We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but average”
Review of Champany Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Champany Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Linlithgow
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Expensive but average”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I had always loved a visit here, the steak was amazing and the service outstanding. Last night, having raved about this place to friends, I should have eaten my words rather than the steak! At best the food was average. Expensive, but average. The server was sullen and unhelpful too. Service was slow.

This place used to be fantastic but has really gone down hill, such a shame.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    42
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
16
92
3
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

From the moment you arrive a warm smile in welcome, then shown to a lovely (very Scottish looking) room, with complimentary gin and tonic (or whisky, and water) and ice ready to greet you.
Having booked a table for dinner in the Chop and Ale (glad I did very busy) was looked after well, good homely food, a huge portion and lovely glass of the South African red which is their house wine.
Folowing dinner a nice trip round the wine shop where theres an array of gems for all palates.
Bed very comfy and all the amenities you need. Look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed here for one night to celebrate my husband's birthday and we had a lovely time. The room was really nice and spacious with a big bathroom and soft fluffy towels. We had dinner in the Chop and Ale house which was great with very good service. We had a drink in the cocktail lounge when we first arrived and were served by Alfonse (a lovely Spanish gentleman) who made us feel very welcome and special. Breakfast was superb - you can watch the Chef cooking your breakfast for you, it is served piping hot and all the ingredients are really good quality. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyWanderers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
283 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Came here for the steak two months ago and was disappointed. Steak was just alright. Nothing special. Restaurant has forgotten about decent food and it was such a disappointment. Might avoid this for a while. Go to Dakota down the road. They have great steaks

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Monkey168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Highly recommended hotel and a million miles from the "hotel chain experience"! Very friendly staff. Run like a family B+B. Great food at (pricey restaurant) and also the adjoining Chop House. Breakfast is fantastic IF you still have room after your meal and wine the night before!
Free Wifi although limited bandwidth (in my personal experience).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yrretronnoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I recently stayed two nights at the Champany Inn. A relative had organised a family get together on one of the nights. I am so gald we booked to stay here, the room, food and service were all excellent, the staff were very friendly, I cannot fault the Champany at all and will stay there in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaysforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed overnight at the Champany Inn just outside Linlithgow and ate dinner at the Chop and Ale House onsite.
Receptionist was friendly and helpful, and booked a table for us in the Chop and Ale - very glad she did as the wait would have been 45 mins, or 2-2.5hrs for a table for four.
The food was alright, perhaps a little overhyped on the website, we felt the food was a bit overpriced but since it's so popular they can do it - there are plenty staff on hand to serve you, so not grumbling too much about the price - might eat in Linlithgow next time.
The rooms are large and a bit different from chain hotels. Breakfast is in a really cheery room, cooked on a giant Aga where you can see the cooks, and was really enjoyable. Freshly juiced orange.grapefruit /whatever you ask for, silver pots for tea and coffee, nice choice of ingredients cooked to order. Great value for money and we'll definitely be back to stay here. Breakfast staff and receptionist on check out were again really nice and friendly - so 5/5 for the rooms, 6/5 for the hotel staff, but only probably 3.5 out of 5 for the chop and ale house because it's a little cramped and a bit expensive, imho. ( £23 for steak, £15 for half roast chicken, £20 for bottle of wine, starters and dessert around £7 each)
Nice accommodation if you're having a family get together though, or just to explore the area for a few days though.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be the same, huge bathrooms with separate rainfall shower and telephone style...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ailuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linlithgow
2.3 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
228 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,852 reviews
5.8 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
8.0 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champany Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champany Inn

Property: Champany Inn
Address: Linlithgow EH49 7LU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Linlithgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Champany Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Champany Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champany Hotel Linlithgow
Champany Inn Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing