We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Star & Garter Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Linlithgow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We went with friends for a Saturday night meal, our first time back since its reopening. We ordered a drink at the bar before going to our table and had a bit of a wait though there seemed to be plenty of staff around. It was quite busy but not heaving so not quite sure why the delay.
The restaurant has a nice ambience, nicer than the bar area which is a bit minimalistic. it was busy when we took our table though quietened down as the evening went on but more of that later.
The menu is extensive-it would be very hard to imagine that you couldn't find something you liked from it- and there are also specials written on a blackboard. We had starters of garlic mushrooms with lemon mayo, a wee plate of haggis, with mash, neeps and whisky sauce, and a prawn cocktail, all very nice. Our mains were fish pie, salmon salsa verde and fish and chips and we enjoyed them too. I loved the fish pie and would happily eat it again! We weren't going to bother with a pud as we were all quite full but the waitress, who was very friendly and generally helpful, went away after giving us our mains and forgot to return! We had about a 20 minute wait before she came back and by that time we decided we maybe could manage puds. Method in their madness perhaps?!
We'd ordered wine with our meal and after eating, we intended to sit back and finish it while enjoying a nice chat. However, this wasn't really possible because a disco started up through in the bar which was loud enough to make conversation quite difficult. The weird thing was when one of us went to the loo and had a look through, there wasn't a soul dancing, in fact, the bar had cleared considerably too. It was a bit strange-perhaps if they wanted music, piped music would be sufficient. Anyway, it was enough to make us drink up and head to Platform Three for a drink there instead.
We had gone with an open mind, having heard both good and bad reviews about The Star since its refurbishment and I would say both views are probably fair. Price-wise, it was about average for a pub meal now, the food was nice, the service was very friendly but not really efficient and the disco music was unnecessary and ended our evening early. However, I'd certainly give it another try, perhaps for lunch next time, when the disco wouldn't be in operation!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank JMH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Just back from a lunch with friends. The staff were most welcoming and efficient. Food was good. The refurbishment is very appropriate. The fire in the bar is most welcome on a cold day like today. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonnieAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Meal was not up to expected standard. Cullen Skink was like Potato and Leek with a bit of fish thrown in. Main of of battered fish and chips was awful. Batter was soggy and orange in colour, and greasy. Chips were lukewarm. Friend had steak pie with tasteless unseasoned mash. We were very disappointed as had heard such good things about quality of food we won't be back :-(

Stayed: March 2014
5  Thank Phyllisjoyce18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I was very impressed with the refurbished Star & Garter restaurant. The food and service was excellent, interesting menu with great choice and a nice ambience. Will definitely be back. The log fire in the bar is a homely touch.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tricia042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I visited the Star and Garter for a drink with friends on Sunday evening. I had not been in since it reopened and I was looking forward to it. I found that it was really lacking in atmosphere and that the decor could not make up its mind on the effect that was being sought. The staff were pleasant enough but didn't really seem too concerned that our South African guest could not get the drink he wanted.

There are other pubs in Linlithgow that have more to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheenagh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Beautiful rooms, everything you could need. Very high standard. Beautiful views, and in a central location. Food excellent, great atmosphere in bar, staff friendly and attentive. Will certainly be back here

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

After a long time closed due to a fire, the Star & Garter is finally open (December 2012) I went yesterday to have lunch and was delighted to meet the owners' Dad, Donald, who gave my daughter and I a grand tour of the hotel! The bedrooms are 4 star quality, clean and modern and very well set out. The rest of the hotel was really lovely too, and what's even more delightful is all the staff are really lovely! The home made soup was great as was the service.
If there's one thing you must do when going to Linlithgow, it's visit the Star & Garter, it's not often you get good service in great surroundings AND nice food all in the one place, not to be missed!

Room Tip: All rooms have a great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triciab137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linlithgow
0.6 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
244 reviews
1.8 mi away
Champany Inn
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
186 reviews
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Best Western Park Hotel
7.6 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,979 reviews
15.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star & Garter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star & Garter Hotel

Address: 1 High Street, Linlithgow EH49 7AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Linlithgow
Price Range: £57 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Star & Garter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star and Garter Hotel is located in Linlithgow, West Lothian, a historic Royal Burgh located in the central lowlands of Scotland. We're just 20 miles from Edinburgh and under an hour from Glasgow by train or car. Linlithgow is the birth place of Mary Queen of Scots and the Royal Palace by Linlithgow Loch is only minutes away. The town has many attractions and facilities for visitors - making Linlithgow a great base from which to explore Scotland. Excellent road and rail links offer all of our guests access to our wonderful cities and countrysides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Star & Garter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star & Garter Hotel Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing