had stayed here some number of years ago and the rooms are still exactly the same. The room was nice and large as was the bathroom , there was a nice half bottle of champagne chilling when we arrived which was lovely. I had booked the stay Saturday get Sunday night free special offer which means you have to eat in their A la Carte restaurant one night and in the chop and ale house the next night , which all sounds great , until you go to the A la Carte restaurant which for me was very cluttered , dark and old fashioned , then i opened the menu and almost had a heart attack at the prices . I have been to lots of fantastic hotels and restauranst all over the world and had some expensive meals but this one took the biscuit , I'm not surprised they don't have prices on their website because i wouldn't have booked a room if i had , and yes the meal was ok but not outstanding and definitely not worth the money , we only had 2 courses a reasonable priced bottle of wine , 3 coffees and a liqueur and out bill was over £200 . And looking at people around us they have a lot of wasted food because the steaks are so huge you can't possibly eat it all . They would do better to reduce their portion size and the price The service from waitresses and wine waiter was great and attentive without becoming a pest but would i go back ? NO
We had dinner in the chop house the next night which was ok and breakfast in the morning was excellent but the special offer reels you in with a false sense of security then you get hit with your A la Carte bill. Won't go back the place is a bit too old fashioned , cluttered and stuffy

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merc2557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Stayed here for a business trip in October and it was such a gem! I saw a few pics online and thought the tartan was a little overkill, but it was actually done very tastefully. Bathroom was huge, room was huge and the complimentary drinks were very welcome. We had drinks in reception and were waited on all night. Really lovely little place that I would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeElle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linlithgow
2.3 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
243 reviews
4.9 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
5.8 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,974 reviews
9.6 mi away
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
6.5 mi away
Helix Hotel
Helix Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grangemouth
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champany Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champany Inn

Address: Linlithgow EH49 7LU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Linlithgow
Price Range: £95 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Champany Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Champany Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champany Hotel Linlithgow
Champany Inn Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing