We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect filling between Edinburgh and Glasgow.”
Review of Champany Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Champany Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Linlithgow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect filling between Edinburgh and Glasgow.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is an ideal alternative to sometimes over-priced accomodation in Scotland's big cities and has the added attraction for drivers of no parking complications. Very clean, well furnished, comfortable rooms and an excellent breakfast, serviced by friendly and knowlegleable staff. Linlithgow is very handy for either of the big cities and a provides a break from too many people syndrome. For couples and special occasions, the restaurant here is something else. Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    43
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
19
95
4
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely stay, the staff could not have been more friendly & helpfully. Food fantastic, main one outstanding " not cheap, but food very good". Chop house more reasonably priced for every day, great food, great service, gets busy.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_JNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shillingstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This is a very comfortable hotel close to Edinburgh and the airport. Rooms are superbly furnished and the quality of fittings and cleanliness is excellent. Food is second to none and cannot be missed. I ate in the chop house, but if you enjoy steaks the menu in the hotel restaurant is superb. The wifi can be a bit iffy but this did not spoil my visit and I will return. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed here with my family for a wedding in Linlithgow. The hotel suited us perfectly on all fronts: close to Linlithgow, decent accommodation, friendly staff. The room is very well equipped: hairdryer, ironing facility, tea and coffee making facility, free bottles of still and sparkling water. Can't fault the facilities. The bathroom is very spacious, however with all that space available, the shower cabin is a bit awkward and not very well planned. Wifi was playing up. The overall deco is steadily heading towards the need of redecoration, although it didn't bother me too much. Breakfast was good, local yogurt deserves a special mention - heavenly delicious! Although, for the room price we paid I would've expected the breakfast to be included into the price. Unfortunately, we didn't have a chance to visit their acclaimed restaurant for dinner, but surely, we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivid_gb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for one night in late June. The bed was nicely firm, fluffy towels and the room was well appointed with a bay window talbel overlooking the garden. The bath was nicely sized, with a shower and separate bathtub, although both were a bit on the small side. Plenty of hot water, excellent water pressure and good shower head. Good tea and coffee appointments in the room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We ate that the Chop House, which provides reservations for guests of the Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa27516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst attending hopeton horse trials and it was excellent. Staff very kind and helpful ensuring we always had a table in the chop n ale house each night as they knew we were up early each day and out all day. Great food and wine and the room was lovely very rustic and to a high standard. The breakfast was superb and the whole ambience and cleanliness excellent. The lady who owns it is all over it! She is professional and always asked how our meal was and invited us to drink in the bar as we were staying the weekend. This place knows good food with no frills and the staff in the chop n ale great.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burghgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed for one night on the way to Edinburgh. Very nice size room with everything you need as well as a nice size en suite. Free refreshments in the room. We ate at the Chop House. The food was very good and the atmosphere was stimulating. The bartender and the wait staff were extremely friendly. I absolutely would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobsR2294HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linlithgow
2.3 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
236 reviews
5.8 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,925 reviews
7.7 mi away
Mercure Livingston
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
530 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champany Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champany Inn

Property: Champany Inn
Address: Linlithgow EH49 7LU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Linlithgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Champany Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Champany Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champany Hotel Linlithgow
Champany Inn Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing