We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worthy of the 5 stars, exceptional standards of cleanliness and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arden Country House
Ranked #4 of 11 Linlithgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Definitely worthy of the 5 stars, exceptional standards of cleanliness and comfort”
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Our stay at Arden House was without doubt extremely comfortable, a beautiful house in beautiful surroundings. Beth and her family are very welcoming and maintain high standards throughout. Breakfasts are scrumptious! Thank you, we hope to see you again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juneyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bj61, Owner at Arden Country House, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Thank you for your wonderful comments. The biggest compliment is when a guest chooses to return and as always it our pleasure to have you as our house guest - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
114
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

It is always a pleasure staying at Arden House - from the moment you are greeted with a warm smile and a pot of coffee and homemade cakes and biscuits to the sad time when you have to leave.

Beth is always so attentive, her breakfasts are amazing and the cleanliness and decor of the rooms are well worthy of her 5 star rating.

For peace, serenity and a luxurious place to stay look no further than Arden House.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toffeeman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2011

My family and I booked in to the fabulous Arden House on the night before my daughter's wedding. On arrival I met Beth an angel in human form who looked after our every need in her stylish, tranquil and luxurious guest house. She provided delicious afternoon tea when we arrived and cooked delicious unusual breakfasts the next morning. On the morning of the wedding when we suffered a variety of disasters - I melted her steam iron; my daughter's car got a flat tyre - Beth took control and helped us even driving into Bathgate twice in her own car to rescue the stranded bride and bridesmaid. And she still provided homemade scones and chocolate cake at noon!
Beth is a consummate professional who has the unique ability to make everyone feel special and for whom nothing is ever a bother. The wedding itself was wonderful and my daughter and new son-in-law decided to spend an extra night enjoying Beth's hospitaIity to help them recover from the wedding. I am so glad I chose this oasis of calm for our base while up in this area and would recommend that even if you have no real reason to visit this part of Scotland, you should come for the wonderful experience you will have in Arden House alone.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liliasn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Decided to escape from a barge with broken central heating in October and was very lucky to come across Arden House. This B and B is exceptional. Large, comfortable, tastefully decorated rooms. Home made cakes and fresh coffee were available on arrival. The breakfast was superb. I have stayed in a lot of different hotels and have never been faced with so much choice.
The landlady has been awarded by the AA and you can really see why. You get the feeling that nothing is too much trouble. I really would recommend you stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishiwasonholiday68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Stayed here on a very snowy night and Beth and her husband couldn't have been more helpful, providing transport in and out of Linlithgow as our car was stuck in snow. We had a beautiful, cosy room and superb breakfast. Definitely the best B & B we've every stayed in. Wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else when we're in that area again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosecott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2010

This was our first visit to Scotland and we drove around and stayed in several B&Bs. We stayed in Arden Country House on the last night and unfortunately had a flight next morning from Edinburgh to London. The whole experience was wonderful.....the location of the place amidst meadows and greenery all around....the welcome look of the majestic white house, and the warm welcome by Beth. The inside of the house is lovely and very cosy, the rooms were big and beautifully done up and very comfortable. The tea room and breakfast rooms are also very thoughtfully done. The moment we entered we were charmed by Beth and her warmth. We were served hot tea and hot chocolate with cream and marshmellows and home made warm pancakes and scottish shortbread. It was such a wonderful welcome and took away all the tiredness from the days travel. We made ourselves comfortable in the warm tearoom. I can confidently say this was the best stay of our entire trip and we were wishing we had stayed there for a few more days. We would definitely go back very soon and stay here longer. We stayed in all 5 star B&Bs throughout our triop but Arden Country House was the best. It deserves all the awards. The next morning we got up early just to look around the place. The breakfast was awesome. There was so much choice.....and it was served piping hot and with a lot of care by Beth. All in all our stay was short but very nice and we recommend this place to all. Its close to Edinburgh airport and very convenient. Thanks Beth for the wonderful host you have been.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We originally booked one nights stay at Arden house as a stopover on our way back to England after touring the scottish highlands. On arrival we were greeted by the owner Beth who showed us to a fantastic bedroom, which was spotlessly clean & beautifully presented. After viewing the room we were invited down to the guests lounge where we were served a selction of delicious home made cakes & tea. Beth is both friendly & informative, her knowledge of the local area is second to none & the booklets she has prepared with suggestions of places to eat, places to visit & even the telephone numbers of local , doctors, taxis, etc are a revelation.The breakfast menu is probably the most extensive ever offered to us, & no matter what you choose the food is outstanding, piping hot & plentyful. All Beths hard work in welcoming you into her home & attention to detail must surely ensure many guests return here time after time, we extended our stay by another night & will certainly be returning here in the very near future.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkinson_akela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linlithgow
1.6 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.9 mi away
Champany Inn
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
5.4 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Helix Hotel
Helix Hotel
#1 of 4 in Grangemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk East Hotel
15.9 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Country House

Property: Arden Country House
Address: Belsyde, Linlithgow EH49 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Linlithgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Arden Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple award winning 5 star B&B set in peaceful, picturesque country setting yet only minutes from the historic town of Linlithgow, birth place of Mary Queen of Scotts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Arden Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden Hotel Linlithgow
Arden Country House Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing