We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”

Bridge 49 Cafe Bar & Bistro
Ranked #8 of 44 Restaurants in Linlithgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a good place for lunch/meal close to the canal walks and muiravonside park. Good value set menus on offer which we found to be as good as anything else we have had for the money. Service was a tad slow as we were in at the peak lunch time but the food didn't reflect this. It's a modern building in nice surroundings with the option to dine outside. Good parking.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    91
    42
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Place”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband & myself tried Bridge 49 for dinner. 2 Courses £10.95 is excellent value and every thing freshly cooked and well presented. Service excellent. Overall no complaints and will certainly return . Also wonderful setting overlooking the canal and if you sit long enough you will see passing boats.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A good location and average place to lunch.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had lunch at this cafe & bistro for the first time on a Saturday in June. Getting to the cafe by car was reasonably straightforward.

The location is probably the main benefit to this cafe. It is situated right beside the canal, in a secluded and quiet spot.

There are a reasonable number of free car parking spaces available. The building itself looks very modern and recently built (clean & tidy). The majority of the tables and seating are inside however there are a small number of tables with seating outside with the roof extending over them for some rain protection. It did look as though the outside tables had somewhere you could attach your dogs lead to, if visiting with your dog.

The staff were friendly and helpful. Although we were initially advised to sit at a table that turned out to be reserved. So we were moved to another table shortly after being seated. Not a huge issue. Although the interior is nice new and clean there were a few plastic high chairs just sitting Ina kind of pile against the wall which "kind of" looked a little untidy. But I'm nit picking there.

There are quite a few leather style covered seats that seem more appropriate for sitting comfortably while having a drink rather than for sitting at a table to eat. As they were covered in a smooth leather like material they were quite slippery. So if you lean back to relax you ended up sliding down the chair. Maybe it's just me but I had to keep pulling myself back up. Again, not a huge issue but not ideal.

The food was of reasonable quality and portion size, although I have had better for a similar price.

So in summary:

Good quiet location
Clean & tidy inside & out.
Outside, covered seating for the good weather.
Handy for going for a walk.
Reasonable quality food & value for a cafe.
Free car parking.
Friendly staff.

Would I go again? Yes probably, Would I recommend it? Yes, with an overview of what to expect.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnC_6877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Noisy dogs”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Quite a good location although should sign post from the canal path to maximise passing trade. Service was adequate and the menu fairly extensive.
Bar staff could pay more attention to outdoor guests

Helpful?
Thank Giuyyac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Was at Bridge 49 last weekend for dinner. Had seen this place while driving and popped in for a look and some food. The staff are nice and welcoming however the menu is not displayed so you need to go in and ask for a look. There is plenty of choice however the place was quiet for a Saturday evening however they said they had some bookings. After reading the menu we decided to stay, had Nachos for starters and the burger for main. Both were good but not the best I have had and in my opinion this is more of a cafe bar style place than a restaurant. The place is lovely and the canal side location is perfect, there is also a terrace area for outdoor seating/dining. Would go back but maybe not for dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bridge 49 Cafe Bar & Bistro also viewed

Linlithgow, West Lothian
Linlithgow, West Lothian
 
Linlithgow, West Lothian
 

Been to Bridge 49 Cafe Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing