We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotlessly clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arden Country House
Ranked #3 of 11 Linlithgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights. Beth was friendly and helpful, while the house and room were the probably the best i have seen in regards to cleanliness and freshness. Breakfast was fantastic and filled us both up until dinner. The only downside was a few issues with a 'fresh' bathroom towel being damp when we placed it on the floor prior to the shower, no spoon left for an evening cup of tea (which is a bit difficult to go down to the kitchen in your dressing gown) and items in the room being moved when the room was cleaned, i.e. bags moved from chairs, and items placed in drawers that we could then not find.
With a few minor tweaks this would be a truely perfect place to stay and i would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bj61, Owner at Arden Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Many thanks for you kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure meeting you both. Thank you for commenting on the high standard of cleanliness however in order to maintain this level, it involves daily deep cleaning and during a 6 day stay , we require to move items from the floor and furniture to clean thoroughly . My apologies if this caused you any concern or distress. Fragile items such as phone cables are unplugged and placed in/on bedside cabinets to avoid damage when vacuuming . My apologies for the missing teaspoon on that one occasion. In accordance with our green tourism policy which is noted within our bedroom information book, the towels are replace every alternate day, unless specifically requested.

My thanks to you both for so kindly sharing your photographs on Glen Coe and for your generosity in providing the details on the course. Following your recommendation I have passed on the details to guests who are planning on travelling to Glen Coe.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Arden Country House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed here on business a few months ago and was blown away by the luxury and top notch hospitality so was determined to visit again with my husband.
This trip certainly did not disappoint. We arrived to home cooked baking and tea and Beth was so friendly and helpful. The room was stunning...no expense spared in decorating, and little details like fresh flowers by the bed make all the difference.

The weather was stunning so we headed to the nearby lake with a takeaway from dhillons, which was also fantastic by the way.

5/5 rating from us.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We have just returned from an overnight stay on Saturday. Arden House is in a beautiful quiet location yet handy and the rooms are first class with all the finishing touches you would expect in a 5* hotel. Home baking and tea when we arrived was a nice treat and the breakfast was exceptional, loads of choice, well cooked and presented with specials that you have to try.

Beth is a helpful and informative host and we hope to stay again when we are in the area

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB_Coal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed here for just one night and despite my on-line booking not having made it's way to the owner, she coped very well with 2 unexpected guests at 6pm in the evening.

Rooms very luxurious and comfortable, crisps and chocolate and added bonus. Would have liked a shower head which you can take off and maybe a handrail to help less able bodied visitors get in and out the shower as the shower screen cannot be moved.

We stayed on room only basis which for one night was fine but felt the price of breakfasts (£5 pp continental and £8pp full Scottish) were a bit steep.

However, would certainly recommend for a short break.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bj61, Owner at Arden Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Many thanks for your kind review. Our website is currently being upgraded and I will ensure that there are more pictures of the bathrooms to ensure that all guests are fully aware of the Victorian Style shower heads, which are present in all en-suites. The shower screens are all movable however, I do appreciate your suggestion of the possibility of fitting a grab rail.

When booking directly breakfast is inclusive on a B&B basis and complimentary afternoon tea, with home baking on the day of arrival, is also on offer. Bookings made through a booking agent, such as Late rooms, are sold on a room only basis as noted on the agent's website and guests then have the option to purchase a continental or cooked breakfast should they wish breakfast. Thank you for highlighting that you were unaware of what was on offer for breakfast.

Our extensive breakfast menu has received several awards, with many guests returning on a regular basis to experience our homemade fruit compotes, fresh fruit platters, home made pancakes and waffles and the generous locally sourced high quality cooked breakfasts.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Arden Country House and for taking the time to comment on your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Beautiful location - house up a sweeping driveway. Warm welcome- beautiful room - underfloor heating which was great in the slate look floor in the bathroom. SUPER toiletries - thick towels - great shower - fabulous breakfast with nice strong coffee...
All in all a great experience!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myislandhideaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

After spending a night in Glasgow city centre followed by a full day's shopping with the wife in Glasgow, Arden House was the polar opposite....tranquility, peace, and relaxation.
We had already eaten early evening, which was unfortunate as we were offered home baking and tea on arrival. Our host led us to our spacious ground floor room which was in immaculate condition and offered everything you could possibly wish for, including free wi-fi for those needing to keep in touch with the outside world! There was a very cosy warm lounge you could take advantage of and the decor and quality of the place was testament to its 5 star rating.
Breakfast in the morning was of an exceptional standard with nothing too troubling to cook for the host. My only complaint was that I ate too much! Thoroughly recommend this B&B for anyone looking for some R&R.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trippingtaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

What a wonderful way to start the year 2012. Beth greeted us warmly upon arrival making us feel welcome, Tea & homebaking on arrival. Our room was glorious with all amenities you could want with ots of finishing touches. The breakfast was fantastic, generous portions, a great selection, and prepared to perfection. Nothing was to much trouble for Beth she is a fantastic hostess and we will see you again soon.

Room Tip: You will not go anywhere else once you have sampleted this house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheena h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Linlithgow hotels
3.9 mi away
Champany Inn
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
192 reviews
1.9 mi away
Court Residence
Court Residence
#1 of 11 in Linlithgow
358 reviews
1.6 mi away
Westport Hotel
Westport Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Star & Garter Hotel
Star & Garter Hotel
#7 of 11 in Linlithgow
108 reviews
0 mi away
B & B  Lumsdaine House
B & B Lumsdaine House
#5 of 11 in Linlithgow
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Country House

Address: Belsyde, Linlithgow EH49 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Linlithgow
Price Range: £85 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Arden Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple award winning 5 star B&B set in peaceful, picturesque country setting yet only minutes from the historic town of Linlithgow, birth place of Mary Queen of Scotts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Arden Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden Hotel Linlithgow
Arden Country House Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing